Kitchen, et al v. Herbert, et al


[10186299] Affirmed. Terminated on the merits after oral hearing. Written, signed, published. Judges Kelly (concurring in part and dissenting in part), Lucero (authoring), and Holmes. The mandate is stayed. [13-4178] --[Edited 06/25/2014 by SLS to correct typo on page 4.]

Download PDF
Appellate Case: 13-4178 Document: 01019269275 Date Filed: 06/25/2014 Page: 1 UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT OFFICE OF THE CLERK Byron White United States Courthouse 1823 Stout Street Denver, Colorado 80257 (303) 844-3157 Elisabeth A. Shumaker Clerk of Court June 25, 2014 Chris Wolpert Chief Deputy Clerk Mr. John J. Bursch Warner, Norcross & Judd 111 Lyon Street, NW, Suite 900 Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2487 Mr. Parker Douglas Mr. Philip S. Lott Mr. Stanford E. Purser Mr. Gene C. Schaerr Mr. Brian L. Tarbet Office of the Attorney General for the State of Utah 160 East 300 South, 6th Floor P.O. Box 140856 Salt Lake City, UT 84114 Mr. Monte Neil Stewart Stewart Taylor & Morris 12550 West Explorer Drive, Suite 100 Boise, ID 83713 RE: 13-4178, Kitchen, et al v. Herbert, et al Dist/Ag docket: 2:13-CV-00217-RJS Dear Counsel: Enclosed is a copy of the opinion of the court issued today in this matter. The court has entered judgment on the docket pursuant to Fed. R. App. P. Rule 36. Pursuant to Fed. R. App. P. Rule 40, any petition for rehearing must be filed within 14 days after entry of judgment. Please note, however, that if the appeal is a civil case in which the United States or its officer or agency is a party, any petition for rehearing must be filed within 45 days after entry of judgment. Parties should consult both the Federal Rules and local rules of this court with regard to applicable standards and requirements. In particular, petitions for rehearing may not exceed 15 pages in length, and no answer is Appellate Case: 13-4178 Document: 01019269275 Date Filed: 06/25/2014 Page: 2 permitted unless the court enters an order requiring a response. If requesting rehearing en banc, the requesting party must file 12 paper copies with the clerk, in addition to satisfying all Electronic Case Filing requirements. See Fed. R. App. P. Rules 35 and 40, and 10th Cir. R. 35 and 40 for further information governing petitions for rehearing. Please contact this office if you have questions. Sincerely, Elisabeth A. Shumaker Clerk of the Court cc: Lori Ann Alvino McGill Christy L. Anderson Sarah Elizabeth April Meghan Bailey Carmine D. Boccuzzi Jr. Troy L. Booher Courtney Bowman David Boyle Gerard Vincent Bradley Jennifer L. Bursch Stacy A. Carpenter Ralph E. Chamness Jeffrey A. Chanay Bryan Charles Clark David C. Codell Bennett L. Cohen Duane Morley Cox Stephen M. Crampton Andrew John Davis Kathryn R. DeBord Jon R. Dedon William C. Duncan Alexander Dushku John C. Eastman Stephen Kent Ehat Felicia H. Ellsworth Leah Farrell Thomas Molnar Fisher Steven W. Fitschen Mark C. Fleming 2 Appellate Case: 13-4178 Document: 01019269275 David Scott Flugman Sean Robert Gallagher Marjory A. Gentry Darcy Marie Goddard Richard Shawn Gunnarson Stephen D. Gurr Dani Hartvigsen Jacob Harris Hupart Jaren Janghorbani Lawrence John Joseph Roberta A. Kaplan Joshua Kaye Kathryn Kendell Sarah Kroll-Rosenbaum Daniel McNeel Lane Jr. Shawn Scott Ledingham Jr. Jiyun Cameron Lee Rita F. Lin Aaron Lindstrom Paul Benjamin Linton Abbe David Lowell James E. Magleby Christopher Dowden Man Susan Baker Manning Emily Martin Mary Elizabeth McAlister John V. McDermott John M. Mejia Shannon Price Minter Dina Bernick Mishra Alan B. Morrison Frank D. Mylar Jr. Nicholas M. O'Donnell Jennifer Fraser Parrish Nicole Susan Phillis Anthony R. Picarello Jr. Jennifer C. Pizer Eric C. Rassbach Bernard Eric Restuccia Clifford J. Rosky Jerome Cary Roth Peter Sacks Kenneth Lee Salazar Brett Gilbert Scharffs Lauren Schmidt 3 Date Filed: 06/25/2014 Page: 3 Appellate Case: 13-4178 Document: 01019269275 Alan E. Schoenfeld Arthur Andrew Schulcz Sr. Chris Sevier Margaret Sheer Michael Francis Smith Paul March Smith Robert Theron Smith Kevin Trent Snider Susan Sommer Justin W. Starr Anita Staver Mathew D. Staver Catherine Emily Stetson Geoffrey R. Stone D'Arcy Winston Straub Camilla Taylor John S. Throckmorton Peggy Ann Tomsic Jeffrey S. Trachtman Rocky Chiu-feng Tsai Asma Tasnim Uddin David Robert Upham Kenneth D. Upton Jr. David C. Walker Lynn Dennis Wardle Laura W. Weissbein Richard D. White Jr. Michael Louis Whitlock Paul Reinherz Wolfson Elizabeth B. Wydra EAS/sls 4 Date Filed: 06/25/2014 Page: 4

Disclaimer: Justia Dockets & Filings provides public litigation records from the federal appellate and district courts. These filings and docket sheets should not be considered findings of fact or liability, nor do they necessarily reflect the view of Justia.

Why Is My Information Online?