Windsor v. The United States Of America

Filing 52

MOTION to Dismiss. Document filed by Bipartisan Legal Advisory Group of the U.S. House of Representatives.(Kircher, Kerry)

Download PDF
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK ____________________________________ ) EDITH SCHLAIN WINDSOR, in her ) capacity as executor of the estate of ) THEA CLARA SPYER, ) ) Plaintiff, ) ) v. ) ) THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ) ) Defendant. ) ___________________________________ ) Civil Action No. 10-CV-8435 (BSJ)(JCF) INTERVENOR-DEFENDANT’S MOTION TO DISMISS Intervenor-Defendant, the Bipartisan Legal Advisory Group of the U.S. House of Representatives, through its undersigned counsel, hereby moves to dismiss this action pursuant to Rule 12(b)(1) and 12(b)(6) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. To the extent that this Court finds that Plaintiff has standing, this action should be dismissed for failure to state a claim upon which relief can be granted. The grounds for this motion are more fully set forth in the accompanying Memorandum. Respectfully submitted, /s/ Paul D. Clement Paul D. Clement H. Christopher Bartolomucci Conor B. Dugan Nicholas J. Nelson BANCROFT PLLC 1919 M Street, Northwest, Suite 470 Washington, District of Columbia 20036 Telephone: (202) 234-0090 Facsimile: (202) 234-2806 Counsel for the Bipartisan Legal Advisory Group of the U.S. House of Representatives OF COUNSEL: Kerry W. Kircher, General Counsel Christine Davenport, Senior Assistant Counsel Katherine E. McCarron, Assistant Counsel William Pittard, Assistant Counsel Kirsten W. Konar, Assistant Counsel OFFICE OF GENERAL COUNSEL U.S. House of Representatives 219 Cannon House Office Building Washington, District of Columbia 20515 Telephone: (202) 225-9700 Facsimile: (202) 226-1360 August 1, 2011 2 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE I certify that on August 1, 2011, I served one copy of Intervenor-Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss by CM/ECF and by electronic mail (.pdf format) on the following: Roberta A. Kaplan, Esquire, & Andrew J. Ehrlich, Esquire PAUL, WEISS, RIFKIND, WHARTON & GARRISON LLP 1285 Avenue of the Americas New York City, New York 10019-6064 rkaplan@paulweiss.com aehrlich@paulweiss.com Alexis Karteron, Esquire, & Arthur Eisenberg, Esquire NEW YORK CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION FOUNDATION 125 Broad Street, 19th Floor New York City, New York 10004 akarteron@nyclu.org arteisenberg@nyclu.org James D. Esseks, Esquire, Melissa Goodman, Esquire, & Rose A. Saxe, Esquire AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION FOUNDATION 125 Broad Street New York City, New York 10004 jesseks@aclu.org mgoodman@nyclu.org rsaxe@aclu.org Jean Lin, Esquire UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE, CIVIL DIVISION 20 Massachusetts Avenue, Northwest, Seventh Floor Washington, District of Columbia 20530 jean.lin@usdoj.gov Simon Heller, Esquire STATE OF NEW YORK OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL 120 Broadway New York City, New York 10271 simon.heller@ag.ny.gov /s/ Kerry W. Kircher Kerry W. Kircher