Bedrock Computer Technologies, LLC v. Softlayer Technologies, Inc. et al

Filing 878

NOTICE by Bedrock Computer Technologies, LLC NOTICE OF SECOND REEXAMINATION (Attachments: # 1 Exhibit A)(Cawley, Douglas)

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS TYLER DIVISION BEDROCK COMPUTER TECHNOLOGIES LLC, Plaintiff, v. SOFTLAYER TECHNOLOGIES, INC., et al. Defendants. § § § § § § § § § § § CASE NO. 6:09-cv-269-LED Jury Trial Demanded BEDROCK’S NOTICE OF CONCLUSION OF SECOND REEXAMINATION Bedrock Computer Technologies LLC hereby submits notice to the Court that the USPTO has concluded its second re-examination of the patent-in-suit (U.S. Patent No. 5,893,120, the “’120 patent”), and the claims at issue in this case (claims 1 and 2) have again been confirmed as patentable. A copy of the second re-examination certificate is attached as Exhibit A to this notice. While there was a dispute between the parties as to which art was and was not before the USPTO in the first re-examination of the ’120 patent, the art relied upon by Yahoo was undeniably in front of the USPTO in the second re-examination. McKool 398921v2 DATED: September 20, 2011 Respectfully submitted, McKOOL SMITH, P.C. /s/ Douglas A. Cawley Sam F. Baxter Texas Bar No. 01938000 McKOOL SMITH, P.C. sbaxter@mckoolsmith.com 104 E. Houston Street, Suite 300 P.O. Box 0 Marshall, Texas 75670 Telephone: (903) 923-9000 Facsimile: (903) 923-9099 Douglas A. Cawley, Lead Attorney Texas Bar No. 04035500 dcawley@mckoolsmith.com Theodore Stevenson, III Texas Bar No. 19196650 tstevenson@mckoolsmith.com Scott W. Hejny Texas Bar No. 24038952 shejny@mckoolsmith.com Jason D. Cassady Texas Bar No. 24045625 jcassady@mckoolsmith.com J. Austin Curry Texas Bar No. 24059636 acurry@mckoolsmith.com Phillip M. Aurentz Texas Bar No. 24059404 paurentz@mckoolsmith.com Stacie Greskowiak Texas State Bar No. 24074311 sgreskowiak@mckoolsmith.com Ryan A. Hargrave Texas State Bar No. 24071516 rhargrave@mckoolsmith.com McKOOL SMITH, P.C. 300 Crescent Court, Suite 1500 Dallas, Texas 75201 Telephone: 214-978-4000 Facsimile: 214-978-4044 McKool 398921v2 Robert M. Parker Texas Bar No. 15498000 Robert Christopher Bunt Texas Bar No. 00787165 PARKER, BUNT & AINSWORTH, P.C. 100 E. Ferguson, Suite 1114 Tyler, Texas 75702 Telephone: 903-531-3535 Facsimile: 903-533-9687 E-mail: rmparker@pbatyler.com E-mail: rcbunt@pbatyler.com ATTORNEYS FOR PLAINTIFF BEDROCK COMPUTER TECHNOLOGIES LLC McKool 398921v2 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE I hereby certify that all counsel of record who are deemed to have consented to electronic service are being served with a copy of the forgoing document via the Court’s CM/ECF system pursuant to the Court’s Local Rules this 20th day of September, 2011. /s/ Austin Curry John Austin Curry McKool 398921v2