Bedrock Computer Technologies, LLC v. Softlayer Technologies, Inc. et al

Filing 622

NOTICE by AOL Inc, Amazon.com Inc., Google Inc., MySpace Inc., Softlayer Technologies, Inc., Yahoo! Inc. - Defendants' Notice of Estimated Trial Time (Williams, E Danielle)

Bedrock Computer Technologies, LLC v. Softlayer Technologies, Inc. et al Doc. 622 IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT EASTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS TYLER DIVISION BEDROCK COMPUTER TECHNOLOGIES LLC, Plaintiff, v. SOFTLAYER TECHNOLOGIES, INC., et al. Defendants. ) ) ) ) ) ) ) ) ) ) ) ) CASE NO. 6:09-CV-00269 JURY TRIAL DEMANDED DEFENDANTS' NOTICE OF ESTIMATED TRIAL TIME Defendants Google Inc., SoftLayer Technologies, Inc., Yahoo! Inc., MySpace, Inc., Amazon.com Inc. and AOL Inc. ("Defendants") hereby submit their estimate of the amount of time requested for jury selection and trial in this matter. Specifically, Defendants propose the following time limits per side: Trial 1 with Google1 (1) (2) (3) (4) Voir Dire - 30 minutes Opening Statements - 45 minutes Direct and Cross Examination - 15 hours Closing Arguments - 1 hour 1 Match.com was originally paired with Google for the first trial, and has notified the parties that it has settled. 1 US2008 2425405.1 Dockets.Justia.com Trial 2 with SoftLayer, Yahoo!, MySpace, Amazon and AOL2 (1) (2) (3) (4) Voir Dire - 50 minutes Opening Statements - 1 hour Direct and Cross Examination - 22 hours Closing Arguments - 1 hour Dated: March 21, 2011 Respectfully submitted, E. Danielle T. Williams Steven Gardner sgardner@kilpatricktownsend.com E. Danielle T. Williams dtwilliams@ kilpatricktownsend.com John C. Alemanni jalemanni@ kilpatricktownsend.com KILPATRICK TOWNSEND & STOCKTON LLP 1001 West 4th Street Winston-Salem, NC 27101 Telephone: (336) 607-7300 Fax: (336) 607-7500 William H. Boice bboice@ kilpatricktownsend.com Russell A. Korn rkorn@ kilpatricktownsend.com KILPATRICK TOWNSEND & STOCKTON LLP 1100 Peachtree St., Ste 2800 Atlanta, GA 30309-4530 404/815-6500 Fax: 404/815-6555 2 MySpace and AOL filed a Motion for a Separate Trial Pursuant to Magistrate Judge Love's Trial Plan Order (Dkt. No. 540). If that motion is granted, and MySpace and AOL are tried alone, AOL and MySpace estimate Voir Dire to be 50 minutes, opening and closing statements to be 1.5 hours combined per side, and 15 hours per side for direct and cross examination. 2 US2008 2425405.1 J. Thad Heartfield thad@jth-law.com M. Dru Montgomery dru@jth-law.com THE HEARTFIELD LAW FIRM 2195 Dowlen Rd Beaumont, TX 77706 409/866-3318 Fax: 14098665789 ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANTS SOFTLAYER TECHNOLOGIES, INC. AND AMAZON.COM, INC. /s/ Alan L. Whitehurst (with permission by E. Danielle T. Williams) Alan L. Whitehurst alan.whitehurst@alston.com Marissa R. Ducca marissa.ducca@alston.com ALSTON & BIRD LLP The Atlantic Building 950 F Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20004 Telephone: (202) 756-3300 Facsimile: (202) 756-3333 Frank G. Smith frank.smith@alston.com ALSTON & BIRD LLP One Atlantic Center 1201 West Peachtree Street Atlanta, GA 30309 Telephone: (404) 881-7240 Facsimile: (404) 256-8184 Louis A Karasik lou.karasik@alston.com Rachel M Capoccia rachel.capoccia@alston.com Alston & Bird LLP - Los Angeles 333 South Hope Street, 16th Floor Los Angeles, CA 90071 213/576-1000 Fax: 213/576-1100 3 US2008 2425405.1 Deron R. Dacus Texas Bar No. 00790553 ddacus&rameyflock.com RAMEY & FLOCK, P.C. 100 East Ferguson, Suite 500 Tyler, TX 75702 Telephone: (903) 597-3301 Facsimile: (903) 597-2413 ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANTS MYSPACE INC. AND AOL INC. /s/ Faye E. Morisseau (with permission by E. Danielle T. Williams) Fay E. Morisseau (Texas Bar No. 14460750) fmorisseau@mwe.com MCDERMOTT WILL & EMERY LLP 1000 Louisiana, Suite 1300 Houston, TX 77002 Telephone: 713.653.1700 Facsimile: 713.739.7592 Yar R. Chaikovsky ychaikovsky@mwe.com John A. Lee jlee@mwe.com Bryan K. James bjames@mwe.com MCDERMOTT WILL & EMERY LLP 275 Middlefield Rd., Suite 100 Menlo Park, CA 94025 Tel: 650.815.7400 Fax: (650) 815-7401 Christopher D. Bright cbright@mwe.com MCDERMOTT WILL & EMERY LLP 18191 Von Karman Ave, Ste. 500 Irvine, California 92612 Tel: 949.757.7178 Fax: 949.851.9348 4 US2008 2425405.1 Natalie A. Bennett nbennett@mwe.com MCDERMOTT WILL & EMERY LLP 227 West Monroe Chicago, IL 60614 Tel: 312.984.7631 Fax: 312.984.7700 Jennifer Doan Texas Bar No. 08809050 jdoan@haltomdoan.com J. Scott Andrews Texas Bar No. 24064823 sandrews@haltomdoan.com HALTOM & DOAN Crown Executive Center, Suite 100 6500 Summerhill Rd. Texarkana, Texas 75503 Tel: 903.255.1002 Fax: 903.255.0800 ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANT YAHOO! INC. /s/Evette D. Pennypacker (with permission by E. Danielle T. Williams) Claude M. Stern claudestern@quinnemanuel.com Evette D. Pennypacker evettepennypacker@quinnemanuel.com Todd M. Briggs toddbrigs@quinnemanuel.com QUINN EMANUEL URQUHART & SULLIVAN, LLP 555 Twin Dolphin Dr., 5th Floor Redwood Shores, CA 94065 Telephone: 650-801-5000 Facsimile: 650-801-5100 5 US2008 2425405.1 Michael E. Jones mikejones@potterminton.com Texas State Bar No. 10929400 POTTER MINTON, PC 110 n. College Tyler, Texas 75702 Telephone: (903) 597-8311 Facsimile: (903) 593-0846 ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANT GOOGLE INC. CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE The undersigned hereby certifies that all counsel of record who are deemed to have consented to electronic service are being served with a copy of this document via the Court's CM/ECF system per Local Rule CV-5(a)(3) on March 21, 2011. Any other counsel of record will be served by First Class U.S. mail on this same date. /s/ E. Danielle T. Williams E. Danielle T. Williams 6 US2008 2425405.1