"The Apple iPod iTunes Anti-Trust Litigation"

Filing 254

Declaration of Thomas R. Merrick in Support of 253 Memorandum in Opposition To Defendant's Motion for Reconsideration of Rule 23(b)(2) Class filed byMelanie Tucker. (Attachments: # 1 Exhibit 1, # 2 Exhibit 2, # 3 Exhibit 3)(Related document(s) 253 ) (Merrick, Thomas) (Filed on 9/14/2009)

Download PDF
"The Apple iPod iTunes Anti-Trust Litigation" Doc. 254 Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document254 Filed09/14/09 Page1 of 5 1 COUGHLIN STOIA GELLER RUDMAN & ROBBINS LLP 2 JOHN J. STOIA, JR. (141757) BONNY E. SWEENEY (176174) 3 THOMAS R. MERRICK (177987) 655 West Broadway, Suite 1900 4 San Diego, CA 92101 Telephone: 619/231-1058 5 619/231-7423 (fax) johns@csgrr.com 6 bonnys@csgrr.com tmerrick@csgrr.com 7 THE KATRIEL LAW FIRM 8 ROY A. KATRIEL (pro hac vice) 1101 30th Street, N.W., Suite 500 9 Washington, DC 20007 Telephone: 202/625-4342 10 202/330-5593 (fax) rak@katriellaw.com 11 Co-Lead Counsel for Plaintiffs 12 [Additional counsel appear on signature page.] 13 UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 14 NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA 15 SAN JOSE DIVISION 16 THE APPLE IPOD ITUNES ANTI-TRUST ) Lead Case No. C-05-00037-JW(RS) ) 17 LITIGATION ) CLASS ACTION ) 18 ) DECLARATION OF THOMAS R. This Document Relates To: ) MERRICK IN SUPPORT OF PLAINTIFFS' 19 ) OPPOSITION TO DEFENDANT'S MOTION ALL ACTIONS. 20 ) FOR RECONSIDERATION OF RULE 23(b)(2) CLASS 21 Judge: Hon. James Ware 22 Date: October 5, 2009 Time: 9:00 a.m. 23 Ctrm: 8 4th Floor 24 25 26 27 28 Dockets.Justia.com Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document254 Filed09/14/09 Page2 of 5 1 2 I, THOMAS R. MERRICK, hereby declare as follows: 1. I am an attorney duly licensed to practice before all of the courts of the State of 3 California and am associated with the law firm of Coughlin Stoia Geller Rudman & Robbins LLP. I 4 have personal knowledge of the matters stated herein, and, if called upon, I could and would 5 competently testify thereto. 6 2. I am Co-Lead Counsel on behalf of Plaintiffs Melanie Tucker, Mariana Rosen, and 7 Somtai Troy Charoensak in the above-captioned action. 8 3. I submit this declaration in support of Plaintiffs' Opposition to Defendant's Motion 9 for Reconsideration of Rule 23(b)(2) Class. 10 11 12 Exhibit 2: 13 14 15 I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the United States that the foregoing is 16 true and correct. Executed this 14th day of September, 2009, at San Diego, California. 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 S:\CasesSD\Apple Tying\DEC 00061735.doc 4. Attached hereto are true and correct copies of the following documents: Relevant excerpts from the deposition transcript of Somtai Charoensak, taken January 12, 2007; Relevant excerpts from the deposition transcript of Mariana Rosen, taken January 24, 2007; and Relevant excerpts from the deposition transcript of Melanie Tucker, taken October 26, 2007. Exhibit 1: Exhibit 3: s/ Thomas R. Merrick THOMAS R. MERRICK Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document254 Filed09/14/09 Page3 of 5 1 2 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE I hereby certify that on September 14, 2009, I electronically filed the foregoing with the 3 Clerk of the Court using the CM/ECF system which will send notification of such filing to the e-mail 4 addresses denoted on the attached Electronic Mail Notice List, and I hereby certify that I have 5 mailed the foregoing document or paper via the United States Postal Service to the non-CM/ECF 6 participants indicated on the attached Manual Notice List. 7 I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the United States of America that the 8 foregoing is true and correct. Executed on September 14, 2009. 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 s/ Thomas R. Merrick THOMAS R. MERRICK COUGHLIN STOIA GELLER RUDMAN & ROBBINS LLP 655 West Broadway, Suite 1900 San Diego, CA 92101-3301 Telephone: 619/231-1058 619/231-7423 (fax) E-mail: tmerrick@csgrr.com CAND-ECF- Page 1 of 2 Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document254 Filed09/14/09 Page4 of 5 Mailing Information for a Case 5:05-cv-00037-JW Electronic Mail Notice List The following are those who are currently on the list to receive e-mail notices for this case. z Francis Joseph Balint , Jr fbalint@bffb.com Michael D Braun service@braunlawgroup.com Michael D. Braun service@braunlawgroup.com Andrew S. Friedman rcreech@bffb.com,afriedman@bffb.com Alreen Haeggquist alreenh@zhlaw.com,judyj@zhlaw.com Roy A. Katriel rak@katriellaw.com,rk618@aol.com Thomas J. Kennedy tkennedy@murrayfrank.com David Craig Kiernan dkiernan@jonesday.com,lwong@jonesday.com,valdajani@jonesday.com Thomas Robert Merrick tmerrick@csgrr.com Caroline Nason Mitchell cnmitchell@jonesday.com,mlandsborough@jonesday.com,ewallace@jonesday.com Robert Allan Mittelstaedt ramittelstaedt@jonesday.com,ybennett@jonesday.com Brian P Murray bmurray@murrayfrank.com Jacqueline Sailer jsailer@murrayfrank.com Adam Richard Sand , Esq invalidaddress@invalidaddress.com Michael Tedder Scott z z z z z z z z z z z z z z https://ecf.cand.uscourts.gov/cgi-bin/MailList.pl?476553517055133-L_170_0-1 9/14/2009 CAND-ECF- Page 2 of 2 Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document254 michaelscott@jonesday.com,gwayte@jonesday.com z Filed09/14/09 Page5 of 5 Craig Ellsworth Stewart cestewart@jonesday.com,mlandsborough@jonesday.com John J. Stoia , Jr jstoia@csgrr.com Tracy Strong invalidaddress@invalidaddress.com Bonny E. Sweeney bonnys@csgrr.com,E_file_sd@csgrr.com,christinas@csgrr.com Helen I. Zeldes helenz@zhlaw.com z z z z Manual Notice List The following is the list of attorneys who are not on the list to receive e-mail notices for this case (who therefore require manual noticing). You may wish to use your mouse to select and copy this list into your word processing program in order to create notices or labels for these recipients. Todd David Carpenter Bonnett, Fairbourn, Friedman, & Balint 2901 N. Central Avenue Suite 1000 Phoenix, AZ 85012 Elaine A. Ryan Bonnett Fairbourn Friedman & Balint, P.C 2901 N. Central Avenue Suite 1000 Phoenix, AZ 85012 https://ecf.cand.uscourts.gov/cgi-bin/MailList.pl?476553517055133-L_170_0-1 9/14/2009