Windsor v. The United States Of America

Filing 28

MOTION for Summary Judgment. Document filed by Edith Schlain Windsor.(Ehrlich, Andrew)

Download PDF
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK EDITH SCHLAIN WINDSOR, in her capacity as Executor of the estate of THEA CLARA SPYER, 10 Civ. 8435 (BSJ) (JCF) ECF Case Plaintiff, v. NOTICE OF MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Defendant. PLEASE TAKE NOTICE THAT, upon the pleadings and papers in this matter, Plaintiff Edith Schlain Windsor will move this Court before the Honorable Barbara S. Jones, at a date and time to be determined by the Court, for an order pursuant to Rule 56 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure granting Plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and entering judgment in favor of Plaintiff. Oral argument is respectfully requested. The grounds for this motion are set forth in Plaintiff’s memorandum of law and accompanying papers. Specifically, Plaintiff submits: · Affidavit of Edith Schlain Windsor, dated June 23, 2011, and the exhibits attached thereto, · Affidavit of Andrew J. Ehrlich, dated June 24, 2011, and the exhibits attached thereto, · Affidavits of George Chauncey, Ph.D., Letitia Anne Peplau, Ph.D., Nancy F. Cott, Ph.D., Michael Lamb, Ph.D., and Gary M. Segura, Ph.D., as expert witnesses, · Plaintiff’s Statement Pursuant to Local Rule 56.1, dated June 24, 2011, and · Plaintiff’s Memorandum of Law. Dated: New York, New York June 24, 2011 PAUL, WEISS, RIFKIND, WHARTON & GARRISON LLP /s/ Andrew J. Ehrlich ____________________________________ Roberta A. Kaplan, Esq. Andrew J. Ehrlich, Esq. 1285 Avenue of the Americas New York, New York 10019-6064 (212) 373-3000 rkaplan@paulweiss.com aehrlich@paulweiss.com – and – James D. Esseks, Esq. Rose A. Saxe, Esq. AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION FOUNDATION 125 Broad Street New York, New York 10004-2400 (212) 549-2500 jesseks@aclu.org rsaxe@aclu.org – and – Melissa Goodman, Esq. Alexis Karteron, Esq. Arthur Eisenberg, Esq. NEW YORK CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION FOUNDATION 125 Broad Street, 19th Floor New York, New York 10004 (212) 607-3300 mgoodman@nyclu.org akarteron@nyclu.org aeisenberg@nyclu.org Attorneys for Plaintiff Edith Schlain Windsor 2