"The Apple iPod iTunes Anti-Trust Litigation"

Filing 300

ORDER GRANTING ADMINISTRATIVE MOTION TO INTRODUCE OTHER DEPOSITION PARTS PURSUANT TO FED. R. CIV. P. 32(a)(6) by Judge James Ware granting 293 Motion (jwlc3, COURT STAFF) (Filed on 11/20/2009)

"The Apple iPod iTunes Anti-Trust Litigation" Doc. 300 Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document300 Filed11/20/09 Page1 of 3 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA SAN JOSE DIVISION The Apple iPod iTunes Anti-Trust Litigation NO. C 05-00037 JW ORDER GRANTING ADMINISTRATIVE MOTION TO INTRODUCE OTHER DEPOSITION PARTS PURSUANT TO FED. R. CIV. P. 32(a)(6) / Presently before the Court is Plaintiffs' Administrative Motion to Introduce Other Deposition Parts Pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 32(a)(6). (hereafter, "Motion," Docket Item No. 293.) To date, Defendant has not filed an opposition. Plaintiffs move for permission to introduce additional deposition testimony of their expert witness, Roger G. Noll, to be considered with the relevant deposition parts introduced by Defendant in its Reply in Support of Motion for Decertification of Rule 23(b)(3) Class1 and accompanying Reply Expert Report of Dr. Michelle M. Burtis.2 (Motion at 1; Declaration of Thomas R. Merrick in Support of Plaintiffs' Motion to Introduce Other Deposition Parts Pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 32(a)(6) 3.) United United States District Court 11 For the Northern District of California 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 1 2 (Docket Item No. 285.) (Docket Item No. 286.) Dockets.Justia.com Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document300 Filed11/20/09 Page2 of 3 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Fed. R. Civ. P. 32(a)(6) provides: "If a party offers in evidence only part of a deposition, an adverse party may require the offeror to introduce other parts that in fairness should be considered with the part introduced, and any party may itself introduce any other parts." Upon review of the deposition excerpts which Plaintiffs seek to introduce, the Court finds that the additional testimony provides context for the deposition excerpts already introduced by Defendant. Since the supplemental excerpts provide the Court with a clearer understanding of the testimony of Plaintiffs' expert witness, they should in fairness be considered with the parts already introduced. Accordingly, the Court GRANTS Plaintiffs' Administrative Motion to Introduce Other Deposition Parts Pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 32(a)(6). United States District Court 11 For the Northern District of California 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 2 Dated: November 20, 2009 JAMES WARE United States District Judge Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document300 Filed11/20/09 Page3 of 3 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 THIS IS TO CERTIFY THAT COPIES OF THIS ORDER HAVE BEEN DELIVERED TO: Adam Richard Sand invalidaddress@invalidaddress.com Alreen Haeggquist alreenh@zhlaw.com Andrew S. Friedman afriedman@bffb.com Bonny E. Sweeney bonnys@csgrr.com Brian P Murray bmurray@murrayfrank.com Caroline Nason Mitchell cnmitchell@jonesday.com Craig Ellsworth Stewart cestewart@jonesday.com David Craig Kiernan dkiernan@jonesday.com Elaine A. Ryan eryan@bffb.com Francis Joseph Balint fbalint@bffb.com Helen I. Zeldes helenz@zhlaw.com Jacqueline Sailer jsailer@murrayfrank.com John J. Stoia jstoia@csgrr.com Michael D Braun service@braunlawgroup.com Michael D. Braun service@braunlawgroup.com Michael Tedder Scott michaelscott@jonesday.com Paula Michelle Roach proach@csgrr.com Robert Allan Mittelstaedt ramittelstaedt@jonesday.com Roy A. Katriel rak@katriellaw.com Thomas J. Kennedy tkennedy@murrayfrank.com Thomas Robert Merrick tmerrick@csgrr.com Todd David Carpenter tcarpenter@bffb.com Tracy Strong invalidaddress@invalidaddress.com United States District Court 11 For the Northern District of California 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 Dated: November 20, 2009 Richard W. Wieking, Clerk By: /s/ JW Chambers Elizabeth Garcia Courtroom Deputy