Luxpro Corporation v. Apple, Inc.

Filing 39

SUPPLEMENT by Defendant Apple, Inc. to 25 MOTION to Transfer Case. (Attachments: # 1 Exhibit 1, # 2 Exhibit 2)(Crass, Kevin)

Luxpro Corporation v. Apple, Inc. Doc. 39 Case 4:08-cv-04092-HFB Document 39 Filed 04/06/09 Page 1 of 3 IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT WESTERN DISTRICT OF ARKANSAS TEXARKANA DIVISION LUXPRO CORPORATION, a Taiwanese ) corporation, ) ) Plaintiff, ) ) v. ) ) APPLE, INC. f/k/a Apple Computer, ) Inc., ) ) ) Defendant. ) Civil Action No. 4:08-CV-04092-HFB SUPPLEMENTAL REQUEST FOR JUDICIAL NOTICE IN SUPPORT OF APPLE INC.'S MOTION FOR TRANSFER Pursuant to Rule 201 of the Federal Rules of Evidence, Apple Inc. hereby requests that the Court take judicial notice of (1) the complaint in Apple, Inc. v. Atico International USA, Inc, et al., Case No. 08-cv-00283-GMS, United States District Court for the District of Delaware, and (2) the complaint in Texas MP3 Technologies, Ltd. v. Samsung Electronics Co., et al., Case No. 2-07CV-052, United States District Court for the Eastern District of Texas, which are cited in Apple's Reply in support of its Motion to Transfer. The lawsuits in which these complaints were filed are referenced by Luxpro in its Opposition to Apple's Motion to Transfer. True and correct copies of the complaints are attached as Exhibits 1 and 2. Federal Rule of Evidence 201 allows a court to take judicial notice of adjudicative facts "not subject to reasonable dispute in that [they are] . . . capable of accurate and ready determination by resort to sources whose accuracy cannot reasonably be questioned." The contents of court files in other lawsuits are matters of which a court may take judicial notice. Fed. R. Evid. 201(d); Taino Lines, Inc. v. M/V Constance Pan Atlantic, 982 F.2d 20, 22 n.8 (1st Cir. 1992) (taking judicial notice of bankruptcy court proceedings); United States ex rel. Kinney 745733.1 Dockets.Justia.com Case 4:08-cv-04092-HFB Document 39 Filed 04/06/09 Page 2 of 3 v. Stoltz, Civil No. 01-1287 (RHK/JMM), 2002 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 6178 at *12 (D. Minn. Apr. 5, 2002) (stating that the court could "clearly" take notice of the court file in a separate lawsuit). Thus, this Court may take judicial notice of the complaints. Respectfully submitted, /s/Kevin A. Crass Arkansas Bar No.: 84029 KEVIN A. CRASS FRIDAY, ELDREDGE & CLARK, LLP 400 West Capitol Avenue Suite 2000 Little Rock, Arkansas 72201-3522 Telephone: (501) 376-2011 Email: crass@fec.net and JAMES M. PRATT, JR. Arkansas Bar No.: 74124 144 Washington Street, Northwest P.O. Box 938 Camden, Arkansas 71701-0938 Telephone: (870) 836-7328 Email: jamiepratt@cablelynx.com and CoCounsel PENELOPE A. PREOVOLOS California Bar No.: 87607 STUART C. PLUNKETT California Bar No.:187971 MORRISON & FOERSTER LLP 425 Market Street San Francisco, California 94105-2482 Telephone: (415) 268-7000 Facsimile: (415) 268-7522 E-mail: PPreovolos@mofo.com E-mail: SPlunkett@mofo.com Attorneys for Defendant Apple Inc. 745733.1 Case 4:08-cv-04092-HFB Document 39 Filed 04/06/09 Page 3 of 3 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE I, Kevin A. Crass, hereby certify that on April 6, 2009, the foregoing was electronically filed with the Clerk which shall send notification of such filing to the following: Richard A. Adams radams@pattonroberts.com,shicks@pattonroberts.com,mcosta@pattonroberts.com Phillip N. Cockrell pcockrell@pattonroberts.com,kharris@pattonroberts.com Patrick J. Conroy pconroy@shorechan.com,ldalton@shorechan.com Jeremy Young Hutchinson jhutchinson@pattonroberts.com,kbraswell@pattonroberts.com Glenn E. Janik gjanik@shorechan.com,ldalton@shorechan.com Corey Darnell McGaha cmcgaha@pattonroberts.com,shicks@pattonroberts.com,mcosta@pattonroberts.com,ssre balus@pattonroberts.com Reid Davis Miller rmiller@pattonroberts.com,shicks@pattonroberts.com Nicholas H. Patton nickpatton@texarkanalaw.com,mlong@texarkanalaw.com Leisa B. Pearlman lpearlman@pattonroberts.com,shicks@pattonroberts.com,pdesantis@pattonroberts.com,k garrett@pattonroberts.com Patricia L. Peden ppeden@pedenlawfirm.com Stuart Christopher Plunkett rpelletier@mofo.com,splunkett@mofo.com James M. Pratt , Jr jamiepratt@cablelynx.com Penelope A. Preovolos PPreovolos@mofo.com,kfranklin@mofo.com Sean F. Rommel srommel@pattonroberts.com,shicks@pattonroberts.com,mcosta@pattonroberts.com,kgar rett@pattonroberts.com /s/ Kevin A. Crass KEVIN A. CRASS (84029) FRIDAY, ELDREDGE & CLARK, LLP 400 West Capitol Avenue, Suite 2000 Little Rock, Arkansas 72201-3522 Telephone: (501) 376-2011 Crass@fec.net Attorneys for Defendant, Apple Inc. f/k/a Apple Computer, Inc. 745733.1