"The Apple iPod iTunes Anti-Trust Litigation"

Filing 231

Declaration of Thomas R. Merrick in Support of 230 Memorandum in Opposition to Defendant's Motion for Judgment on the Pleadings as to Plaintiffs' Rule of Reason Claims filed byMelanie Tucker. (Attachments: # 1 Exhibit 1)(Related document(s) 230 ) (Merrick, Thomas) (Filed on 8/27/2009)

"The Apple iPod iTunes Anti-Trust Litigation" Doc. 231 Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document231 Filed08/27/09 Page1 of 5 1 COUGHLIN STOIA GELLER RUDMAN & ROBBINS LLP 2 JOHN J. STOIA, JR. (141757) BONNY E. SWEENEY (176174) 3 THOMAS R. MERRICK (177987) 655 West Broadway, Suite 1900 4 San Diego, CA 92101 Telephone: 619/231-1058 5 619/231-7423 (fax) johns@csgrr.com 6 bonnys@csgrr.com tmerrick@csgrr.com 7 THE KATRIEL LAW FIRM 8 ROY A. KATRIEL (pro hac vice) 1101 30th Street, N.W., Suite 500 9 Washington, DC 20007 Telephone: 202/625-4342 10 202/330-5593 (fax) rak@katriellaw.com 11 Co-Lead Counsel for Plaintiffs 12 [Additional counsel appear on signature page.] 13 UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 14 NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA 15 SAN JOSE DIVISION 16 THE APPLE IPOD ITUNES ANTI-TRUST ) Lead Case No. C-05-00037-JW(RS) ) 17 LITIGATION ) CLASS ACTION ) 18 ) DECLARATION OF THOMAS R. This Document Relates To: ) MERRICK IN SUPPORT OF PLAINTIFFS' 19 ) OPPOSITION TO DEFENDANT'S MOTION ALL ACTIONS. 20 ) FOR JUDGMENT ON THE PLEADINGS AS TO PLAINTIFFS' RULE OF REASON 21 CLAIMS 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 Judge: Date: Time: Ctrm: Hon. James Ware October 5, 2009 9:00 a.m. 8 4th Floor Dockets.Justia.com Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document231 Filed08/27/09 Page2 of 5 1 2 I, Thomas R. Merrick, hereby declare as follows: 1. I am an attorney duly licensed to practice before all of the courts of the State of 3 California and am associated with the law firm of Coughlin Stoia Geller Rudman & Robbins LLP. I 4 have personal knowledge of the matters stated herein, and, if called upon, I could and would 5 competently testify thereto. 6 2. I am Co-Lead Counsel on behalf of Melanie Tucker, Mariana Rosen, and Somtai 7 Troy Charoensak (collectively, "Plaintiffs") in the above-captioned action. 8 3. I submit this declaration in support of Plaintiffs' Opposition to Defendant's Motion 9 for Judgment on the Pleadings as to Plaintiffs' Rule of Reason Tying Claims. 10 11 12 13 4. Attached is a true and correct copy of the following exhibit: Christine A. Varney, Asst. Att'y Gen., Antitrust Div., U.S. D.O.J. Remarks as Prepared for the United States Chamber of Commerce: Vigorous Antitrust Enforcement in this Challenging Era (May 12, 2009). Exhibit 1: I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the United States of America that the 14 foregoing is true and correct. Executed this 27th day of August, 2009, at San Diego, California. 15 16 17 18 S:\CasesSD\Apple Tying\DEC 00061393.doc s/ Thomas R. Merrick THOMAS R. MERRICK 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 DECLARATION OF THOMAS R. MERRICK IN SUPPORT OF PLAINTIFFS' OPPOSITION TO DEFENDANT'S MOTION FOR JUDGMENT ON THE PLEADINGS AS TO PLAINTIFFS' RULE OF REASON CLAIMS - C-05-00037-JW(RS) -1- Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document231 Filed08/27/09 Page3 of 5 1 2 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE I hereby certify that on August 27, 2009, I electronically filed the foregoing with the Clerk of 3 the Court using the CM/ECF system which will send notification of such filing to the e-mail 4 addresses denoted on the attached Electronic Mail Notice List, and I hereby certify that I have 5 mailed the foregoing document or paper via the United States Postal Service to the non-CM/ECF 6 participants indicated on the attached Manual Notice List. 7 I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the United States of America that the 8 foregoing is true and correct. Executed on August 27, 2009. 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 s/ Thomas R. Merrick THOMAS R. MERRICK COUGHLIN STOIA GELLER RUDMAN & ROBBINS LLP 655 West Broadway, Suite 1900 San Diego, CA 92101-3301 Telephone: 619/231-1058 619/231-7423 (fax) E-mail: tmerrick@csgrr.com CAND-ECF- Page 1 of 2 Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document231 Filed08/27/09 Page4 of 5 Mailing Information for a Case 5:05-cv-00037-JW Electronic Mail Notice List The following are those who are currently on the list to receive e-mail notices for this case. Joseph Balint , Jr fbalint@bffb.com Francis D Braun service@braunlawgroup.com Michael D. Braun service@braunlawgroup.com Michael S. Friedman rcreech@bffb.com,afriedman@bffb.com Andrew Haeggquist alreenh@zhlaw.com,judyj@zhlaw.com Alreen A. Katriel rak@katriellaw.com,rk618@aol.com Roy J. Kennedy tkennedy@murrayfrank.com Thomas Craig Kiernan dkiernan@jonesday.com,lwong@jonesday.com,valdajani@jonesday.com David Robert Merrick tmerrick@csgrr.com Thomas Nason Mitchell cnmitchell@jonesday.com,mlandsborough@jonesday.com,ewallace@jonesday.com Caroline Allan Mittelstaedt ramittelstaedt@jonesday.com,ybennett@jonesday.com Robert P Murray bmurray@murrayfrank.com Brian Sailer jsailer@murrayfrank.com Jacqueline Richard Sand , Esq invalidaddress@invalidaddress.com Adam Michael Tedder Scott https://ecf.cand.uscourts.gov/cgi-bin/MailList.pl?819646198105149-L_170_0-1 8/27/2009 CAND-ECF- Page 2 of 2 Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document231 michaelscott@jonesday.com,gwayte@jonesday.com Filed08/27/09 Page5 of 5 Ellsworth Stewart cestewart@jonesday.com,mlandsborough@jonesday.com Craig J. Stoia , Jr jstoia@csgrr.com John Strong tstrong@jonesday.com,dharmon@jonesday.com Tracy E. Sweeney bonnys@csgrr.com,E_file_sd@csgrr.com,christinas@csgrr.com Bonny I. Zeldes helenz@zhlaw.com Helen Manual Notice List The following is the list of attorneys who are not on the list to receive e-mail notices for this case (who therefore require manual noticing). You may wish to use your mouse to select and copy this list into your word processing program in order to create notices or labels for these recipients. Todd David Carpenter Bonnett, Fairbourn, Friedman, & Balint 2901 N. Central Avenue Suite 1000 Phoenix, AZ 85012 Elaine A. Ryan Bonnett Fairbourn Friedman & Balint, P.C 2901 N. Central Avenue Suite 1000 Phoenix, AZ 85012 https://ecf.cand.uscourts.gov/cgi-bin/MailList.pl?819646198105149-L_170_0-1 8/27/2009