"The Apple iPod iTunes Anti-Trust Litigation"

Filing 294

Declaration of Thomas R. Merrick in Support of 293 MOTION Administrative Motion to Introduce Other Deposition Parts Pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 32(a)(6) MOTION Administrative Motion to Introduce Other Deposition Parts Pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 32(a)(6) filed byMelanie Tucker. (Attachments: # 1 Exhibit A, # 2 Exhibit B, # 3 Exhibit C)(Related document(s) 293 ) (Merrick, Thomas) (Filed on 11/17/2009)

"The Apple iPod iTunes Anti-Trust Litigation" Doc. 294 Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document294 Filed11/17/09 Page1 of 5 1 COUGHLIN STOIA GELLER RUDMAN & ROBBINS LLP 2 JOHN J. STOIA, JR. (141757) BONNY E. SWEENEY (176174) 3 THOMAS R. MERRICK (177987) PAULA M. ROACH (254142) 4 655 West Broadway, Suite 1900 San Diego, CA 92101 5 Telephone: 619/231-1058 619/231-7423 (fax) 6 johns@csgrr.com bonnys@csgrr.com 7 tmerrick@csgrr.com proach@csgrr.com 8 THE KATRIEL LAW FIRM 9 ROY A. KATRIEL (pro hac vice) 1101 30th Street, N.W., Suite 500 10 Washington, DC 20007 Telephone: 202/625-4342 11 202/330-5593 (fax) rak@katriellaw.com 12 Co-Lead Counsel for Plaintiffs 13 [Additional counsel appear on signature page.] 14 UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 15 NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA 16 SAN JOSE DIVISION 17 THE APPLE IPOD ITUNES ANTI-TRUST ) Lead Case No. C-05-00037-JW(RS) ) 18 LITIGATION ) CLASS ACTION ) 19 ) DECLARATION OF THOMAS R. This Document Relates To: 20 ) MERRICK IN SUPPORT OF PLAINTIFFS' ) MOTION TO INTRODUCE OTHER ALL ACTIONS. 21 ) DEPOSITION PARTS PURSUANT TO FED. R. CIV. P. 32(a)(6) 22 Judge: Hon. James Ware 23 Date: November 23, 2009 Time; 9:00 a.m. 24 Ctrm: 8 4th Floor 25 26 27 28 Dockets.Justia.com Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document294 Filed11/17/09 Page2 of 5 1 2 I, Thomas R. Merrick, hereby declare as follows: 1. I am an attorney duly licensed to practice before all of the courts of the State of 3 California. I am associated with the law firm of Coughlin Stoia Geller Rudman & Robbins LLP, 4 Co-Lead Class Counsel of record for Plaintiffs Melanie Tucker, Mariana Rosen, and Somtai Troy 5 Charoensak in this action. I have personal knowledge of the matters stated herein, and, if called 6 upon, I could and would competently testify thereto. 7 2. I submit this declaration in support of Plaintiffs' Administrative Motion to Introduce 8 Other Deposition Parts Pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 32(a)(6). 9 3. The requested relief is necessary to ensure fairness and should be considered with the 10 relevant deposition parts introduced by Apple, Inc. in its Reply in Support of Motion for 11 Decertification of Rule 23(b)(3) Class ("Apple Reply") and accompanying Reply Expert Report of 12 Dr. Michelle M. Burtis ("Burtis Reply"). 13 4. Attached hereto as Exhibit A are the relevant citations to the Apple Reply, Burtis 14 Reply and corresponding deposition transcript excerpts. 15 5. Attached hereto as Exhibit B is a true and correct copy of transcript excerpts of the 16 Deposition of Roger G. Noll, Ph.D., taken in this matter on September 19, 2008. 17 6. Attached hereto as Exhibit C is a true and correct copy of transcript excerpts of the 18 Deposition of Roger G. Noll, Ph.D., taken in this matter on October 27, 2009. 19 I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the United States of America that the 20 foregoing is true and correct. Executed this 17th day of November, 2009, at San Diego, California. 21 22 23 Document1 s/ Thomas R. Merrick THOMAS R. MERRICK 24 25 26 27 28 DECLARATION OF THOMAS R. MERRICK IN SUPPORT OF PLAINTIFFS' MOTION TO INTRODUCE OTHER DEPOSITION PARTS PURSUANT TO FED. R. CIV. P. 32(A)(6) - C-05-00037- JW(RS) -1- Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document294 Filed11/17/09 Page3 of 5 1 2 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE I hereby certify that on November 17, 2009, I electronically filed the foregoing with the 3 Clerk of the Court using the CM/ECF system which will send notification of such filing to the e-mail 4 addresses denoted on the attached Electronic Mail Notice List, and I hereby certify that I have 5 mailed the foregoing document or paper via the United States Postal Service to the non-CM/ECF 6 participants indicated on the attached Manual Notice List. 7 I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the United States of America that the 8 foregoing is true and correct. Executed on November 17, 2009. 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 s/ Thomas R. Merrick THOMAS R. MERRICK COUGHLIN STOIA GELLER RUDMAN & ROBBINS LLP 655 West Broadway, Suite 1900 San Diego, CA 92101-3301 Telephone: 619/231-1058 619/231-7423 (fax) E-mail: tmerrick@csgrr.com CAND-ECF- Page 1 of 2 Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document294 Filed11/17/09 Page4 of 5 Mailing Information for a Case 5:05-cv-00037-JW Electronic Mail Notice List The following are those who are currently on the list to receive e-mail notices for this case. Joseph Balint , Jr fbalint@bffb.com Francis D Braun service@braunlawgroup.com Michael D. Braun service@braunlawgroup.com,clc@braunlawgroup.com Michael David Carpenter tcarpenter@bffb.com Todd S. Friedman rcreech@bffb.com,afriedman@bffb.com Andrew Haeggquist alreenh@zhlaw.com,judyj@zhlaw.com Alreen A. Katriel rak@katriellaw.com,rk618@aol.com Roy J. Kennedy tkennedy@murrayfrank.com Thomas Craig Kiernan dkiernan@jonesday.com,lwong@jonesday.com,valdajani@jonesday.com David Robert Merrick tmerrick@csgrr.com Thomas Nason Mitchell cnmitchell@jonesday.com,mlandsborough@jonesday.com,ewallace@jonesday.com Caroline Allan Mittelstaedt ramittelstaedt@jonesday.com,ybennett@jonesday.com Robert P Murray bmurray@murrayfrank.com Brian A. Ryan eryan@bffb.com,pjohnson@bffb.com Elaine Jacqueline Sailer https://ecf.cand.uscourts.gov/cgi-bin/MailList.pl?101606408334084-L_170_0-1 11/17/2009 CAND-ECF- Page 2 of 2 Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document294 jsailer@murrayfrank.com Richard Sand , Esq invalidaddress@invalidaddress.com Adam Filed11/17/09 Page5 of 5 Tedder Scott michaelscott@jonesday.com,gwayte@jonesday.com Michael Ellsworth Stewart cestewart@jonesday.com,mlandsborough@jonesday.com Craig J. Stoia , Jr jstoia@csgrr.com John Strong invalidaddress@invalidaddress.com Tracy E. Sweeney bonnys@csgrr.com,proach@csgrr.com,E_file_sd@csgrr.com,christinas@csgrr.com Bonny I. Zeldes helenz@zhlaw.com Helen Manual Notice List The following is the list of attorneys who are not on the list to receive e-mail notices for this case (who therefore require manual noticing). You may wish to use your mouse to select and copy this list into your word processing program in order to create notices or labels for these recipients. (No manual recipients) https://ecf.cand.uscourts.gov/cgi-bin/MailList.pl?101606408334084-L_170_0-1 11/17/2009