Luxpro Corporation v. Apple, Inc.

Filing 25

MOTION to Transfer Case by Apple, Inc.. (Crass, Kevin)

Luxpro Corporation v. Apple, Inc. Doc. 25 IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT WESTERN DISTRICT OF ARKANSAS TEXARKANA DIVISION LUXPRO CORPORATION VS. NO. 4-08-CV-4092 HFB PLAINTIFF APPLE INC. f/k/a Apple Computer, Inc. DEFENDANT DEFENDANT APPLE INC'S MOTION TO TRANSFER COMES now the Defendant, Apple Inc. f/k/a Apple Computer, Inc. (hereinafter "Apple"), and for its Motion to Transfer this matter to the Northern District of California, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 1404(a), states: 1. Apple respectfully requests this Court to transfer this matter to the United States District Court for the Northern District of California pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 1404(a). Apple's Motion is Transfer is based upon the following: (a) The Northern District of California is the only forum in the United States that has any connection to this dispute, Apple is located there and it is the location of relevant witnesses and documents. (b) The Northern District of California is the most convenient forum for non-parties, it is the only District that would have the power to subpoena potential non-party witnesses to appear at trial. (c) The Northern District of California would be substantially more convenient for the Plaintiff to litigate since Plaintiff is located in Taiwan. (d) to the parties. Plaintiff's choice of the Western District of Arkansas is also highly inconvenient Dockets.Justia.com 2. The interests of justice favor transfer of this matter to the Northern District of California because, most importantly, California law governs this dispute, including one that is brought expressly pursuant to a California statute. 3. Apple is filing herewith a Brief in Support of the Motion to Transfer. WHEREFORE, for the convenience of the parties and the witnesses, and in the interest of justice, Apple Inc. respectfully requests that this matter be transferred to the United States District Court for the Northern District of California, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 1404(a). Respectfully submitted, JAMES M. PRATT, JR. Attorney at Law Post Office Box 938 Camden, Arkansas 71701-0938 Telephone: 870-836-7328 jamiepratt@cablelynx.com KEVIN A. CRASS (84029) FRIDAY, ELDREDGE & CLARK, LLP 400 West Capitol Avenue, Suite 2000 Little Rock, Arkansas 72201-3522 Telephone: (501) 376-2011 Crass@fec.net CO-COUNSEL: PENELOPE A. PREOVOLOS STUART C. PLUNKETT MORRISON & FOERSTER LLP 425 Market Street San Francisco, California 94105-2482 Telephone: 415-268-7000 ppreovolos@mofo.com splunkett@mofo.com Attorneys for Defendant, Apple Inc. f/k/a Apple Computer, Inc. BY: /s/ Kevin A. Crass KEVIN A. CRASS C:\NrPortbl\FEC\TMANESS\694072_1.DOC 2 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE I, Kevin A. Crass, hereby certify that on December 19, 2008, the foregoing was electronically filed with the Clerk which shall send notification of such filing to the following: Richard A. Adams radams@pattonroberts.com,shicks@pattonroberts.com,mcosta@pattonroberts.com Phillip N. Cockrell pcockrell@pattonroberts.com,kharris@pattonroberts.com Patrick J. Conroy pconroy@shorechan.com,ldalton@shorechan.com Jeremy Young Hutchinson jhutchinson@pattonroberts.com,kbraswell@pattonroberts.com Glenn E. Janik gjanik@shorechan.com,ldalton@shorechan.com Corey Darnell McGaha cmcgaha@pattonroberts.com,shicks@pattonroberts.com,mcosta@pattonroberts.com,ssre balus@pattonroberts.com Nicholas H. Patton nickpatton@texarkanalaw.com,mlong@texarkanalaw.com Leisa B. Pearlman lpearlman@pattonroberts.com,shicks@pattonroberts.com,pdesantis@pattonroberts.com,k garrett@pattonroberts.com Patricia L. Peden ppeden@pedenlawfirm.com Stuart Christopher Plunkett rpelletier@mofo.com,splunkett@mofo.com James M. Pratt , Jr jamiepratt@cablelynx.com Penelope A. Preovolos PPreovolos@mofo.com,kfranklin@mofo.com Sean F. Rommel srommel@pattonroberts.com,shicks@pattonroberts.com,mcosta@pattonroberts.com,kgar rett@pattonroberts.com /s/ Kevin A. Crass KEVIN A. CRASS (84029) FRIDAY, ELDREDGE & CLARK, LLP 400 West Capitol Avenue, Suite 2000 Little Rock, Arkansas 72201-3522 Telephone: (501) 376-2011 Crass@fec.net Attorneys for Defendant, Apple Inc. f/k/a Apple Computer, Inc. C:\NrPortbl\FEC\TMANESS\694072_1.DOC 3 C:\NrPortbl\FEC\TMANESS\694072_1.DOC 4