"The Apple iPod iTunes Anti-Trust Litigation"

Filing 276

Declaration of Thomas R. Merrick in Support of 275 MOTION to Seal Portions of Plaintiffs' Reply Memorandum in Support of Their Motion to Modify Injunctive Relief Class Definition to Include iTMS Purchasers and Exhibit 1 to the Merrick Declaration Pursuant to Local Rule 79-5(b)-(c) filed by Melanie Tucker. (Related document(s) 275 ) (Merrick, Thomas) (Filed on 11/9/2009) Modified text on 11/13/2009 (cv, COURT STAFF).

"The Apple iPod iTunes Anti-Trust Litigation" Doc. 276 Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document276 Filed11/09/09 Page1 of 5 1 COUGHLIN STOIA GELLER RUDMAN & ROBBINS LLP 2 JOHN J. STOIA, JR. (141757) BONNY E. SWEENEY (176174) 3 THOMAS R. MERRICK (177987) 655 West Broadway, Suite 1900 4 San Diego, CA 92101 Telephone: 619/231-1058 5 619/231-7423 (fax) johns@csgrr.com 6 bonnys@csgrr.com tmerrick@csgrr.com 7 THE KATRIEL LAW FIRM 8 ROY A. KATRIEL (pro hac vice) 1101 30th Street, N.W., Suite 500 9 Washington, DC 20007 Telephone: 202/625-4342 10 202/330-5593 (fax) rak@katriellaw.com 11 Co-Lead Counsel for Plaintiffs 12 UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 13 NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA 14 SAN JOSE DIVISION 15 THE APPLE IPOD ITUNES ANTI-TRUST ) Lead Case No. C-05-00037-JW(RS) 16 LITIGATION ) ) CLASS ACTION 17 ) ) DECLARATION OF THOMAS R. This Document Relates To: 18 ) MERRICK IN SUPPORT OF PLAINTIFFS' ) MOTION TO FILE UNDER SEAL ALL ACTIONS. 19 ) PORTIONS OF PLAINTIFFS' REPLY MEMORANDUM IN SUPPORT OF THEIR 20 MOTION TO MODIFY INJUNCTIVE RELIEF CLASS DEFINITION TO INCLUDE 21 iTMS PURCHASERS AND EXHIBIT 1 TO THE MERRICK DECLARATION 22 PURSUANT TO LOCAL RULE 79-5(b)-(c) 23 24 25 26 27 28 Judge: Date: Time: CTRM: Hon. James Ware November 23, 2009 9:00 a.m. 8-4th Floor Dockets.Justia.com Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document276 Filed11/09/09 Page2 of 5 1 2 I, THOMAS R. MERRICK, hereby declare as follows: 1. I am an attorney duly licensed to practice before all of the courts of the State of 3 California. I am associated with the law firm of Coughlin Stoia Geller Rudman & Robbins LLP, 4 Co-Lead Class Counsel of record for Plaintiffs Melanie Tucker, Mariana Rosen, and Somtai Troy 5 Charoensak in this action. I have personal knowledge of the matters stated herein, and, if called 6 upon, I could and would competently testify thereto. 7 2. I submit this declaration in support of Plaintiffs' Administrative Motion to File Under 8 Seal Portions of Plaintiffs' Reply Memorandum in Support of Their Motion to Modify Injunctive 9 Relief Class Definition to Include iTMS Purchasers ("Reply Memorandum") and Exhibit 1 to the 10 Merrick Declaration ("Exhibit 1") Pursuant to Local Rule 79-5(b)-(c). 11 3. The requested relief is necessary and narrowly tailored to protect the confidentiality 12 of Apple's commercially sensitive business information, including undisclosed internal emails. The 13 confidential information has been redacted from the Reply Memorandum and Exhibit 1 to allow 14 public access to the redacted Reply Memorandum and Exhibit 1. The redacted Reply Memorandum 15 and Exhibit 1 are marked "REDACTED." 16 I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the United States of America that the 17 foregoing is true and correct. Executed this 9th day of November, 2009, at San Diego, California. 18 19 20 S:\CasesSD\Apple Tying\DEC00062846.doc s/ Thomas R. Merrick THOMAS R. MERRICK 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 DEC ISO PLTFS' MTF UNDER SEAL REPLY MEMO ISO THEIR MOT TO MODIFY INJUNCTIVE RELIEF CLASS DEF TO INCLUDE iTMS PURCHASERS & EXHIBIT 1 TO THE MERRICK DEC - C- 05-00037-JW(RS) -1- Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document276 Filed11/09/09 Page3 of 5 1 2 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE I hereby certify that on November 9, 2009, I electronically filed the foregoing with the Clerk 3 of the Court using the CM/ECF system which will send notification of such filing to the e-mail 4 addresses denoted on the attached Electronic Mail Notice List, and I hereby certify that I have 5 mailed the foregoing document or paper via the United States Postal Service to the non-CM/ECF 6 participants indicated on the attached Manual Notice List. 7 I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the United States of America that the 8 foregoing is true and correct. Executed on November 9, 2009. 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 s/ Thomas R. Merrick THOMAS R. MERRICK COUGHLIN STOIA GELLER RUDMAN & ROBBINS LLP 655 West Broadway, Suite 1900 San Diego, CA 92101-3301 Telephone: 619/231-1058 619/231-7423 (fax) E-mail:tmerrick@csgrr.com CAND-ECF- Page 1 of 2 Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document276 Filed11/09/09 Page4 of 5 Mailing Information for a Case 5:05-cv-00037-JW Electronic Mail Notice List The following are those who are currently on the list to receive e-mail notices for this case. Joseph Balint , Jr fbalint@bffb.com Francis D Braun service@braunlawgroup.com Michael D. Braun service@braunlawgroup.com,clc@braunlawgroup.com Michael David Carpenter tcarpenter@bffb.com Todd S. Friedman rcreech@bffb.com,afriedman@bffb.com Andrew Haeggquist alreenh@zhlaw.com,judyj@zhlaw.com Alreen A. Katriel rak@katriellaw.com,rk618@aol.com Roy J. Kennedy tkennedy@murrayfrank.com Thomas Craig Kiernan dkiernan@jonesday.com,lwong@jonesday.com,valdajani@jonesday.com David Robert Merrick tmerrick@csgrr.com Thomas Nason Mitchell cnmitchell@jonesday.com,mlandsborough@jonesday.com,ewallace@jonesday.com Caroline Allan Mittelstaedt ramittelstaedt@jonesday.com,ybennett@jonesday.com Robert P Murray bmurray@murrayfrank.com Brian A. Ryan eryan@bffb.com,pjohnson@bffb.com Elaine Jacqueline Sailer https://ecf.cand.uscourts.gov/cgi-bin/MailList.pl?887692783853149-L_170_0-1 11/9/2009 CAND-ECF- Page 2 of 2 Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document276 jsailer@murrayfrank.com Richard Sand , Esq invalidaddress@invalidaddress.com Adam Filed11/09/09 Page5 of 5 Tedder Scott michaelscott@jonesday.com,gwayte@jonesday.com Michael Ellsworth Stewart cestewart@jonesday.com,mlandsborough@jonesday.com Craig J. Stoia , Jr jstoia@csgrr.com John Strong invalidaddress@invalidaddress.com Tracy E. Sweeney bonnys@csgrr.com,proach@csgrr.com,E_file_sd@csgrr.com,christinas@csgrr.com Bonny I. Zeldes helenz@zhlaw.com Helen Manual Notice List The following is the list of attorneys who are not on the list to receive e-mail notices for this case (who therefore require manual noticing). You may wish to use your mouse to select and copy this list into your word processing program in order to create notices or labels for these recipients. (No manual recipients) https://ecf.cand.uscourts.gov/cgi-bin/MailList.pl?887692783853149-L_170_0-1 11/9/2009