I/P Engine, Inc. v. AOL, Inc. et al

Filing 687

MOTION to Seal Portions of the Order on the Final Pretrial Conference by AOL Inc., Gannett Company, Inc., Google Inc., IAC Search & Media, Inc., Target Corporation. (Attachments: # 1 Exhibit 1)(Noona, Stephen)

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA NORFOLK DIVISION I/P ENGINE, INC. Plaintiff, v. Civil Action No. 2:11-cv-512 AOL INC., et al., Defendants. MOTION TO SEAL PORTIONS OF THE ORDER ON THE FINAL PRETRIAL CONFERENCE Pursuant to Local Rule 5 and the Agreed Protective Order entered in this matter on January 23, 2012 (Dkt. 85) (“Protective Order”), Defendants Google Inc., Target Corporation, IAC Search & Media, Inc., Gannet Co., Inc. and AOL Inc. (collectively “Defendants”), respectfully move this Court for entry of the attached Order permitting Defendants to file under seal Portions of the Order on the Final Pretrial Conference (“Portions of the Final Pretrial Conference Order”). Grounds and authorities for this Motion are set forth in Defendants’ Memorandum in Support of Motion to Seal. In compliance with Local Rule 5, Defendants attach a Proposed Order as Exhibit 1 and are filing separately a Public Notice of Defendants’ Motion to Seal. Defendants request that the Court retain sealed materials until forty-five (45) days after a final order is entered and requests that, unless the case is appealed, any sealed materials be returned to counsel for the filing parties. DATED: October 8, 2012 /s/ Stephen E. Noona Stephen E. Noona Virginia State Bar No. 25367 KAUFMAN & CANOLES, P.C. 150 West Main Street, Suite 2100 Norfolk, VA 23510 Telephone: (757) 624-3000 Facsimile: (757) 624-3169 senoona@kaufcan.com David Bilsker David A. Perlson QUINN EMANUEL URQUHART & SULLIVAN, LLP 50 California Street, 22nd Floor San Francisco, California 94111 Telephone: (415) 875-6600 Facsimile: (415) 875-6700 davidbilsker@quinnemanuel.com davidperlson@quinnemanuel.com Counsel for Google Inc., Target Corporation, IAC Search & Media, Inc., and Gannett Co., Inc. /s/ Stephen E. Noona Stephen E. Noona Virginia State Bar No. 25367 KAUFMAN & CANOLES, P.C. 150 W. Main Street, Suite 2100 Norfolk, VA 23510 Telephone: (757) 624-3000 Facsimile: (757) 624-3169 Robert L. Burns FINNEGAN, HENDERSON, FARABOW, GARRETT & DUNNER, LLP Two Freedom Square 11955 Freedom Drive Reston, VA 20190 Telephone: (571) 203-2700 Facsimile: (202) 408-4400 Cortney S. Alexander FINNEGAN, HENDERSON, FARABOW, GARRETT & DUNNER, LLP 3500 SunTrust Plaza 303 Peachtree Street, NE Atlanta, GA 94111 Telephone: (404) 653-6400 Facsimile: (415) 653-6444 Counsel for Defendant AOL Inc. CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE I hereby certify that on October 8, 2012, I will electronically file the foregoing with the Clerk of Court using the CM/ECF system, which will send a notification of such filing (NEF) to the following: Jeffrey K. Sherwood Kenneth W. Brothers DICKSTEIN SHAPIRO LLP 1825 Eye Street NW Washington, DC 20006 Telephone: (202) 420-2200 Facsimile: (202) 420-2201 sherwoodj@dicksteinshapiro.com brothersk@dicksteinshapiro.com Donald C. Schultz W. Ryan Snow Steven Stancliff CRENSHAW, WARE & MARTIN, P.L.C. 150 West Main Street, Suite 1500 Norfolk, VA 23510 Telephone: (757) 623-3000 Facsimile: (757) 623-5735 dschultz@cwm-law.cm wrsnow@cwm-law.com sstancliff@cwm-law.com Counsel for Plaintiff, I/P Engine, Inc. Craig C. Reilly Esq. Law Office of Craig C. Reilly 111 Oronoco Street Alexandria, VA 22314 Telephone: (703) 549-5354 Facsimile: (703) 549-2604 craig.reilly@ccreillylaw.com Craig T. Merritt Christian & Barton, LLP 909 E. Main Street, Suite 1200 Richmond VA 23219-3095 Telephone: (804) 697-4128 Facsimile: (804) 697-6128 cmerritt@cblaw.com Roderick G. Dorman (pro hac vice) Jeanne Irving (pro hac vice) Alan P. Block (pro hac vice) Jeffrey Huang (pro hac vice) McKool Smith Hennigan P.C. 865 South Figueroa Street, Suite 2900 Los Angeles, CA 90017 Telephone: (213) 694-1200 Facsimile: (213) 694-1234 rdorman@mckoolsmithhennigan.com jirving@mckoolsmithhennigan.com ablock@mckoolsmithhennigan.com jhuang@mckoolsmithhennigan.com Douglas A. Cawley (pro hac vice) McKool Smith P.C. 300 Crescent Court, Suite 1500 Dallas, TX 75201 Telephone: (214) 978-4000 Facsimile: (214) 978-4044 dcawley@mckoolsmithhennigan.com acurry@mckoolsmithhennigan.com Counsel for Plaintiff Suffolk Technologies, LLC /s/ Stephen E. Noona Stephen E. Noona Virginia State Bar No. 25367 KAUFMAN & CANOLES, P.C. 150 West Main Street, Suite 2100 Norfolk, VA 23510 Telephone: (757) 624-3000 Facsimile: (757) 624-3169 senoona@kaufcan.com 11966872v1