"The Apple iPod iTunes Anti-Trust Litigation"

Filing 346

REDACTION Exhibits 2,3,4,5,7,9 to 345 Declaration of Thomas R. Merrick in Support of Plaintiffs' Memorandum in Opposition to Apple's Motion to Dismiss or, Alternatively, for Summary Judgment by Melanie Tucker. (Attachments: # 1 Exhibit 1, # 2 Exhibit 2, # 3 Exhibit 3, # 4 Exhibit 4, # 5 Exhibit 5, # 6 Exhibit 6, # 7 Exhibit 7, # 8 Exhibit 8, # 9 Exhibit 9, # 10 Exhibit 10, # 11 Exhibit 11, # 12 Exhibit 12)(Merrick, Thomas) (Filed on 3/22/2010) Modified on 3/23/2010 (cv, COURT STAFF).

Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document346 Filed03/22/10 Page1 of 5 1 COUGHLIN STOIA GELLER RUDMAN & ROBBINS LLP 2 JOHN J. STOIA, JR. (141757) BONNY E. SWEENEY (176174) 3 THOMAS R. MERRICK (177987) PAULA M. ROACH (254142) 4 655 West Broadway, Suite 1900 San Diego, CA 92101 5 Telephone: 619/231-1058 619/231-7423 (fax) 6 johns@csgrr.com bonnys@csgrr.com 7 tmerrick@csgrr.com proach@csgrr.com 8 THE KATRIEL LAW FIRM 9 ROY A. KATRIEL (pro hac vice) 1101 30th Street, N.W., Suite 500 10 Washington, DC 20007 Telephone: 202/625-4342 11 202/330-5593 (fax) rak@katriellaw.com 12 Co-Lead Counsel for Plaintiffs 13 UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 14 NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA 15 SAN JOSE DIVISION 16 THE APPLE IPOD ITUNES ANTI-TRUST ) Lead Case No. C-05-00037-JW(HRL) ) 17 LITIGATION ) CLASS ACTION ) 18 ) DECLARATION OF THOMAS R. This Document Relates To: ) MERRICK IN SUPPORT OF PLAINTIFFS' 19 ) MEMORANDUM IN OPPOSITION TO ALL ACTIONS. 20 ) APPLE'S MOTION TO DISMISS OR, ALTERNATIVELY, FOR SUMMARY 21 JUDGMENT 22 23 24 REDACTED EXHIBITS 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 9 25 26 27 28 Judge: Date: Time: Location: Hon. James Ware April 26, 2010 9:00 am 8, 4th Floor 511284_1 Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document346 Filed03/22/10 Page2 of 5 1 2 I, THOMAS R. MERRICK, hereby declare as follows: 1. I am an attorney duly licensed to practice before all of the courts of the State of 3 California. I am associated with the law firm of Coughlin Stoia Geller Rudman & Robbins LLP, 4 Co-Lead Class Counsel of record for Plaintiffs Melanie Tucker, Mariana Rosen, and Somtai Troy 5 Charoensak in this action. I have personal knowledge of the matters stated herein, and, if called 6 upon, I could and would competently testify thereto. 7 2. I submit this declaration in support of Plaintiffs' Opposition to Apple's Motion to 8 Dismiss or Alternatively, for Summary Judgment. 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 Exhibit 9: 19 Exhibit 10: 20 21 22 23 I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the United States of America that the 24 foregoing is true and correct. Executed this 22nd day of March, 2010, at San Diego, California. 25 26 27 28 511284_1 3. Exhibit 1: Exhibit 2: Exhibit 3: Exhibit 4: Exhibit 5: Exhibit 6: Exhibit 7: Exhibit 8: Attached hereto are true and correct copies of the following documents: Press Release, Changes Coming to The iTunes Store (January 6, 2009); Apple AIIA00004083-118 [Filed Under Seal]; Apple AIIA 00004125-44 [Filed Under Seal]; Apple_AIIA00090405-07 [Filed Under Seal]; Apple_AIIA00090441-43 [Filed Under Seal]; Phillip Bohn, Attitudes Towards DRM in the Independent Music Sector, August 19, 2005; Apple_SOM00007134-84 [Filed Under Seal]; Press Release, Apple Motorola & Cingular Launch World's First Mobile Phone with iTunes (September 7, 2005 ); Apple_AIIA00091782 [Filed Under Seal]; Christine A. Varney, Asst. Att'y Gen. Antitrust Div., U.S. D.O.J., Remarks as Prepared for the United States Chamber of Commerce: Vigorous Antitrust Enforcement in This Challenging Era (May 12, 2009); What is Harmony Technology?; and iTunes Store Terms and Conditions. Exhibit 11: Exhibit 12: s/ Thomas R. Merrick THOMAS R. MERRICK DEC OF TRM ISO PLTFS' MEMO IN OPPO TO APPLE'S MOT TO DISMISS OR, ALTERNATIVELY, FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT - C-05-00037-JW(HRL) -1- Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document346 Filed03/22/10 Page3 of 5 1 2 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE I hereby certify that on March 22, 2010, I electronically filed the foregoing with the Clerk of 3 the Court using the CM/ECF system which will send notification of such filing to the e-mail 4 addresses denoted on the attached Electronic Mail Notice List, and I hereby certify that I have 5 mailed the foregoing document or paper via the United States Postal Service to the non-CM/ECF 6 participants indicated on the attached Manual Notice List. 7 I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the United States of America that the 8 foregoing is true and correct. Executed on March 22, 2010. 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 511284_1 s/ Thomas R. Merrick THOMAS R. MERRICK COUGHLIN STOIA GELLER RUDMAN & ROBBINS LLP 655 West Broadway, Suite 1900 San Diego, CA 92101-3301 Telephone: 619/231-1058 619/231-7423 (fax) E-mail:tmerrick@csgrr.com CAND-ECF- Page 1 of 2 Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document346 Filed03/22/10 Page4 of 5 Mailing Information for a Case 5:05-cv-00037-JW Electronic Mail Notice List The following are those who are currently on the list to receive e-mail notices for this case. Joseph Balint , Jr fbalint@bffb.com Francis D Braun service@braunlawgroup.com Michael D. Braun service@braunlawgroup.com,clc@braunlawgroup.com Michael David Carpenter tcarpenter@bffb.com Todd S. Friedman rcreech@bffb.com,afriedman@bffb.com Andrew Haeggquist alreenh@zhlaw.com,judyj@zhlaw.com Alreen A. Katriel rak@katriellaw.com,rk618@aol.com Roy J. Kennedy tkennedy@murrayfrank.com Thomas Craig Kiernan dkiernan@jonesday.com,lwong@jonesday.com David Robert Merrick tmerrick@csgrr.com Thomas Nason Mitchell cnmitchell@jonesday.com,mlandsborough@jonesday.com,ewallace@jonesday.com Caroline Allan Mittelstaedt ramittelstaedt@jonesday.com,ybennett@jonesday.com Robert P Murray bmurray@murrayfrank.com Brian Michelle Roach proach@csgrr.com Paula Elaine A. Ryan https://ecf.cand.uscourts.gov/cgi-bin/MailList.pl?984175613648238-L_358_0-1 3/22/2010 CAND-ECF- Page 2 of 2 Case5:05-cv-00037-JW Document346 eryan@bffb.com,pjohnson@bffb.com Sailer jsailer@murrayfrank.com Jacqueline Filed03/22/10 Page5 of 5 Tedder Scott michaelscott@jonesday.com,amhoward@jonesday.com Michael Ellsworth Stewart cestewart@jonesday.com,mlandsborough@jonesday.com Craig J. Stoia , Jr jstoia@csgrr.com John E. Sweeney bonnys@csgrr.com,proach@csgrr.com,E_file_sd@csgrr.com,christinas@csgrr.com Bonny I. Zeldes helenz@zhlaw.com Helen Manual Notice List The following is the list of attorneys who are not on the list to receive e-mail notices for this case (who therefore require manual noticing). You may wish to use your mouse to select and copy this list into your word processing program in order to create notices or labels for these recipients. (No manual recipients) https://ecf.cand.uscourts.gov/cgi-bin/MailList.pl?984175613648238-L_358_0-1 3/22/2010