Bedrock Computer Technologies, LLC v. Softlayer Technologies, Inc. et al

Filing 555

Joint MOTION to Amend/Correct Docket Control Order by AOL Inc, Amazon.com Inc., Bedrock Computer Technologies, LLC, Google Inc., Match.Com LLC, MySpace Inc., Softlayer Technologies, Inc., Yahoo! Inc.. (Attachments: # 1 Text of Proposed Order)(Gardner, Allen)

Bedrock Computer Technologies, LLC v. Softlayer Technologies, Inc. et al Doc. 555 IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT EASTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS TYLER DIVISION BEDROCK COMPUTER TECHNOLOGIES LLC, Plaintiff, v. SOFTLAYER TECHNOLOGIES, INC., et al. Defendants. ) ) ) ) ) ) ) ) ) ) ) ) CASE NO. 6:09-CV-00269 JURY TRIAL DEMANDED JOINT MOTION TO AMEND DOCKET CONTROL ORDER Plaintiff Bedrock Computer Technologies, LLC and Defendants Softlayer Technologies, Inc., Google Inc., Yahoo! Inc., MySpace, Inc., Amazon.com Inc., Match.com, LLC, and AOL Inc. ("Parties") hereby request that the Court amend its February 3, 2010 Docket Control Order (Doc. 174) and subsequent amendments thereto as follows: Event Current Deadline Proposed Extended Deadline Pretrial Disclosures due (including exhibit lists). Video and Stenographic Deposition Designation due. Each party who proposes to offer deposition testimony shall file a disclosure identifying the line and page numbers to be offered. March 8, 2011 March 11, 2011 01980.51572/4002204.1 1 Dockets.Justia.com Event Joint Pretrial Order, Joint Proposed Jury Instructions with citation to authority and Form of the Verdict for jury trials due. Proposed Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law with citation to authority for issues tried to the bench. Rebuttal Designations and Objections to Deposition Testimony due. For rebuttal designations, cross examination line and page numbers to be included. In video depositions, each party is responsible for preparation of the final edited video in accordance with their parties' designations and the Court's rulings on objections. Pretrial Objections due (including objections to exhibit lists). Objections to Rebuttal Deposition Testimony due. Current Deadline Proposed Extended Deadline March 8, 2011 March 11, 2011 March 15, 2011 March 18, 2011 March 15, 2011 March 21, 2011 March 18, 2011 March 22, 2011 These extensions are not requested for purpose of delay and do not affect the current trial setting. In light of the Court's March 2, 2011 Order Setting Trial Procedure, the parties will submit two sets of the forgoing materials (pre-trial order, exhibit list, deposition designations and jury instructions): one set for the trial with Google Inc. and Match.com and one set for any later trial involving Softlayer Technologies, Inc., Yahoo! Inc., MySpace, Inc., Amazon.com Inc., and AOL Inc. WHEREFORE, PREMISES CONSIDERED, Plaintiff and Defendants respectfully move that the Court grant this Joint Motion to Amend the Docket Control Order and extend the deadlines as set forth above and in the attached proposed order. 01980.51572/4002204.1 2 Dated: March 8, 2011 Respectfully submitted, /s/ Allen F. Gardner Michael E. Jones State Bar No. 10929400 Allen Gardner State Bar No. 24043679 Patrick C. Clutter State Bar No. 24036374 Potter Minton, P.C. 110 N. College Ave., Ste. 500 Tyler, Texas 75702 Tel: (903) 597-8311 Fax: (903) 593-0846 mikejones@potterminton.com allengardner@potterminton.com patrickclutter@potterminton.com Claude M. Stern claudestern@quinnemanuel.com Evette D. Pennypacker evettepennypacker@quinnemanuel.com Todd M. Briggs toddbriggs@quinnemanuel.com Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan 555 Twin Dolphin Dr., 5th Floor Redwood Shores, CA 94065 650/801-5002 Fax: 650-801-5100 ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANT GOOGLE INC. AND MATCH.COM, LLC. 01980.51572/4002204.1 3 /s/ Alan L. Whitehurst (with permission by Allen F. Gardner) Alan L. Whitehurst alan.whitehurst@alston.com Marissa R. Ducca marissa.ducca@alston.com Thomas W Davison tom.davison@alston.com ALSTON & BIRD LLP The Atlantic Building 950 F Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20004 Telephone: (202) 756-3300 Facsimile: (202) 756-3333 Jason Woodard Cook jason.cook@alston.com Michael J. Newton mike.newton@alston.com Stacey Garrett White stacey.white@alston.com Alston & Bird, LLP 2200 Ross Ave., Ste. 3601 Dallas, TX 75201 214/922-3407 Fax: 214/922-3899 Frank G. Smith frank.smith@alston.com ALSTON & BIRD LLP One Atlantic Center 1201 West Peachtree Street Atlanta, GA 30309 Telephone: (404) 881-7240 Facsimile: (404) 256-8184 Louis A Karasik lou.karasik@alston.com Rachel M Capoccia rachel.capoccia@alston.com Alston & Bird LLP - Los Angeles 333 South Hope Street, 16th Floor Los Angeles, CA 90071 213/576-1000 Fax: 213/576-1100 01980.51572/4002204.1 4 Michael E. Jones State Bar No. 10929400 Potter Minton, P.C. 110 N. College Ave., Ste. 500 Tyler, Texas 75702 Tel: (903) 597-8311 Fax: (903) 593-0846 mikejones@potterminton.com ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANTS MYSPACE INC. AND AOL INC. /s/ Faye E. Morisseau (with permission by Allen F. Gardner) Fay E. Morisseau (Texas Bar No. 14460750) fmorisseau@mwe.com MCDERMOTT WILL & EMERY LLP 1000 Louisiana, Suite 1300 Houston, TX 77002 Telephone: 713.653.1700 Facsimile: 713.739.7592 Yar R. Chaikovsky ychaikovsky@mwe.com John A. Lee jlee@mwe.com Bryan K. James bjames@mwe.com MCDERMOTT WILL & EMERY LLP 275 Middlefield Rd., Suite 100 Menlo Park, CA 94025 Tel: 650.815.7400 Fax: (650) 815-7401 Christopher D. Bright cbright@mwe.com MCDERMOTT WILL & EMERY LLP 18191 Von Karman Ave, Ste. 500 Irvine, California 92612 Tel: 949.757.7178 Fax: 949.851.9348 01980.51572/4002204.1 5 Natalie A. Bennett nbennett@mwe.com MCDERMOTT WILL & EMERY LLP 227 West Monroe Chicago, IL 60614 Tel: 312.984.7631 Fax: 312.984.7700 Jennifer Doan Texas Bar No. 08809050 jdoan@haltomdoan.com J. Scott Andrews Texas Bar No. 24064823 sandrews@haltomdoan.com HALTOM & DOAN Crown Executive Center, Suite 100 6500 Summerhill Rd. Texarkana, Texas 75503 Tel: 903.255.1002 Fax: 903.255.0800 ATTORNEY FOR DEFENDANT YAHOO! INC. /s/ E. Danielle T. Williams (with permission by Allen F. Gardner) Steven Gardner sgardner@kilpatrickstockton.com E. Danielle T. Williams dtwilliams@kilpatrickstockton.com Alton Absher, III aabsher@kilpatrickstockton.com John C. Alemanni jalemanni@kilpatrickstockton.com KILPATRICK STOCKTON LLP 1001 West 4th Street Winston-Salem, NC 27104 Telephone: (336) 607-7300 Fax: (336) 607-7500 01980.51572/4002204.1 6 Russell A. Korn rkorn@kilpatrickstockton.com William H. Boice bboice@kilpatrickstockton.com KILPATRICK STOCKTON LLP 1100 Peachtree St., Ste 2800 Atlanta, GA 30309-4530 404/815-6500 Fax: 404/815-6555 Paul V. Storm paulstorm@stormllp.com Anthony P. Miller amiller@stormllp.com Steven Scott Pershern spershern@stormllp.com STORM LLP 901 Main Street, Suite 7100 Dallas, TX 75202 214-347-4700 Fax: 214-347-4799 J. Thad Heartfield thad@jth-law.com M. Dru Montgomery dru@jth-law.com The Heartfield Law Firm 2195 Dowlen Rd Beaumont, TX 77706 409/866-3318 Fax: 14098665789 ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANTS SOFTLAYER TECHNOLOGIES, INC. AND AMAZON.COM, INC. /s/ Sam F. Baxter (w/ permission by Allen F. Gardner) Sam F. Baxter, Lead Attorney Texas Bar No. 01938000 McKOOL SMITH, P.C. sbaxter@mckoolsmith.com 104 E. Houston Street, Suite 300 P.O. Box 0 Marshall, Texas 75670 Telephone: (903) 923-9000 Facsimile: (903) 923-9099 01980.51572/4002204.1 7 Douglas A. Cawley Texas Bar No. 04035500 dcawley@mckoolsmith.com Theodore Stevenson, III Texas Bar No. 19196650 tstevenson@mckoolsmith.com J. Austin Curry Texas Bar No. 24059636 acurry@mckoolsmith.com McKOOL SMITH, P.C. 300 Crescent Court, Suite 1500 Dallas, Texas 75201 Telephone: 214-978-4000 Facsimile: 214-978-4044 Robert M. Parker Texas Bar No. 15498000 Robert Christopher Bunt Texas Bar No. 00787165 PARKER, BUNT & AINSWORTH, P.C. 100 E. Ferguson, Suite 1114 Tyler, Texas 75702 Telephone: 903-531-3535 Facsimile: 903-533-9687 E-mail: rmparker@pbatyler.com E-mail: rcbunt@pbatyler.com ATTORNEYS FOR PLAINTIFF BEDROCK COMPUTER TECHNOLOGIES LLC CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE The undersigned hereby certifies that all counsel of record who are deemed to have consented to electronic service are being served with a copy of this document via the Court's CM/ECF system per Local Rule CV-5(a)(3) on March 8, 2011. Any other counsel of record will be served by First Class U.S. mail on this same date. /s/ Allen F. Gardner Allen F. Gardner 01980.51572/4002204.1 8