Facebook, Inc. v. Power Ventures, Inc.

Filing 50

Memorandum in Opposition Memorandum of Points and Authorities in Opposition to 49 Motion of Facebook, Inc. to Dismiss Counterclaims and Strike Affirmative Defenses filed byPower Ventures, Inc.(a Cayman Island Corporation), Steven Vachani. (Plutzik, Alan) (Filed on 10/9/2009) Modified on 10/13/2009 (gm, COURT STAFF).

Download PDF
Facebook, Inc. v. Power Ventures, Inc. Doc. 50 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 LITIGATION LAW GROUP Gordon M. Fauth, Jr. (SBN: 190280) gmf@classlitigation.com 1801 Clement Avenue, Suite 101 Alameda, CA 94501 Tel: (510) 238-9610 Fax: (510) 337-1431 Attorney for Plaintiff JAMES R. PITTMAN [Additional counsel appear on signature pages] UNIT ED S S DISTRICT TE C TA RT U O DENIE D re ER N D IS T IC T R OF UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA SAN JOSE DIVISION In Re: Apple iPhone 3G Products Liability Litigation THIS MATTER RELATES TO THE FOLLOWING CASES: Case No. C 08-05375 JW Case No. C 08-05810 JW Case No. C 09-00121 JW Case No. C 09-00122 JW Case No. C 09-00187 JW Case No. C 09-00275 JW Case No. C 09-00330 JW Case No. C 09-01028 JW Case No. C 09-03277 JW Case No. C 09-03278 JW Case No. C 09-03321 JW Case No. C 09-03353 JW Case No. C 09-03577 JW CASE NO. M:09-cv-02045-JW CLASS ACTION ADMINISTRATIVE MOTION TO APPEAR AT CASE MANAGEMENT CONFERENCE BY TELEPHONE AND [PROPOSED] ORDER DENYING MOTION Date: September 21, 2009 Time: 10:00 a.m. Judge: Hon. James Ware Ctrm: Courtroom 8, 4th Floor 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 Administrative Motion to Appear at Case Management Conference by Telephone and [Proposed] Order Case No. M:09-cv-02045-JW -1Dockets.Justia.com A C 9/16/2009 LI FO mes Wa Judge Ja R NIA NO RT H 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 On August 11, 2009, the Court scheduled a Case Management Conference for September 21, 2009 at 10:00 a.m. Plaintiffs Jessica Smith and Eulardi Tanseco in the above-entitled actions respectfully request that the Court allow their counsel, Mr. Lew Garrison and Mr. Jay Salzman, respectively, to appear and participate in the conference by telephone. All other Plaintiffs will be represented at the conference by proposed Lead Counsel and one representative of each of the law firms comprising the proposed Executive Committee. DATED: September 1, 2009 Respectfully submitted, Counsel for Plaintiff James R. Pittman: LITIGATION LAW GROUP By: S/Gordon M. Fauth, Jr.___________ Gordon M. Fauth, Jr. gmf@classlitigation.com 1801 Clement Avenue, Suite 101 Alameda, CA 94501 Tel: (510) 238-9610 Fax: (510) 337-1431 Counsel for Plaintiff Haig P. Ashikian: FINKELSTEIN THOMPSON LLP By: S/Rosemary M. Rivas__________ Rosemary M. Rivas rrivas@finkelsteinthompson.com 100 Bush Street, Suite 1450 San Francisco, CA 94104 Tel: (415) 398-8700 Fax: (415) 398-8704 FINKELSTEIN THOMPSON LLP Burton H. Finkelstein bfinkelstein@finkelsteinthompson.com Mila F. Bartos mbartos@finkelsteinthompson.com Karen J. Marcus kmarcus@finkelthompson.com 1050 30th Street NW Washington, D.C. 20007 Tel: (202) 337-8000 Fax: (202) 337-8090 Administrative Motion to Appear at Case Management Conference by Telephone and [Proposed] Order Case No. M:09-cv-02045-JW -2- 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 LAW OFFICE OF D. JOSHUA STAUB D. Joshua Staub P. O. Box 1914 Santa Monica, CA 90406-1914 Tel: (310) 576-7770 Fax: (310) 496-0702 Counsel for Plaintiffs Peter Keller and William Gillis: THE CONSUMER LAW GROUP By: S/Alan M. Mansfield____________ Alan M. Mansfield alan@clgca.com 9466 Black Mountain Rd., Suite 225 San Diego, CA 92126 Tel: (619) 308-5034 Fax: (888) 341-5048 HIDEN ROTT & OERTLE LLP Michael Ian Rott mrott@hrollp.com David V. Hiden, Jr. dhiden@hrollp.com Eric M. Overholt eoverholt@hrollp.com 2635 Camino Del Rio South, Suite 306 San Diego, CA 92108 Tel: (619) 296-5884 Fax: (619) 296-5171 DOYLE LOWTHER LLP William J. Doyle II bill@doylelowther.com John Lowther john@doylelowther.com James Hail jim@doylelowther.com 9466 Black Mountain Road, Suite 210 San Diego, CA 92126 Tel: (619) 573-1700 Fax: (619) 573-1701 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 Administrative Motion to Appear at Case Management Conference by Telephone and [Proposed] Order Case No. M:09-cv-02045-JW -3- 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 Counsel for Plaintiff Aaron Walters: WHATLEY DRAKE & KALLAS LLC By: S/Adam Plant_________________ Adam Plant aplant@wdklaw.com 2001 Park Place North, Suite 1000 Birmingham, AL 35203 Tel: (205) 328-9576 Fax: (205) 328-0669 Joe R. Whatley, Jr. jwhatley@wdklaw.com 1540 Broadway, 37th Floor New York, NY 10036 Tel: (212) 447-7070 Fax: (212) 447-7077 EMERSON POYNTER LLP Scott E. Poynter scott@emersonpoynter.com Christopher D. Jennings cjennings@emersonpoynter.com Gina M. Dougherty gdougherty@emersonpoynter.com The Museum Center 500 President Clinton Ave., Suite 305 Little Rock, AR 72201 Tel: (501) 907-2555 Fax: (501) 907-2556 EMERSON POYNTER LLP John G. Emerson jemerson@emersonpoynter.com 830 Apollo Lane Houston, TX 77058 Tel: (281) 488-8854 Fax: (281) 488-8867 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 Administrative Motion to Appear at Case Management Conference by Telephone and [Proposed] Order Case No. M:09-cv-02045-JW -4- 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 DOYLE LOWTHER LLP William J. Doyle II bill@doylelowther.com John Lowther john@doylelowther.com James Hail jim@doylelowther.com 9466 Black Mountain Road, Suite 210 San Diego, CA 92126 Tel: (619) 573-1700 Fax: (619) 573-1701 Counsel for Plaintiff Eulardi Tanseco: SCHOENGOLD & SPORN P.C. By: S/Jay P. Saltzman_______________ Jay P. Saltzman jay@spornlaw.com 19 Fulton Street, Suite 406 New York, NY 10038 Tel: (212) 964-0046 Fax: (212) 267-8137 Counsel for Plaintiff Jacob Medway: GLANCY BINKOW & GOLDBERG LLP S/Marc L. Godino______________ Marc L. Godino mgodino@glancylaw.com 1801 Avenue of the Stars, Suite 311 Los Angeles, CA 90067 Tel: (310) 201-9150 Fax: (310) 201-9160 By: 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 Administrative Motion to Appear at Case Management Conference by Telephone and [Proposed] Order Case No. M:09-cv-02045-JW -5- 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 Counsel for Plaintiffs Jessica Alena Smith and Wilton Lee Triggs, II: HENINGER GARRISON DAVIS, LLC By: S/W. Lewis Garrison, Jr._________ W. Lewis Garrison, Jr. lewis@hgdlawfirm.com Brian D. Hancock bdhancock@hgdlawfirm.com Gayle L. Douglas gdouglas@hgdlawfirm.com 2224 First Avenue North Birmingham, AL 35203 Tel: (205) 326-3336 Fax: (205) 326-3332 TRIMMIER LAW FIRM Edward S. Reisinger ereisinger@trimmier.com Haydn M. Trechsel haydnt@trimmier.com Jonathan Lee Kudulis jkudulis@trimmier.com 2737 Highland Avenue Birmingham, AL 35201 Tel: (205) 251-3151 Fax: (205) 322-6444 Counsel for Plaintiffs Timothy Ritchie, Onel Gonzalez, Ron J. Brayteson, Alyce R. Payne, William French and DDA Karen Michaels: FARUQI & FARUQI, LLP By: S/Adam R. Gonnelli_____________ Adam R. Gonnelli agonnelli@faruqilaw.com David H. Leventhal dleventhal@faruqilaw.com Jamie R. Mogil jmogil@faruqilaw.com 369 Lexington Avenue, 10th Floor New York, NY 10017 Tel: (212) 983-9330 Fax: (212) 983-9331 Administrative Motion to Appear at Case Management Conference by Telephone and [Proposed] Order Case No. M:09-cv-02045-JW -6- 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 Counsel for Plaintiff Avi Koschitzki: COUGHLIN STOIA GELLER RUDMAN & ROBBINS, LLP S/Marc Reich___________________ Marc Reich mreich@csgrr.com 58 South Service Rd., Suite 200 Melville, NY 11747 Tel: (631) 367-7100 / Fax: (631) 367-1173 Counsel for Plaintiff Damone Dickerson: CARELLA BYRNE BAIN GILFILLAN CECCHI STEWART & OLSTEIN By: S/James E. Cecchi_______________ James E. Cecchi jcecchi@carellabyrne.com Melissa E. Flax mflax@carellabyrne.com 5 Becker Farm Road Roseland, NJ 07068 Tel: (973) 994-1700 Fax: (973) 994-1744 SEEGER WEISS, LLP Stephen A. Weiss sweiss@seegerweiss.com One William Street New York, NY 10004 Tel: (212) 584-0700 Fax: (212) 584- 0799 By: 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 Administrative Motion to Appear at Case Management Conference by Telephone and [Proposed] Order Case No. M:09-cv-02045-JW -7- 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 IT IS SO ORDERED: [PROPOSED] ORDER The Court DENIES the parties'request for telephonic appearance due to the complexity of the multidistrict ligation before this Court. All counsel of record shall appear for the scheduled case This conference on the court on Plaintiff's Administrative Motion may appear in the managementmatter is before September 21, 2009 at 10:00 AM. Co-counsel to Appear At Caseevent that lead counsel is unavailable after consideration it is found that the Lead should may find Management By Telephone, andto appear for the scheduled conference.motionCounselbe granted. counsel to specially appear on their behalf should no co-counsel be available to appear for the IT IS SO ORDERED conference. This Order also terminates any pending requests for telephonic appearance made in the member cases listed. Dated: ______________________ ___________________________________ Dated: September 16, 2009 Hon. James Ware _______________________ United States District Judge United States District Judge 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 Administrative Motion to Appear at Case Management Conference by Telephone and [Proposed] Order Case No. M:09-cv-02045-JW -8-