"The Apple iPod iTunes Anti-Trust Litigation"

Filing 700

ORDER re 698 Brief filed by Mariana Rosen, Somtai Troy Charoensak, Melanie Tucker. Signed by Judge James Ware on January 12, 2012. (jwlc2, COURT STAFF) (Filed on 1/12/2012)

Download PDF
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 8 FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA 9 SAN FRANCISCO DIVISION NO. C 05-00037 JW The Apple iPod iTunes Antitrust Litigation 11 For the Northern District of California United States District Court 10 ORDER RE. JOINT PROPOSAL REGARDING NOTICE PLAN 12 13 / 14 15 Presently before the Court is the parties’ Joint Proposal Regarding Notice Plan. (hereafter, 16 “Joint Proposal,” Docket Item No. 698.) In their Joint Proposal, the parties contend that 17 dissemination of notice to the class in this case should “be deferred until after the Ninth Circuit rules 18 on Apple’s Rule 23(f) petition for interlocutory review of [the] Court’s November 22, 2011 class- 19 certification decision.”1 (Id. at 2.) In particular, the parties contend that deferral of the 20 dissemination of notice will “avoid the possibility of the Class receiving two conflicting [n]otices,” 21 which will “serv[e] the public interest by avoiding ‘the risk of significantly confusing the class 22 consumers.’”2 23 24 Upon review, the Court finds good cause to defer the dissemination of notice until after the Ninth Circuit has ruled on Defendant Apple’s Petition. Accordingly, the Court declines to consider 25 1 26 27 On December 6, 2011, Defendant Apple filed a Petition for Permission to Appeal Order Granting Class Certification pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(f) with the Ninth Circuit. (hereafter, “Petition,” Docket Item No. 697.) 2 28 (Id. (citing Order Granting Defendants’ Motion to Stay Proceedings at 6, Docket Item No. 493 in No. C 07-05152 JW).) 1 the Joint Proposal at this time. If the Ninth Circuit denies the Petition, the parties shall renotice the 2 Joint Proposal within ten days of the Ninth Circuit’s ruling. 3 4 5 Dated: January 12, 2012 6 JAMES WARE United States District Chief Judge 7 8 9 11 For the Northern District of California United States District Court 10 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 2 1 THIS IS TO CERTIFY THAT COPIES OF THIS ORDER HAVE BEEN DELIVERED TO: 2 Alexandra Senya Bernay xanb@rgrdlaw.com Alreen Haeggquist alreenh@zhlaw.com Andrew S. Friedman afriedman@bffb.com Bonny E. Sweeney bonnys@rgrdlaw.com Brian P Murray bmurray@murrayfrank.com Carmen Anthony Medici cmedici@rgrdlaw.com Caroline Nason Mitchell cnmitchell@jonesday.com Craig Ellsworth Stewart cestewart@jonesday.com David Craig Kiernan dkiernan@jonesday.com Elaine A. Ryan eryan@bffb.com Francis Joseph Balint fbalint@bffb.com George A. Riley griley@omm.com Helen I. Zeldes helenz@zhlaw.com Jacqueline Sailer jsailer@murrayfrank.com John J. Stoia jstoia@rgrdlaw.com Michael D Braun service@braunlawgroup.com Michael D. Braun service@braunlawgroup.com Michael Tedder Scott michaelscott@jonesday.com Robert Allan Mittelstaedt ramittelstaedt@jonesday.com Roy Arie Katriel rak@katriellaw.com Thomas J. Kennedy tkennedy@murrayfrank.com Thomas Robert Merrick tmerrick@rgrdlaw.com Todd David Carpenter tcarpenter@bffb.com 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 11 For the Northern District of California United States District Court 10 12 13 14 Dated: January 12, 2012 Richard W. Wieking, Clerk 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 By: /s/ JW Chambers Susan Imbriani Courtroom Deputy