Bedrock Computer Technologies, LLC v. Softlayer Technologies, Inc. et al

Filing 599

Proposed Jury Instructions by Bedrock Computer Technologies, LLC. (Attachments: # 1 Exhibit A, # 2 Exhibit B, # 3 Appendix A to Exhibit B, # 4 Appendix B to Exhibit B, # 5 Exhibit C, # 6 Exhibit D, # 7 Exhibit E, # 8 Exhibit F)(Cawley, Douglas)

Bedrock Computer Technologies, LLC v. Softlayer Technologies, Inc. et al Doc. 599 IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS TYLER DIVISION BEDROCK COMPUTER TECHNOLOGIES LLC, Plaintiff, v. SOFTLAYER TECHNOLOGIES, INC., CITIWARE TECHNOLOGY SOLUTIONS, LLC, GOOGLE INC., YAHOO! INC., MYSPACE INC., AMAZON.COM INC., PAYPAL INC., MATCH.COM, LLC, AOL LLC, AND CME GROUP INC., Defendants. CASE NO. 6:09-CV-269-LED Jury Trial Demanded JOINT SUBMISSION OF JURY MATERIALS FOR SECOND TRIAL Plaintiff Bedrock Computer Technologies LLC ("Plaintiff") and Softlayer Technologies, Inc., Yahoo! Inc., MySpace, Inc., Amazon.com Inc., AOL Inc., and ("Defendants"), hereby submit the following jury materials: Attached as Exhibit A hereto are the parties' Joint Proposed Preliminary Jury Instructions, with bracketed and highlighted individual proposals. Attached as Exhibit B hereto are the parties' Joint Proposed Final Jury Instructions, with bracketed and highlighted individual proposals. Attached as Exhibit C hereto is Plaintiff's Proposed Verdict Form. Attached as Exhibit D hereto is Defendants' Proposed Verdict Form. Attached as Exhibit E hereto is Plaintiff's Proposed Instruction on Willfulness. Dockets.Justia.com Attached as Exhibit F hereto is Plaintiff's Proposed Verdict Form on Willfulness. The parties reserve the right to amend, supplement, or modify these proposed jury materials as the case proceeds toward the final pre-trial conference and trial, and as the parties continue to meet and confer regarding these materials. Additionally, the parties do not waive any objections to issues that are the subject of pending motions, including Daubert motions, motions to strike, motions for summary judgment, and motions in limine. 2 Dallas 320121v1 DATED: March 15, 2011. Respectfully submitted, McKOOL SMITH, P.C. /s/ Douglas A. Cawley Douglas A. Cawley, Lead Attorney Texas State Bar No. 04035500 dcawley@mckoolsmith.com Theodore Stevenson, III Texas State Bar No. 19196650 tstevenson@mckoolsmith.com Rosemary T. Snider Texas Bar No. 18796500 rsnider@mckoolsmith.com Scott W. Hejny Texas Bar No. 24038952 shejny@mckoolsmith.com Jason D. Cassady Texas Bar No. 24045625 jcassady@mckoolsmith.com J. Austin Curry Texas Bar No. 24059636 jcurry@mckoolsmith.com Phillip M. Aurentz Texas State Bar No. 24059404 paurentz@mckoolsmith.com MCKOOL SMITH, P.C. 300 Crescent Court, Suite 1500 Dallas, Texas 75201 (214) 978-4000 (214) 978-4044 FAX Sam F. Baxter Texas State Bar No. 01938000 sbaxter@mckoolsmith.com MCKOOL SMITH, P.C. 104 E. Houston St., Suite 300 Marshall, TX 75670 (903) 923-9000 (903) 923-9099 FAX 3 Dallas 320121v1 Robert M. Parker Texas Bar No. 15498000 Robert Christopher Bunt Texas Bar No. 00787165 PARKER BUNT & AINSWORTH, P.C. 100 E. Ferguson, Suite 1114 Tyler, Texas 75702 Telephone: 903-531-3535 Facsimile: 903-533-9687 E-mail: rmparker@pbatyler.com E-mail: rcbunt@pbatyler.com ATTORNEYS FOR PLAINTIFF BEDROCK COMPUTER TECHNOLOGIES LLC /s/William H. Boice (with permission by Douglas A. Cawley) William H. Boice Russell A. Korn KILPATRICK TOWNSEND & STOCKTON LLP Suite 2800 1100 Peachtree Street Atlanta, GA 30309-4530 Telephone: 404-815-6500 Fax: 404-815-6555 Steven Garner E. Danielle T. Williams John C. Alemanni KILPATRICK TOWNSEND & STOCKTON LLP 1001 West 4th Street Winston-Salem, NC 27101 Telephone: 336-607-7300 Fax: 336-607-7500 4 Dallas 320121v1 J. Thad Heartfield Texas Bar No. 09346800 thad@jth-law.com M. Dru Montgomery Texas Bar No. 24010800 dru@jth-law.com THE HEARTFIELD LAW FIRM 2195 Dowlen Road Beaumont, TX 77706 Telephone: 409-866-2800 Fax: 409-866-5789 ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANT SOFTLAYER TECHNOLOGIES, INC. and AMAZON.COM, INC. /s/Frank G. Smith (with permission by Douglas A. Cawley) Frank G. Smith frank.smith@alston.com ALSTON & BIRD LLP One Atlantic Center 1201 West Peachtree Street Atlanta, GA 30309 Telephone: 404-881-7240 Fax: 404-256-8184 Alan L. Whitehurst alan.whitehurst@alston.com Marissa R. Ducca marissa.ducca@alston.com ALSTON & BIRD LLP The Atlantic Building 950 F Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20004 Telephone: 202-756-3300 Fax: 202-756-3333 Louis A. Karasik (pro hac vice) lou.karasik@alston.com Rachel M. Capoccia rachel.capoccia@alston.com ALSTON & BIRD LLP 333 South Hope Street, 16th Floor Los Angeles, CA 90071 5 Dallas 320121v1 Telephone: 213-576-1148 Fax: 213-576-1100 Deron R. Dacus Texas Bar No. 00790553 ddacus@rameyflock.com RAMEY & FLOCK, P.C. 100 East Ferguson, Suite 500 Tyler, TX 75702 Telephone: 903-597-3301 Fax: 903-597-2413 ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANT MYSPACE, INC. AND AOL INC. /s/Fay Morisseau (with permission by Douglas A. Cawley) Fay Morisseau Christopher D. Bright Cal. Bar No. 206273 MCDERMOTT WILL & EMERY LLP 18191 Von Karman Ave., Ste. 500 Irvine, California 92612 Tel.: 949-757-7178 Fax: 949-851-9348 E-mail: fmorisseau@mwe.com E-mail: cbright@mwe.com Yar R. Chaikovsky California State Bar No. 1715421 John A. Lee California State Bar No. 229911 MCDERMOTT WILL & EMERY LLP 275 Middlefield Road, Suite 100 Menlo Park, CA 94025 Tel.: 650-815-7400 Fax: 650-815-7401 E-mail: ychaikovsky@mwe.com E-mail: jlee@mwe.com 6 Dallas 320121v1 Jennifer H. Doan TX Bar No. 08809050 HALTOM & DOAN 6500 Summerhill Road, Suite 100 Texarkana, TX 75503 Telephone: 903-255-1000 Facsimile: 903-255-0800 E-mail: jdoan@haltomdoan.com ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANT YAHOO! INC. 7 Dallas 320121v1 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE The undersigned certifies, on March 15, 2011, the foregoing document was filed electronically in compliance with Local Rule CV-5(a). As such, this notice was served on all counsel who have consented to electronic service. Local Rule CV-5(a)(3)(A). /s/Douglas A. Cawley Douglas A. Cawley 8 Dallas 320121v1