"The Apple iPod iTunes Anti-Trust Litigation"

Filing 653

Declaration of Carmen A. Medici in Support of 652 MOTION for Extension of Time to File Supplemental Declaration and Submit Proposed Schedule for Supplemental Expert Reports filed byMelanie Tucker. (Attachments: # 1 Exhibit 1)(Related document(s) 652 ) (Medici, Carmen) (Filed on 6/28/2011)

1 ROBBINS GELLER RUDMAN & DOWD LLP 2 JOHN J. STOIA, JR. (141757) BONNY E. SWEENEY (176174) 3 THOMAS R. MERRICK (177987) ALEXANDRA S. BERNAY (211068) 4 CARMEN A. MEDICI (248417) 655 West Broadway, Suite 1900 5 San Diego, CA 92101 Telephone: 619/231-1058 6 619/231-7423 (fax) johns@rgrdlaw.com 7 bonnys@rgrdlaw.com tmerrick@rgrdlaw.com 8 xanb@rgrdlaw.com cmedici@rgrdlaw.com 9 THE KATRIEL LAW FIRM 10 ROY A. KATRIEL (pro hac vice) 1101 30th Street, N.W., Suite 500 11 Washington, DC 20007 Telephone: 202/625-4342 12 202/330-5593 (fax) rak@katriellaw.com 13 Co-Lead Counsel for Plaintiffs 14 15 UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 16 NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA 17 SAN FRANCISCO DIVISION 18 THE APPLE IPOD ITUNES ANTI-TRUST 19 LITIGATION 20 21 This Document Relates To: ALL ACTIONS. 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 634277_1 ) ) ) ) ) ) ) ) Lead Case No. C-05-00037-JW(HRL) CLASS ACTION DECLARATION OF CARMEN A. MEDICI IN SUPPORT OF PLAINTIFFS’ MOTION TO EXTEND TIME TO FILE SUPPLEMENTAL DECLARATION AND SUBMIT PROPOSED SCHEDULE FOR SUPPLEMENTAL EXPERT REPORTS 1 I, CARMEN A. MEDICI, hereby declare as follows: 2 1. I am an attorney duly licensed to practice before all of the courts of the State of 3 California. I am associated with the law firm of Robbins Geller Rudman & Dowd LLP, Co-Lead 4 Class Counsel of record for Plaintiffs Melanie Tucker, Mariana Rosen and Somtai Troy Charoensak 5 (“Plaintiffs”) in this action. I have personal knowledge of the matters stated herein, and, if called 6 upon, I could and would competently testify thereto. 7 2. I submit this declaration in support of Plaintiffs’ Motion to Extend Time to File 8 Supplemental Declaration and Submit Proposed Schedule for Supplemental Expert Reports. 9 3. Attached as Exhibit 1 is a true and correct copy of an e-mail thread dated June 28, 10 2011 between myself and counsel for Apple. 11 4. Plaintiffs met and conferred with Apple regarding the date to submit a proposed 12 schedule for supplemental expert reports but were unable to come to agreement. This discussion is 13 outlined in Exhibit 1. 14 5. Plaintiffs’ expert, Professor Roger G. Noll, has two expert reports due in other cases 15 on July 6, 2011 and cannot complete his Supplemental Declaration before the July 5, 2011 date as 16 set forth in the Court’s June 27, 2011 Order (Dkt. No. 650). 17 6. If the Court does not change the time, Plaintiffs will suffer substantial harm because 18 Professor Noll will not be able to devote the customary amount of time he spends preparing a 19 declaration filed with a court. 20 7. Since the Court’s Order of October 28, 2010 (Dkt. No. 392) setting the schedule for 21 briefing and argument of class certification and summary judgment, I am aware of no time 22 modifications in this case relating to summary judgment or class certification. 23 8. This extension of time would not materially affect the schedule for the case or 24 otherwise cause any delay in the proceedings. Plaintiffs wish to appropriately resolve this case as 25 soon as possible. 26 27 28 634277_1 DECL OF CARMEN MEDICI IN SUPPORT OF PLTFS’ MOT TO EXTEND TIME TO FILE SUPPL DECL AND SUBMIT PROPOSED SCHEDULE FOR SUPPLEMENTAL EXPERT REPORTS - C-05-00037-JW(HRL) -1- 1 I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the United States of America that the 2 foregoing is true and correct. Executed this 28th day of June, 2011, at San Diego, California. 3 4 s/ Carmen A. Medici CARMEN A. MEDICI 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 634277_1 DECL OF CARMEN MEDICI IN SUPPORT OF PLTFS’ MOT TO EXTEND TIME TO FILE SUPPL DECL AND SUBMIT PROPOSED SCHEDULE FOR SUPPLEMENTAL EXPERT REPORTS - C-05-00037-JW(HRL) -2- 1 2 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE I hereby certify that on June 28, 2011, I authorized the electronic filing of the foregoing with 3 the Clerk of the Court using the CM/ECF system which will send notification of such filing to the 4 e-mail addresses denoted on the attached Electronic Mail Notice List, and I hereby certify that I 5 caused to be mailed the foregoing document or paper via the United States Postal Service to the non6 CM/ECF participants indicated on the attached Manual Notice List. 7 I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the United States of America that the 8 foregoing is true and correct. Executed on June 28, 2011. 9 10 11 12 13 s/ Carmen A. Medici CARMEN A. MEDICI ROBBINS GELLER RUDMAN & DOWD LLP 655 West Broadway, Suite 1900 San Diego, CA 92101-3301 Telephone: 619/231-1058 619/231-7423 (fax) 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 634277_1 E-mail: cmedici@rgrdlaw.com CAND-ECF- Page 1 of 2 Mailing Information for a Case 5:05-cv-00037-JW Electronic Mail Notice List The following are those who are currently on the list to receive e-mail notices for this case. Francis Joseph Balint , Jr fbalint@bffb.com Alexandra Senya Bernay xanb@rgrdlaw.com Michael D Braun service@braunlawgroup.com Michael D. Braun service@braunlawgroup.com,clc@braunlawgroup.com Todd David Carpenter tcarpenter@bffb.com,pjohnson@bffb.com,rcreech@bffb.com Andrew S. Friedman khonecker@bffb.com,rcreech@bffb.com,afriedman@bffb.com Alreen Haeggquist alreenh@zhlaw.com,judyj@zhlaw.com,winkyc@zhlaw.com Roy Arie Katriel rak@katriellaw.com,rk618@aol.com Thomas J. Kennedy tkennedy@murrayfrank.com David Craig Kiernan dkiernan@jonesday.com,lwong@jonesday.com Carmen Anthony Medici cmedici@rgrdlaw.com,slandry@rgrdlaw.com Thomas Robert Merrick tmerrick@rgrdlaw.com,e_file_sd@rgrdlaw.com,e_file_sf@rgrdlaw.com Caroline Nason Mitchell cnmitchell@jonesday.com,mlandsborough@jonesday.com,ewallace@jonesday.com Robert Allan Mittelstaedt ramittelstaedt@jonesday.com,mlandsborough@jonesday.com Brian P Murray bmurray@murrayfrank.com George A. Riley griley@omm.com,lperez@omm.com,cchiu@omm.com Elaine A. Ryan https://ecf.cand.uscourts.gov/cgi-bin/MailList.pl?214720261784493-L_366_0-1 6/28/2011 CAND-ECF- Page 2 of 2 eryan@bffb.com,nserden@bffb.com Jacqueline Sailer jsailer@murrayfrank.com Michael Tedder Scott michaelscott@jonesday.com,amhoward@jonesday.com Craig Ellsworth Stewart cestewart@jonesday.com,mlandsborough@jonesday.com John J. Stoia , Jr jstoia@rgrdlaw.com Bonny E. Sweeney bonnys@rgrdlaw.com,christinas@rgrdlaw.com,E_file_sd@rgrdlaw.com Helen I. Zeldes helenz@zhlaw.com Manual Notice List The following is the list of attorneys who are not on the list to receive e-mail notices for this case (who therefore require manual noticing). You may wish to use your mouse to select and copy this list into your word processing program in order to create notices or labels for these recipients. (No manual recipients) https://ecf.cand.uscourts.gov/cgi-bin/MailList.pl?214720261784493-L_366_0-1 6/28/2011