Perry et al v. Schwarzenegger et al

Filing 725

ORDER by Judge Vaughn R Walker granting doc 448 Motion to Seal. (cgk, COURT STAFF) (Filed on 8/12/2010)

Download PDF
Case3:09-cv-02292-VRW Document725 Filed08/12/10 Page1 of 3 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 COOPER AND KIRK, PLLC Charles J. Cooper (DC Bar No. 248070)* ccooper@cooperkirk.com David H. Thompson (DC Bar No. 450503)* dthompson@cooperkirk.com Howard C. Nielson, Jr. (DC Bar No. 473018)* hnielson@cooperkirk.com Nicole J. Moss (DC Bar No. 472424)* nmoss@cooperkirk.com Jesse Panuccio (DC Bar No. 981634)* jpanuccio@cooperkirk.com Peter A. Patterson (Ohio Bar No. 0080840)* ppatterson@cooperkirk.com 1523 New Hampshire Ave. N.W., Washington, D.C. 20036 Telephone: (202) 220-9600, Facsimile: (202) 220-9601 LAW OFFICES OF ANDREW P. PUGNO Andrew P. Pugno (CA Bar No. 206587) andrew@pugnolaw.com 101 Parkshore Drive, Suite 100, Folsom, California 95630 Telephone: (916) 608-3065, Facsimile: (916) 608-3066 ALLIANCE DEFENSE FUND Brian W. Raum (NY Bar No. 2856102)* braum@telladf.org James A. Campbell (OH Bar No. 0081501)* jcampbell@telladf.org 15100 North 90th Street, Scottsdale, Arizona 85260 Telephone: (480) 444-0020, Facsimile: (480) 444-0028 ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANT-INTERVENORS DENNIS HOLLINGSWORTH, GAIL J. KNIGHT, MARTIN F. GUTIERREZ, MARK A. JANSSON, and PROTECTMARRIAGE.COM YES ON 8, A PROJECT OF CALIFORNIA RENEWAL * Admitted pro hac vice UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA KRISTIN M. PERRY, SANDRA B. STIER, PAUL T. KATAMI, and JEFFREY J. ZARRILLO, Plaintiffs, v. ARNOLD SCHWARZENEGGER, in his official capacity as Governor of California; EDMUND G. BROWN, JR., in his official capacity as Attorney General of California; MARK B. [PROPOSED] ORDER GRANTING DEFENDANT-INTERVENORS' MOTION TO SEAL CASE NO. 09-CV-2292 VRW CASE NO. 09-CV-2292 VRW [PROPOSED] ORDER GRANTING DEFENDANT-INTERVENORS' MOTION TO SEAL THE DECLARATION OF RONALD PRENTICE Case3:09-cv-02292-VRW Document725 Filed08/12/10 Page2 of 3 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 HORTON, in his official capacity as Director of the California Department of Public Health and State Registrar of Vital Statistics; LINETTE SCOTT, in her official capacity as Deputy Director of Health Information & Strategic Planning for the California Department of Public Health; PATRICK O'CONNELL, in his official capacity as Clerk-Recorder for the County of Alameda; and DEAN C. LOGAN, in his official capacity as Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk for the County of Los Angeles, Defendants, and PROPOSITION 8 OFFICIAL PROPONENTS DENNIS HOLLINGSWORTH, GAIL J. KNIGHT, MARTIN F. GUTIERREZ, HAKSHING WILLIAM TAM, and MARK A. JANSSON; and PROTECTMARRIAGE.COM YES ON 8, A PROJECT OF CALIFORNIA RENEWAL, Defendant-Intervenors. Additional Counsel for Defendant-Intervenors ALLIANCE DEFENSE FUND Timothy Chandler (CA Bar No. 234325) tchandler@telladf.org 101 Parkshore Drive, Suite 100, Folsom, California 95630 Telephone: (916) 932-2850, Facsimile: (916) 932-2851 Jordan W. Lorence (DC Bar No. 385022)* jlorence@telladf.org Austin R. Nimocks (TX Bar No. 24002695)* animocks@telladf.org 801 G Street NW, Suite 509, Washington, D.C. 20001 Telephone: (202) 393-8690, Facsimile: (202) 347-3622 * Admitted pro hac vice [PROPOSED] ORDER GRANTING DEFENDANT-INTERVENORS' MOTION TO SEAL CASE NO. 09-CV-2292 VRW Case3:09-cv-02292-VRW Document725 Filed08/12/10 Page3 of 3 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 Defendant-Intervenors have filed an administrative motion to seal the declaration of Ronald Prentice, dated January 13, 2010. After full consideration of all moving and opposing documents, the Court's record and file in this matter, and the arguments of counsel, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the portions of the declaration identified as redacted in Doc # 364-1 are placed and shall remain under seal in this Court. UNIT ED S DISTRICT TE C TA RT U O IT IS SO ORDERED. Jan. 26th Dated the ________ of _______, 2010 S GRAN TED RN The Honorable Vaughn C Walker F R. D IS T IC T O R Chief Judge, Northern District of California E 1 [PROPOSED] ORDER GRANTING DEFENDANT-INTERVENORS' MOTION TO SEAL CASE NO. 09-CV-2292 VRW A LI Jud FO alker ____________________________ hn R W ge Vaug R NIA NO RT H