Perry et al v. Schwarzenegger et al

Filing 560

Proposed Order for Leave to File Amicus Curiae Brief ofUnitarian Universalist Legislative Ministry California; Unitarian Universalist Legislative Ministry Action Network, CA; Unitarian Universalist Association: California Faith for Equality; California Council of Churches; California Council of Churches Church IMPACT; Northern California Nevada Conference of the United Church of Christ; Southern California Nevada Conference of the United Church of Christ; General Synod of the United Church of Christ; Universal Fellowship of Metropolitan Community Churches; Pacific Association of Reform Rabbis; and Progressive Jewish Alliance by Unitarian Universalist Legislative Ministry California, et al.. (Isaacson, Eric) (Filed on 2/3/2010)

Perry et al v. Schwarzenegger et al Doc. 560 Case3:09-cv-02292-VRW Document560 Filed02/03/10 Page1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA ) ) Plaintiffs, ) ) and ) ) CITY AND COUNTY OF SAN FRANCISCO, ) ) ) Plaintiff-Intervenor, ) ) vs. ) ) ARNOLD SCHWARZENEGGER, et al., ) ) Defendants, ) ) and ) PROPOSITION 8 OFFICIAL PROPONENTS ) DENNIS HOLLINGSWORTH, et al. ) ) Defendant-Intervenors. ) ) No. 09-cv-02292-VRW [PROPOSED] ORDER FOR LEAVE TO FILE AMICUS CURIAE BRIEF OF UNITARIAN UNIVERSALIST LEGISLATIVE MINISTRY CALIFORNIA; UNITARIAN UNIVERSALIST LEGISLATIVE MINISTRY ACTION NETWORK, CA; UNITARIAN UNIVERSALIST ASSOCIATION; CALIFORNIA FAITH FOR EQUALITY; CALIFORNIA COUNCIL OF CHURCHES; CALIFORNIA COUNCIL OF CHURCHES CHURCH IMPACT; NORTHERN CALIFORNIA NEVADA CONFERENCE OF THE UNITED CHURCH OF CHRIST; SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA NEVADA CONFERENCE OF THE UNITED CHURCH OF CHRIST; GENERAL SYNOD OF THE UNITED CHURCH OF CHRIST; UNIVERSAL FELLOWSHIP OF METROPOLITAN COMMUNITY CHURCHES; PACIFIC ASSOCIATION OF REFORM RABBIS; AND PROGRESSIVE JEWISH ALLIANCE, IN SUPPORT OF PLAINTIFFS DATE: TIME: JUDGE: LOCATION: To be determined To be determined Chief Judge Walker Courtroom 6, 17th Floor 13 KRISTIN M. PERRY, et al., 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 Dockets.Justia.com Case3:09-cv-02292-VRW Document560 Filed02/03/10 Page2 of 8 1 WHEREAS, on February 3, 2010, Unitarian Universalist Legislative Ministry California, 2 Unitarian Universalist Legislative Ministry Action Network, CA, Unitarian Universalist Association, 3 California Faith for Equality, California Council of Churches, California Council of Churches 4 Church IMPACT, Northern California Nevada Conference of the United Church of Christ, Southern 5 California Nevada Conference of the United Church of Christ, General Synod of the United Church 6 of Christ, Universal Fellowship of Metropolitan Community Churches, Pacific Association of 7 Reform Rabbis, and Progressive Jewish Alliance filed a motion seeking leave to file an amicus 8 curiae brief in support of Plaintiffs in the above-captioned matter; 9 NOW, THEREFORE, good cause appearing, the Motion for Leave to File an Amicus Curiae 10 Brief of the Unitarian Universalist Legislative Ministry California, et al. is GRANTED. 11 IT IS SO ORDERED. ____________________________________ THE HONORABLE VAUGHN R. WALKER UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE 12 DATED: _________________________ 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 Submitted by: ERIC ALAN ISAACSON erici@csgrr.com STACEY M. KAPLAN staceyk@csgrr.com 655 West Broadway, Suite 1900 San Diego, CA 92101 Telephone: 619/231-1058 619/231-7423 (fax) s/ ERIC ALAN ISAACSON ERIC ALAN ISAACSON Attorneys for Amici Curiae Unitarian Universalist Legislative Ministry California; Unitarian Universalist Legislative Ministry Action Network, CA; Unitarian Universalist Association; California Faith for Equality; California Council of Churches; California Council of Churches Church IMPACT; Northern California Nevada Conference of the United Church of Christ; Southern California Nevada Conference of the United Church of Christ; General Synod of the United Church of Christ; Universal Fellowship of Metropolitan Community Churches; Pacific Association of Reform Rabbis; and Progressive Jewish Alliance [PROPOSED] ORDER FOR LEAVE TO FILE AMICUS CURIAE BRIEF - 09-cv-02292-VRW -1- Case3:09-cv-02292-VRW Document560 Filed02/03/10 Page3 of 8 1 2 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE I hereby certify that on February 3, 2010, I electronically filed the foregoing with the Clerk 3 of the Court using the CM/ECF system which will send notification of such filing to the e-mail 4 addresses denoted on the attached Electronic Mail Notice List, and I hereby certify that I have 5 mailed the foregoing document or paper via the United States Postal Service to the non-CM/ECF 6 participants indicated on the attached Manual Notice List. 7 I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the United States of America that the 8 foregoing is true and correct. Executed on February 3, 2010. 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 s/ ERIC ALAN ISAACSON ERIC ALAN ISAACSON 655 West Broadway, Suite 1900 San Diego, CA 92101-3301 Telephone: 619/231-1058 619/231-7423 (fax) E-mail: erici@csgrr.com CAND-ECF- Page 1 of 5 Case3:09-cv-02292-VRW Document560 Filed02/03/10 Page4 of 8 Mailing Information for a Case 3:09-cv-02292-VRW Electronic Mail Notice List The following are those who are currently on the list to receive e-mail notices for this case. College of Pediatricians kevinsnider@pacificjustice.org American C. Baxter rbaxter@bsfllp.com Rosanne Brianna Bernstein Erin.Bernstein@sfgov.org,Martina.Hassett@sfgov.org Erin J. Bettan rbettan@bsfllp.com Richard of Supervisors of Imperial County rtyler@faith-freedom.com Board V. Bomse sbomse@orrick.com,mmacdonald@orrick.com,dcroyle@orrick.com,clubiszewski@orrick.com Stephen Bopp , Jr jboppjr@bopplaw.com James Lynn Borelli tborelli@lambdalegal.org Tara J. Boutrous , Jr tboutrous@gibsondunn.com,bcruz@gibsondunn.com Theodore J. Brosnahan jbrosnahan@mofo.com,bkeaton@mofo.com James E. Bunim DBunim@haasnaja.com David R. Burke thomasburke@dwt.com,natashamajorko@dwt.com Thomas Bruce Burns Gordon.Burns@doj.ca.gov,Stephanie.Grimes@doj.ca.gov Gordon A Campbell jcampbell@telladf.org,dschowengerdt@telladf.org James L Carmichael holly.l.carmichael@gmail.com Holly D Chandler tchandler@telladf.org,mmagnaghi@telladf.org Timothy Ricardo Chavez-Ochoa chavezochoa@yahoo.com Brian Yeh Chou danny.chou@sfgov.org,martina.hassett@sfgov.org Danny Albert Coles mcoles@aclu.org Matthew Russell Conrad Mark.Conrad@mto.com,Lori.Nichols@mto.com Mark https://ecf.cand.uscourts.gov/cgi-bin/MailList.pl?74968536612124-L_358_0-1 2/2/2010 CAND-ECF- Page 2 of 5 Case3:09-cv-02292-VRW Document560 Filed02/03/10 Page5 of 8 Charles J. Cooper ccooper@cooperkirk.com,nmoss@cooperkirk.com,mweitzner@cooperkirk.com of Imperial of the State of California rtyler@faith-freedom.com County Warren Davidson jdavidson@lambdalegal.org Jon D. Dettmer edettmer@gibsondunn.com,psaunders@gibsondunn.com,mjanky@gibsondunn.com Ethan Dean Dusseault cdusseault@gibsondunn.com Christopher Dixon Esseks jesseks@aclu.org James Ethics and Religious Liberty Commission of the Southern Baptist Convention DLlewellyn@LS4law.com P. Flynn ronald.flynn@sfgov.org,catheryn.daly@sfgov.org Ronald L Garlow chavezochoa@yahoo.com James O. Gill egill@aclunc.org,cwilliams@aclunc.org Elizabeth Michael Goldman jgoldman@bsfllp.com,jchavez@bsfllp.com,kmcauliffe@bsfllp.com Jeremy John Gorman pgorman@wctlaw.com,cortiz@wctlaw.com Patrick Grant grant@hicks-thomas.com,rcoleson@bopplaw.com,kphillips@bopplaw.com,jboppjr@aol.com Eric for Marriage and Public Policy amy@jhmlaw.com Institute Franklin Kolm claude.kolm@acgov.org,Brian.Washington@acgov.org,jamartinez@acgov.org,manuel.martinez@acgov.org Claude A Kramer lkramer@fenwick.com,tpalmerino@fenwick.com Leslie S LiMandri climandri@limandri.com Charles Salvatore LiMandri cslimandri@limandri.com,kdenworth@limandri.com Charles L. Llewellyn , Jr DLlewellyn@LS4law.com David W. Lorence jlorence@telladf.org,arossiter@telladf.org Jordan Francisco Martinez manuel.martinez@acgov.org Manuel Elizabeth McAlister court@lc.org Mary Michael James McDermott https://ecf.cand.uscourts.gov/cgi-bin/MailList.pl?74968536612124-L_358_0-1 2/2/2010 CAND-ECF- Page 3 of 5 Case3:09-cv-02292-VRW Document560 mjm1usa@aol.com Dempsey McGill mmcgill@gibsondunn.com Matthew Filed02/03/10 Page6 of 8 McPherson chavezochoa@yahoo.com Miles C. Mennemeier kcm@mgslaw.com,slau@mgslaw.com,mhaagensen@mgslaw.com,gosling@mgslaw.com,aknight@mgslaw.com Kenneth Minter sminter@nclrights.org Shannon Antonio Monagas emonagas@gibsondunn.com,tmotichka@gibsondunn.com,tkapur@gibsondunn.com Enrique Lynn Monk jmonk@faith-freedom.com Jennifer Hector Moreno , Jr jhmoreno@jhmlaw.com Jose Center for Lesbian Rights sminter@nclrights.org National C. Nielson , Jr hnielson@cooperkirk.com Howard R. Nimocks animocks@telladf.org Austin B Olson tolson@gibsondunn.com Theodore Pachter Tamar.Pachter@doj.ca.gov Tamar Michael Panuccio jpanuccio@cooperkirk.com Jesse A. Patterson ppatterson@cooperkirk.com Peter Elizabeth Piepmeier spiepmeier@gibsondunn.com,bhonniball@gibsondunn.com,bsperry@gibsondunn.com Sarah Carol Pizer jpizer@lambdalegal.org Jennifer Perry Pugno andrew@pugnolaw.com Andrew W Raum braum@telladf.org,joshua@telladf.org,jhallock@telladf.org Brian Cary Roth Jerome.Roth@mto.com,susan.ahmadi@mto.com Jerome Schiller jischiller@bsfllp.com Josh Lawrence Schlosser aschlosser@aclunc.org Alan James Schweickert cjs@wcjuris.com Christopher https://ecf.cand.uscourts.gov/cgi-bin/MailList.pl?74968536612124-L_358_0-1 2/2/2010 CAND-ECF- Page 4 of 5 Case3:09-cv-02292-VRW Document560 Kevin Trent Snider kevinsnider@pacificjustice.org Filed02/03/10 Page7 of 8 Francis Stoll cstoll@nclrights.org Christopher Walter Stroud stroud@mgslaw.com,jestabrook@mgslaw.com Andrew Cameron Tayrani ATayrani@gibsondunn.com Amir Becket Fund for Religious Liberty bkemmy@becketfund.org The Christine Thompson angelathompsonesq@gmail.com Angela H. Thompson dthompson@cooperkirk.com,mbarr@cooperkirk.com David Lee Thompson tl_thompson@earthlink.net Terry Margaret Turner iturner@nclrights.org,jdelgado@nclrights.org Ilona Henry Tyler rtyler@faith-freedom.com,jmonk@faith-freedom.com,jlloyd@faith-freedom.com Robert Hideyuki Uno tuno@bsfllp.com,tplummer@bsfllp.com,jchavez@bsfllp.com,jgoldman@bsfllp.com,kmcauliffe@bsfllp.com Theodore Van Aken christine.van.aken@sfgov.org,martina.hassett@sfgov.org,mollie.lee@sfgov.org,therese.stewart@sfgov.org,catheryn.daly@sfgov.org Christine Vargas rtyler@faith-freedom.com Isabel Whitehurst JWhitehurst@counsel.lacounty.gov,lgarcia2@counsel.lacounty.gov Judy Manual Notice List The following is the list of attorneys who are not on the list to receive e-mail notices for this case (who therefore require manual noticing). You may wish to use your mouse to select and copy this list into your word processing program in order to create notices or labels for these recipients. David Boies Boies Schiller & Flexner LLP 333 Main Street Armonk, NY 10504 Thomas Brejcha Thomas More Society 29 S. La Salle Suite 440 Chicago, IL 60603 Richard E. Coleson 1 South 6th Street Terre Haute, IN 47807-3510 Christopher M. Gacek Family Research Council 801 G Street NW Washington, DC 20001 Kevin James Hasson 1350 Connecticut Avenue, NW https://ecf.cand.uscourts.gov/cgi-bin/MailList.pl?74968536612124-L_358_0-1 2/2/2010 CAND-ECF- Page 5 of 5 Case3:09-cv-02292-VRW Document560 Suite 605 Washington, DC 20036-1735 Theane Evangelis Kapur Gibson Dunn & Crutcher LLP 333 South Grand Avenue Los Angeles, CA 90071 Michael W. Kirk Cooper & Kirk, PLLC 1523 New Hampshire Avenue, NW Washington, DC 2003 Rena M Lindevaldsen Liberty Counsel 100 Mountainview Rd, Ste 2775 Lynchberg, VA 24502 Paul Benjamin Linton 921 Keystone Avenue Northbrook, IL 60062 Vincent P. McCarthy W. Chestnut Hill Road Lichfield, CT 06759 Michael James McDermott 7172 Regional #329 Dublin , CA 94568 National Legal Foundation P.O. Box 64427 Virginia Beach, VA 23467-4427 Kaylan L. Phillips 1 South 6th Street Terre Haute, IN 47807-3510 Tobias Barrington Wolff University of Pennsylvania Law School 3400 Chestnut Street Philadelphia, PA 19104-6204 Filed02/03/10 Page8 of 8 https://ecf.cand.uscourts.gov/cgi-bin/MailList.pl?74968536612124-L_358_0-1 2/2/2010