Kristin Perry, et al v. Arnold Schwarzenegger, et al

Filing 3

Filed (ECF) Appellants Martin F. Gutierrez, Dennis Hollingsworth, Mark A. Jansson, Gail J. Knight and ProtectMarriage.com - Yes on 8, A Project of California Renewal Motion to file oversized brief (Oversized emergency motion). Date of service: 08/12/2010. [7438686]--[Edited 08/13/2010 by BY] (CJC)

Download PDF
NO. 10-16696 UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT KRISTIN PERRY, et al., Plaintiffs-Appellees, v. ARNOLD SCHWARZENEGGER, et al. Defendants. Appeal from United States District Court for the Northern District of California Civil Case No. 09-CV-2292 VRW (Honorable Vaughn R. Walker) DEFENDANT-INTERVENORS-APPELLANTS DENNIS HOLLINGWORTH, GAIL J. KNIGHT, MARTIN F. GUTIERREZ, MARK A. JANSSON, AND PROTECTMARRIAGE.COM'S MOTION TO EXCEED PAGE LIMITATIONS Andrew P. Pugno LAW OFFICES OF ANDREW P. PUGNO 101 Parkshore Drive, Suite 100 Folsom, California 95630 (916) 608-3065; (916) 608-3066 Fax Brian W. Raum James A. Campbell ALLIANCE DEFENSE FUND 15100 North 90th Street Scottsdale, Arizona 85260 (480) 444-0020; (480) 444-0028 Fax Charles J. Cooper David H. Thompson Howard C. Nielson, Jr. Peter A. Patterson COOPER AND KIRK, PLLC 1523 New Hampshire Ave., N.W. Washington, D.C. 20036 (202) 220-9600; (202) 220-9601 Fax Attorneys for Defendant-Intervenors-Appellants Pursuant to Ninth Circuit Rule 32-2, Appellants respectfully seek the Court's leave to file an Emergency Motion for Stay Pending Appeal in excess of the twenty pages allotted by rule for motions. See Fed. R. App. P. 27(d)(2). Specifically, Appellants respectfully request the Court's leave to file a motion of no more than 75 pages in length. This request is amply justified by the district court's 136-page ruling supporting the judgment Appellants seek to stay. See Doc. No. 708. That judgment enjoins enforcement of Proposition 8, a voter-initiated amendment to the California Constitution providing that "[o]nly marriage between a man and a woman is valid or recognized in California." Appellants submit that this case raises numerous momentous issues, both legal and factual, of overriding importance not only to the parties, but to the People of California and to the Nation at large. Appellants respectfully submit that a 75-page motion is warranted to address these matters fairly and efficiently. We therefore request leave to file a motion of no more than 75 pages in length. Dated: August 12, 2010 Respectfully submitted, s/ Charles J. Cooper Charles J. Cooper Attorney for Appellants - 1 - CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE I hereby certify that on the 12th day of August 2010, I caused to be served on the following counsel a true and correct copy of the foregoing via electronic mail: Kenneth C. Mennemeier Andrew W. Stroud MENNEMEIER, GLASSMAN & STROUD LLP 980 9th Street, Suite 1700 Sacramento, CA 95814-2736 T: (916) 553-4000 F: (916) 553-4011 kcm@mgslaw.com gosling@mgslaw.com aknight@mgslaw.com stroud@mgslaw.com lbailey@mgslaw.com Attorneys for the Administration Defendants Dennis J. Herrera Therese M. Stewart OFFICE OF THE CITY ATTORNEY City Hall, Room 234 One Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, California 94102-4682 T: (415) 554-4708 F: (415) 554-4699 therese.stewart@sfgov.org erin.bernstein@sfgov.org vince.chhabria@sfgov.org danny.chou@sfgov.org ronald.flynn@sfgov.org mollie.lee@sfgov.org Christine.van.aken@sfgov.org catheryn.daly@sfgov.org Attorneys for Plaintiff-Intervenor City and County of San Francisco Elizabeth M. Cortez Judy W. Whitehurst THE OFFICE OF CITY COUNSEL 648 Kenneth Hahn Hall of Administration 500 West Temple Street Los Angeles, CA 90012-2713 T: (213) 974-1845 F: (213) 617-7182 jwhitehurst@counsel.lacounty.gov Attorneys for Defendant Dean C. Logan Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk, County of Los Angeles Gordon Burns Tamar Pachter OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL 1300 I Street, Suite 125 P.O Box. 944255 Sacramento, CA 94244-2550 T: (415) 703-5970 F: (415) 703-1234 Gordon.Burns@doj.ca.gov Tamar.Pachter@doj.ca.gov Attorneys for Defendant Attorney General Edmund G. Brown, Jr. Richard E Winnie Brian E. Washington Claude F. Kolm Manuel F. Martinez THE OFFICE OF CITY COUNSEL 1221 Oak Street, Suite 450 Oakland, California 94612 T: (510) 272-6700 F: (510) 272-5020 Brian.washington@acgov.org Claude.kolm@acgov.org Judith.martinez@acgov.org manuel.martinez@acgov.org Attorneys for Defendant Patrick O'Connell Clerk Recorder of the County of Alameda Terry L. Thompson LAW OFFICE OF TERRY L. THOMPSON P.O. Box 1346 Alamo, CA 94507 T: (925) 855-1507 F: (925) 820-6035 tl_thompson@earthlink.net Attorney for Defendant-Intervenor HakShing William Tam Ted Olson Matthew McGill Amir Tayrani GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCHER LLP 1050 Connecticut Avenue, N.W. Washington, DC 20036-5306 T: (202) 955-8500 F: (202) 467-0539 TOlson@gibsondunn.com MMcGill@gibsondunn.com ATayrani@gibsondunn.com Theodore Boustrous, Jr. Christopher Dusseault Theane Kapur GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCHER LLP 333 South Grand Avenue Los Angeles, CA 90072-1512 T: (213) 229-7000 F: (213) 229-7520 TBoutrous@gibsondunn.com CDusseault@gibsondunn.com TKapur@gibsondunn.com SMalzahn@gibsondunn.com Ethan Dettmer Enrique Monagas GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCHER LLP 555 Mission Street, Suite 3000 San Francisco, CA 94105 T: (415) 393-8200 F: (415) 393-8306 EDettmer@gibsondunn.com SPiepmeier@gibsondunn.com EMonagas@gibsondunn.com RJustice@gibsondunn.com MJanky@gibsondunn.com -2- David Boies BOIES, SCHILLER & FLEXNER LLP 333 Main St. Armonk, NY 10504 T: (914) 749-8200 F: (914) 749-8300 dboies@bsfllp.com Theodore Uno BOIES, SCHILLER & FLEXNER LLP 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 900 Oakland, CA 94612 T: (510) 874-1000 F: (510) 874-1460 jgoldman@bsfllp.com tuno@bsfllp.com brichardson@bsfllp.com rbettan@bsfllp.com jischiller@bsfllp.com Attorneys for Plaintiffs Kristin M. Perry et al. s/Peter A. Patterson Peter A. Patterson -3-