"The Apple iPod iTunes Anti-Trust Litigation"

Filing 365

Declaration of Thomas R. Merrick in Support of 364 MOTION to Seal Portions of Plaintiffs Reply in Support of Their Motion for Additional Discovery Pursuant to Rule 56(f)filed by Melanie Tucker. (Related document(s) 364 ) (Merrick, Thomas) (Filed on 4/26/2010) Modified on 4/27/2010 (cv, COURT STAFF).

1 ROBBINS GELLER RUDMAN & DOWD LLP 2 JOHN J. STOIA, JR. (141757) BONNY E. SWEENEY (176174) 3 THOMAS R. MERRICK (177987) PAULA M. ROACH (254142) 4 655 West Broadway, Suite 1900 San Diego, CA 92101 5 Telephone: 619/231-1058 619/231-7423 (fax) 6 johns@rgrdlaw.com bonnys@rgrdlaw.com 7 tmerrick@rgrdlaw.com proach@rgrdlaw.com 8 THE KATRIEL LAW FIRM 9 ROY A. KATRIEL (pro hac vice) 1101 30th Street, N.W., Suite 500 10 Washington, DC 20007 Telephone: 202/625-4342 11 202/330-5593 (fax) rak@katriellaw.com 12 Co-Lead Counsel for Plaintiffs 13 UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 14 NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA 15 SAN JOSE DIVISION 16 THE APPLE IPOD ITUNES ANTI-TRUST ) Lead Case No. C-05-00037-JW(HRL) ) 17 LITIGATION ) CLASS ACTION ) 18 ) DECLARATION OF THOMAS R. This Document Relates To: ) MERRICK IN SUPPORT OF PLAINTIFFS' 19 ) ADMINISTRATIVE MOTION TO FILE ALL ACTIONS. 20 ) UNDER SEAL PORTIONS OF PLAINTIFFS' REPLY IN SUPPORT OF 21 THEIR MOTION FOR ADDITIONAL DISCOVERY PURSUANT TO RULE 56(f), 22 PORTIONS OF THE MERRICK DECLARATION AND PORTIONS OF 23 EXHIBITS A AND C TO THE MERRICK DECLARATION PURSUANT TO LOCAL 24 RULE 79-5(c) 25 26 27 28 Judge: Date: Time: Location: Hon. James Ware May 10, 2010 9:00 am 8, 4th Floor 520675_1 1 2 I, THOMAS R. MERRICK, hereby declare as follows: 1. I am an attorney duly licensed to practice before all of the courts of the State of 3 California. I am associated with the law firm of Robbins Geller Rudman & Dowd LLP, Co-Lead 4 Class Counsel of record for Plaintiffs Melanie Tucker, Mariana Rosen, and Somtai Troy Charoensak 5 in this action. I have personal knowledge of the matters stated herein, and, if called upon, I could 6 and would competently testify thereto. 7 2. I submit this declaration in support of Plaintiffs' Administrative Motion to File Under 8 Seal Portions of Plaintiffs' Reply in Support of Their Motion for Additional Discovery Pursuant to 9 Rule 56(f) ("Motion"), Portions of the Merrick Declaration in support thereof ("Merrick 10 Declaration") and Portions of Exhibits A and C to the Merrick Declaration ("Exhibits") pursuant to 11 Local Rule 79-5(c). 12 3. The requested relief is necessary and narrowly tailored to protect the confidentiality 13 of Apple's commercially sensitive business information. The confidential information has been 14 redacted from the Motion, Merrick Declaration and the Exhibits to allow public access to the 15 redacted Motion, Merrick Declaration and Exhibits. The redacted Motion, Merrick Declaration and 16 Exhibits are marked "REDACTED." 17 I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the United States of America that the 18 foregoing is true and correct. Executed this 26th day of April, 2010, at San Diego, California. 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 520675_1 s/ Thomas R. Merrick THOMAS R. MERRICK DEC OF THOMAS R. MERRICK ISO PLTFS' ADMIN MOTION TO FUS PORTIONS OF PLTIS' REPLY ISO THEIR MOTION FOR ADDITIONAL DISCOVERY - C-05-00037-JW(HRL) -1- 1 2 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE I hereby certify that on April 26, 2010, I electronically filed the foregoing with the Clerk of 3 the Court using the CM/ECF system which will send notification of such filing to the e-mail 4 addresses denoted on the attached Electronic Mail Notice List, and I hereby certify that I have 5 mailed the foregoing document or paper via the United States Postal Service to the non-CM/ECF 6 participants indicated on the attached Manual Notice List. 7 I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the United States of America that the 8 foregoing is true and correct. Executed on April 26, 2010. 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 520675_1 s/ Thomas R. Merrick THOMAS R. MERRICK ROBBINS GELLER RUDMAN & DOWD LLP 655 West Broadway, Suite 1900 San Diego, CA 92101-3301 Telephone: 619/231-1058 619/231-7423 (fax) E-mail: tmerrick@rgrdlaw.com CAND-ECF- Page 1 of 2 Mailing Information for a Case 5:05-cv-00037-JW Electronic Mail Notice List The following are those who are currently on the list to receive e-mail notices for this case. Joseph Balint , Jr fbalint@bffb.com Francis D Braun service@braunlawgroup.com Michael D. Braun service@braunlawgroup.com,clc@braunlawgroup.com Michael David Carpenter tcarpenter@bffb.com Todd S. Friedman rcreech@bffb.com,afriedman@bffb.com Andrew Haeggquist alreenh@zhlaw.com,judyj@zhlaw.com Alreen A. Katriel rak@katriellaw.com,rk618@aol.com Roy J. Kennedy tkennedy@murrayfrank.com Thomas Craig Kiernan dkiernan@jonesday.com,lwong@jonesday.com David Robert Merrick tmerrick@rgrdlaw.com,e_file_sd@rgrdlaw.com,e_file_sf@rgrdlaw.com Thomas Nason Mitchell cnmitchell@jonesday.com,mlandsborough@jonesday.com,ewallace@jonesday.com Caroline Allan Mittelstaedt ramittelstaedt@jonesday.com,ybennett@jonesday.com Robert P Murray bmurray@murrayfrank.com Brian Michelle Roach proach@rgrdlaw.com,e_file_sd@rgrdlaw.com Paula Elaine A. Ryan https://ecf.cand.uscourts.gov/cgi-bin/MailList.pl?326356657759592-L_366_0-1 4/26/2010 CAND-ECF- Page 2 of 2 eryan@bffb.com,pjohnson@bffb.com Sailer jsailer@murrayfrank.com Jacqueline Tedder Scott michaelscott@jonesday.com,amhoward@jonesday.com Michael Ellsworth Stewart cestewart@jonesday.com,mlandsborough@jonesday.com Craig J. Stoia , Jr jstoia@rgrdlaw.com John E. Sweeney bonnys@rgrdlaw.com,christinas@rgrdlaw.com,E_file_sd@rgrdlaw.com,proach@rgrdlaw.com Bonny I. Zeldes helenz@zhlaw.com Helen Manual Notice List The following is the list of attorneys who are not on the list to receive e-mail notices for this case (who therefore require manual noticing). You may wish to use your mouse to select and copy this list into your word processing program in order to create notices or labels for these recipients. (No manual recipients) https://ecf.cand.uscourts.gov/cgi-bin/MailList.pl?326356657759592-L_366_0-1 4/26/2010