Bedrock Computer Technologies, LLC v. Softlayer Technologies, Inc. et al

Filing 637

Agreed MOTION in Limine (Agreed Motions in Limine) by AOL Inc, Amazon.com Inc., Bedrock Computer Technologies, LLC, Google Inc., Match.Com LLC, MySpace Inc., Softlayer Technologies, Inc., Yahoo! Inc.. (Attachments: # 1 Text of Proposed Order)(Doan, Jennifer)

Bedrock Computer Technologies, LLC v. Softlayer Technologies, Inc. et al Doc. 637 IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS TYLER DIVISION BEDROCK COMPUTER TECHNOLOGIES LLC, Plaintiff, v. SOFTLAYER TECHNOLOGIES, INC., CITIWARE TECHNOLOGY SOLUTIONS, LLC, GOOGLE INC., YAHOO! INC., MYSPACE INC., AMAZON.COM INC., PAYPAL INC., MATCH.COM, INC., AOL LLC, AND CME GROUP INC., Defendants. CASE NO. 6:09-cv-269-LED Jury Trial Demanded AGREED MOTIONS IN LIMINE Plaintiff, Bedrock Computer Technologies LLC ("Bedrock" or "Plaintiff"), and Defendants SoftLayer Technologies, Inc. ("SoftLayer"), Google Inc., Yahoo! Inc. ("Yahoo!"), MySpace, Inc. ("MySpace"), Amazon.com Inc. ("Amazon"), Match.com, Inc. and AOL Inc. ("AOL") (collectively "Defendants") have agreed to certain motions in limine and seek an Order instructing counsel and all witnesses called by or on behalf of either party not to mention, discuss, or allude to any of the following issues, whether in voir dire, opening statement, examination of witnesses, offering of evidence, interposing or arguing objections, eliciting testimony, closing argument, or any other manner: (1) The Parties agree not to refer to, mention, elicit or argue any evidence or testimony, concerning company firings and/or lay offs as a result of this litigation and/or damages awards. AGREED MOTIONS IN LIMINE Page 1 Dockets.Justia.com (2) The Parties agree not to refer to, mention, elicit or argue any evidence or testimony, concerning the possible issuance of an injunction, award of treble damages, or an award of attorney's fees. (3) The Parties agree not to refer to, mention, elicit or argue any evidence or testimony suggesting that Bedrock must establish that the Defendants copied in order to prove infringement, except that Defendants can point out that they were not notified of the '120 patent before the lawsuit, and Bedrock agrees not to suggest that Defendants have copied the '120 patent. This agreement does not apply to any trial on willfulness. In any trial on willfulness, the Parties will address the admissibility of this evidence with the Court. (4) The Parties agree that religion is not relevant to any issues in the case, and the Parties agree not to refer to, mention, elicit or offer evidence or testimony of any kind mentioning the religion of any particular individuals, including making any general references to religion or religious figures or symbols. (5) The Parties agree that except when needed to do so to explain a denial of service attack of any kind, Bedrock will not to refer to, mention or offer evidence of any kind regarding instances in which third parties have used or attempted to use the Defendants' websites for any kind of unlawful or immoral purposes. (6) The Parties agree not to refer to, mention, elicit or argue any evidence or testimony concerning any discovery disputes, any of the Court's or Magistrate Judge's orders or recommendations on discovery disputes, or any allegations of misconduct, including with respect to any third parties so long as neither party references the character of Mikhail Lotvin. Nothing in this stipulation prevents the defendants from referencing Mr. Lotvin's employment relationship with HP or Bedrock's alleged covenant not to sue with HP. This agreement does not AGREED MOTIONS IN LIMINE Page 2 extend to evidence or argument covered by Defendants' proposed motion in limine #13 or Plaintiff's proposed motion in limine D. PURSUANT TO THE PARTIES' AGREEMENT AND FOR THE ABOVE REASONS, the Parties respectfully request the Court to enter an Order instructing counsel and all witnesses called by or on behalf of either party not to mention, discuss, or allude to any of the above issues, whether in voir dire, opening statement, examination of witnesses, offering of evidence, interposing or arguing objections, eliciting testimony, closing argument, or any other manner. Dated: March 22, 2011. Respectfully submitted, /s/ Douglas A. Cawley ________ Douglas A. Cawley, Lead Attorney Texas Bar No. 04035500 dcawley@mckoolsmith.com Theodore Stevenson, III Texas Bar No. 19196650 tstevenson@mckoolsmith.com Rosemary T. Snider Texas Bar No. 18796500 rsnider@mckoolsmith.com Scott W. Hejny Texas State Bar No. 24038952 shejny@mckoolsmith.com Jason D. Cassady Texas Bar No. 24045625 jcassady@mckoolsmith.com J. Austin Curry Texas Bar No. 24059636 acurry@mckoolsmith.com Phillip M. Aurentz Texas State Bar No. 24059404 paurentz@mckoolsmith.com McKOOL SMITH, P.C. 300 Crescent Court, Suite 1500 Dallas, Texas 75201 Telephone: 214-978-4000 Facsimile: 214-978-4044 AGREED MOTIONS IN LIMINE Page 3 Sam F. Baxter Texas Bar No. 01938000 McKOOL SMITH, P.C. sbaxter@mckoolsmith.com 104 E. Houston Street, Suite 300 P.O. Box 0 Marshall, Texas 75670 Telephone: (903) 923-9000 Facsimile: (903) 923-9099 Robert M. Parker Texas Bar No. 15498000 Robert Christopher Bunt Texas Bar No. 00787165 PARKER, BUNT & AINSWORTH, P.C. 100 E. Ferguson, Suite 1114 Tyler, Texas 75702 Telephone: 903-531-3535 Facsimile: 903-533-9687 E-mail: rmparker@pbatyler.com E-mail: rcbunt@pbatyler.com ATTORNEYS FOR PLAINTIFF BEDROCK COMPUTER TECHNOLOGIES LLC /s/Claude M. Stern Claude M. Stern claudestern@quinnemanuel.com Evette D. Pennypacker evettepennypacker@quinnemanuel.com Todd M. Briggs toddbriggs@quinnemanuel.com QUINN EMANUEL URQUHART & SULLIVAN, LLP 555 Twin Dolphin Dr., 5th Floor Redwood Shores, CA 94065 Telephone: 650-801-5000 Facsimile: 650-801-5100 AGREED MOTIONS IN LIMINE Page 4 Michael E. Jones mikejones@potterminton.com Texas State Bar No. 10929400 POTTER MINTON, PC 110 N. College Tyler, Texas 75702 Telephone: (903) 597-8311 Facsimile: (903) 593-0846 ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANT GOOGLE INC. AND MATCH.COM, INC. /s/ William H. Boice William H. Boice bboice@kilpatricktownsend.com Russell A. Korn rkorn@kilpatricktownsend.com KILPATRICK TOWNSEND & STOCKTON LLP Suite 2800 1100 Peachtree Street Atlanta, GA 30309-4530 Telephone: 404-815-6500 Fax: 404-815-6555 Steven Gardner sgardner@kilpatricktownsend.com E. Danielle T. Williams dtwilliams@kilpatricktownsend.com John C. Alemanni jalemanni@kilpatricktownsend.com KILPATRICK TOWNSEND & STOCKTON LLP 1001 West 4th Street Winston-Salem, NC 27101 Telephone: 336-607-7300 Fax: 336-607-7500 AGREED MOTIONS IN LIMINE Page 5 J. Thad Heartfield Texas Bar No. 09346800 thad@jth-law.com M. Dru Montgomery Texas Bar No. 24010800 dru@jth-law.com THE HEARTFIELD LAW FIRM 2195 Dowlen Road Beaumont, TX 77706 Telephone: 409-866-2800 Fax: 409-866-5789 ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANT SOFTLAYER TECHNOLOGIES, INC. AND AMAZON.COM, INC. /s/ Frank G. Smith Frank G. Smith frank.smith@alston.com ALSTON & BIRD LLP One Atlantic Center 1201 West Peachtree Street Atlanta, GA 30309 Telephone: (404) 881-7240 Facsimile: (404) 256-8184 Alan L. Whitehurst alan.whitehurst@alston.com Marissa R. Ducca marissa.ducca@alston.com ALSTON & BIRD LLP The Atlantic Building 950 F Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20004 Telephone: (202) 756-3300 Facsimile: (202) 756-3333 AGREED MOTIONS IN LIMINE Page 6 Louis A. Karasik (pro hac vice) lou.karasik@alston.com Rachel M. Capoccia rachel.capoccia@alston.com ALSTON & BIRD LLP 333 South Hope Street, 16th Floor Los Angeles, CA 90071 Telephone: (213) 576-1148 Facsimile: (213) 576-1100 Deron R. Dacus Texas Bar No. 00790553 ddacus@rameyflock.com RAMEY & FLOCK, P.C. 100 East Ferguson, Suite 500 Tyler, TX 75702 Telephone: (903) 597-3301 Facsimile: (903) 597-2413 ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANT MYSPACE INC. AND AOL INC. /s/ Fay E. Morisseau Fay E. Morisseau (Texas Bar No. 14460750) fmorisseau@mwe.com MCDERMOTT WILL & EMERY LLP 1000 Louisiana, Suite 1300 Houston, TX 77002 Tel: 713.653.1700 Fax: 713.739.7592 Yar R. Chaikovsky John A. Lee MCDERMOTT WILL & EMERY LLP 275 Middlefield Road, Suite 100 Menlo Park, CA 94025 Tel: 650.815.7400 Fax: 650.815.7401 E-mail: ychaikovsky@mwe.com E-mail: jlee@mwe.com AGREED MOTIONS IN LIMINE Page 7 Christopher D. Bright MCDERMOTT WILL & EMERY LLP 18191 Von Karman Ave, Ste. 500 Irvine, California 92612 Tel: 949.757.7178 Fax: 949.851.9348 E-mail: cbright@mwe.com Natalie Bennett MCDERMOTT WILL & EMERY LLP 227 West Monroe Street Chicago, IL 60606 Telephone: 312-984-7631 Facsimile: 312-984-7700 nbennett@mwe.com Jennifer H. Doan HALTOM & DOAN 6500 Summerhill Road, Suite 100 Texarkana, TX 75503 Telephone: 903-255-1000 Facsimile: 903-255-0800 E-mail: jdoan@haltomdoan.com ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANT YAHOO! INC. CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE The undersigned certifies that the foregoing document was filed electronically in compliance with Local Rule CV-5(a). All other counsel of record not deemed to have consented to electronic service were served with a true and correct copy of the foregoing by certified mail, return receipt requested, on this the 22nd day of March, 2011. /s/Jennifer H. Doan Jennifer H. Doan AGREED MOTIONS IN LIMINE Page 8