"The Apple iPod iTunes Anti-Trust Litigation"

Filing 271

Declaration of Thomas R. Merrick in Support of 269 Memorandum in Opposition to Defendant's Motion for Decertification of Rule 23(b)(3) Class filed by Melanie Tucker. (Attachments: # 1 Exhibit 1, # 2 Exhibit 2, # 3 Exhibit 3, # 4 Exhibit 4)(Related document(s) 269 ) (Merrick, Thomas) (Filed on 10/19/2009) Modified on 10/26/2009 (cv, COURT STAFF).

"The Apple iPod iTunes Anti-Trust Litigation" Doc. 271 Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document271 Filed10/19/09 Page1 of 5 1 COUGHLIN STOIA GELLER RUDMAN & ROBBINS LLP 2 JOHN J. STOIA, JR. (141757) BONNY E. SWEENEY (176174) 3 THOMAS R. MERRICK (177987) 655 West Broadway, Suite 1900 4 San Diego, CA 92101 Telephone: 619/231-1058 5 619/231-7423 (fax) johns@csgrr.com 6 bonnys@csgrr.com tmerrick@csgrr.com 7 THE KATRIEL LAW FIRM 8 ROY A. KATRIEL (pro hac vice) 1101 30th Street, N.W., Suite 500 9 Washington, DC 20007 Telephone: 202/625-4342 10 202/330-5593 (fax) rak@katriellaw.com 11 Co-Lead Counsel for Plaintiffs 12 13 14 15 UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA SAN JOSE DIVISION ) ) ) ) ) ) ) ) Lead Case No. C-05-00037-JW(RS) CLASS ACTION DECLARATION OF THOMAS R. MERRICK IN SUPPORT OF PLAINTIFFS' MEMORANDUM IN OPPOSITION TO DEFENDANT'S MOTION FOR DECERTIFICATION OF RULE 23(b)(3) CLASS Judge: Date: Time: CTRM: Hon. James Ware November 23, 2009 9:00 a.m. 8-4th Floor 16 THE APPLE IPOD ITUNES ANTI-TRUST LITIGATION 17 18 This Document Relates To: 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 ALL ACTIONS. Dockets.Justia.com Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document271 Filed10/19/09 Page2 of 5 1 2 I, THOMAS R. MERRICK, hereby declare as follows: 1. I am an attorney duly licensed to practice before all of the courts of the State of 3 California and am associated with the law firm of Coughlin Stoia Geller Rudman & Robbins LLP. I 4 have personal knowledge of the matters stated herein, and, if called upon, I could and would 5 competently testify thereto. 6 2. I am Co-Lead Counsel on behalf of plaintiffs Melanie Tucker, Mariana Rosen, and 7 Somtai Troy Charoensak in the above-captioned action. 8 3. I submit this declaration in support of Plaintiffs' Memorandum in Opposition to 9 Defendant's Motion for Decertification of Rule 23(b)(3) Class. 10 11 12 Exhibit 2: 13 14 15 Exhibit 4: 16 17 Relevant excerpts from the transcript of proceeding regarding plaintiffs' Motion for Class Certification, held December 16, 2008. Exhibit 3: Relevant excerpts from the deposition transcript of Michelle M. Burtis, Ph.D., taken September 30, 2009; David L. Rubinfeld, Quantitative Methods in Antitrust, 1 Issues in Competition Law & Policy 723 (ABA Section of Antitrust Law) (2008); and 4. Attached hereto are true and correct copies of the following documents: Relevant excerpts from the deposition transcript of Roger G. Noll, taken September 19, 2008; Exhibit 1: I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the United States of America that the 18 foregoing is true and correct. Executed this 19th day of October, 2009, at San Diego, California. 19 20 21 S:\CasesSD\Apple Tying\DEC00062487.doc s/ Thomas R. Merrick THOMAS R. MERRICK 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 DEC OF THOMAS R. MERRICK ISO PLTFS' MEMORANDUM IN OPPOSITION TO DEF'S MOTION FOR DECERTIFICATION OF RULE 23(b)(3) CLASS - C-05-00037-JW(RS) -1- Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document271 Filed10/19/09 Page3 of 5 1 2 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE I hereby certify that on October 19, 2009, I electronically filed the foregoing with the Clerk 3 of the Court using the CM/ECF system which will send notification of such filing to the e-mail 4 addresses denoted on the attached Electronic Mail Notice List, and I hereby certify that I have 5 mailed the foregoing document or paper via the United States Postal Service to the non-CM/ECF 6 participants indicated on the attached Manual Notice List. 7 I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the United States of America that the 8 foregoing is true and correct. Executed on October 19, 2009. 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 s/ Thomas R. Merrick THOMAS R. MERRICK COUGHLIN STOIA GELLER RUDMAN & ROBBINS LLP 655 West Broadway, Suite 1900 San Diego, CA 92101-3301 Telephone: 619/231-1058 619/231-7423 (fax) E-mail: tmerrick@csgrr.com CAND-ECF- Page 1 of 2 Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document271 Filed10/19/09 Page4 of 5 Mailing Information for a Case 5:05-cv-00037-JW Electronic Mail Notice List The following are those who are currently on the list to receive e-mail notices for this case. Joseph Balint , Jr fbalint@bffb.com Francis D Braun service@braunlawgroup.com Michael D. Braun service@braunlawgroup.com Michael S. Friedman rcreech@bffb.com,afriedman@bffb.com Andrew Haeggquist alreenh@zhlaw.com,judyj@zhlaw.com Alreen A. Katriel rak@katriellaw.com,rk618@aol.com Roy J. Kennedy tkennedy@murrayfrank.com Thomas Craig Kiernan dkiernan@jonesday.com,lwong@jonesday.com,valdajani@jonesday.com David Robert Merrick tmerrick@csgrr.com Thomas Nason Mitchell cnmitchell@jonesday.com,mlandsborough@jonesday.com,ewallace@jonesday.com Caroline Allan Mittelstaedt ramittelstaedt@jonesday.com,ybennett@jonesday.com Robert P Murray bmurray@murrayfrank.com Brian A. Ryan eryan@bffb.com,pjohnson@bffb.com Elaine Sailer jsailer@murrayfrank.com Jacqueline Adam Richard Sand , Esq https://ecf.cand.uscourts.gov/cgi-bin/MailList.pl?404432077946657-L_170_0-1 10/19/2009 CAND-ECF- Page 2 of 2 Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document271 invalidaddress@invalidaddress.com Tedder Scott michaelscott@jonesday.com,gwayte@jonesday.com Michael Filed10/19/09 Page5 of 5 Ellsworth Stewart cestewart@jonesday.com,mlandsborough@jonesday.com Craig J. Stoia , Jr jstoia@csgrr.com John Strong invalidaddress@invalidaddress.com Tracy E. Sweeney bonnys@csgrr.com,proach@csgrr.com,E_file_sd@csgrr.com,christinas@csgrr.com Bonny I. Zeldes helenz@zhlaw.com Helen Manual Notice List The following is the list of attorneys who are not on the list to receive e-mail notices for this case (who therefore require manual noticing). You may wish to use your mouse to select and copy this list into your word processing program in order to create notices or labels for these recipients. Todd David Carpenter Bonnett, Fairbourn, Friedman, & Balint 2901 N. Central Avenue Suite 1000 Phoenix, AZ 85012 https://ecf.cand.uscourts.gov/cgi-bin/MailList.pl?404432077946657-L_170_0-1 10/19/2009