International Refugee Assistance Project v. Trump

Filing 169

MOTION by The Episcopal Bishops to file amicus curiae brief (FRAP 29(e)) with consent of all parties on appeal within time allowed by FRAP 29(e).. Date and method of service: 04/19/2017 ecf. [1000065189] [17-1351] Michael Scott

Download PDF
No. 17-1351 IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT INTERNATIONAL REFUGEE ASSISTANCE PROJECT, ET AL., Plaintiffs-Appellees, vs. DONALD TRUMP, PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES, Et Al., Defendants-Appellants. On Appeal from the United States District Court for the District of Maryland Civil Action No. 1:17-cv-00361 The Honorable Theodore D. Chuang MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF OF EPISCOPAL BISHOPS AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF APPELLEES AND AFFIRMANCE HILLIS CLARK MARTIN & PETERSON P.S. MICHAEL R. SCOTT AMIT D. RANADE LISA J. CHAIET RAHMAN 999 Third Avenue, Suite 4600 Seattle, Washington 98104 (206) 623-1745 Counsel for Amici Curiae UNOPPOSED MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE AMICUS BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF APPELLEES, IN OPPOSITION TO APPELLANTS’ MOTION FOR STAY AND ON THE MERITS Pursuant to Federal Rule of Appellate Procedure 29 and Circuit Rule 29(a), the Rt. Rev. Gladstone B. Adams III, Bishop Provisional of the Episcopal Church of South Carolina; the Rt. Rev. Patrick Bell, Bishop of the Diocese of Eastern Oregon; the Rt. Rev. Barry L. Beisner, Bishop of the Diocese of Northern California; Rt. Rev. Ian T. Douglas, Bishop Diocesan of the Episcopal Church of Connecticut; the Rt. Rev. Thomas Ely, Bishop of the Diocese of Vermont; the Rt. Rev. Mary Gray-Reeves, Bishop of the Diocese of El Camino Real; the Rt. Rev. Scott Hayashi, Bishop of the Diocese of Utah; the Rt. Rev. Mark Lattime, Bishop of the Diocese of Alaska; the Rt. Rev. Robert O’Neill, Bishop of the Diocese of Colorado; the Rt. Rev. Rayford Ray, Bishop of the Diocese of Northern Michigan; the Rt. Rev. David Rice, Bishop of the Diocese of San Joaquin; and the Rt. Rev. Gregory Rickel, Bishop of the Diocese of Olympia (also known as the Episcopal Church of Western Washington) respectfully move for leave to file an amicus curiae brief in support of Plaintiffs-Appellees. All parties consented to the submission of amici briefs in this case. Amici state as follows: 1. Amici curiae are 12 bishops of the Episcopal Church (collectively, the “Bishops”). 1 2. Among the central tenets of the Episcopal Church (the “Church”) are to welcome the immigrant and the stranger, especially those who are poor, sick, and most in need of help, to provide a safe haven for those seeking freedom from oppression, and to uphold the dignity of every human being. To that end, the Church has an active global missionary program and a refugee resettlement program here in the United States. The Church’s multicultural ministries promote and develop culturally and ethnically diverse congregations. The Church encourages the dioceses to form global relationships as part of the Episcopalian belief in the cross-cultural nature of the Communion. 3. Welcoming immigrants and helping refugees are some of the ways in which Episcopalians honor their baptismal covenant with God. The Bishops have committed to honoring immigrants, refugees, and neighbors from different religions. They are deeply concerned that the President’s Revised Executive Order, dated March 6, 2017, violates these values and will impair their opportunities to practice these sacred commitments. The Bishops earnestly believe that the Revised Executive Order impedes the ability of Episcopalians to practice their faith. 6. Both as leaders in the Episcopal Church and as members of the broader faith community, the Bishops have a deep interest in preserving this country’s special status as a safe haven for immigrants and as a protector of the 2 fundamental principle—enshrined in the United States Constitution—of religious tolerance. 7. The proposed amicus brief, attached to the motion as EXHIBIT A, explains that, since its inception, the United States has been a safe haven for practitioners of all religions, in part because religious tolerance is a value enshrined in our Constitution through the Establishment Clause. The President’s original executive order and his recently-revised order directly contradict those values, and in doing so undermine America’s longstanding and special status as a place of refuge for the world’s most vulnerable populations. CONCLUSION Amici respectfully request that this Court grant them leave to file the amicus brief attached hereto. RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED this 19th day of April, 2017. HILLIS CLARK MARTIN & PETERSON P.S. By: s/ Michael R. Scott Michael R. Scott, WSBA #12822 Amit D. Ranade, WSBA #34878 Lisa J. Chaiet Rahman, WSBA #51531 Attorneys for Amici Curiae 3 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE I certify that on the 19th day of April, 2017, the foregoing document was served on all parties or their counsel of record through the CM/ECF system if they are registered users or, if they are not, by serving a true and correct copy at the addresses listed below: Amir H. Ali RODERICK & SOLANGE MACARTHUR JUSTICE CENTER 718 7th Street, NW, Suite 900 Washington, DC 20001 Email: Amir.Ali@macarthurjustice.org Richard D. Bernstein WILLKIE, FARR & GALLAGHER 1875 K Street, NW Washington, DC 20006-0000 Email: rbernstein@willkie.com H. Thomas Byron III Anne Murphy Lowell Vernon Sturgill Jr. Sharon Swingle Jeffrey Bryan Wall U. S. DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 950 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20530 Email: H.Thomas.Byron@usdoj.gov; Anne.Murphy@usdoj.gov; lowell.sturgill@usdoj.gov; Sharon.Swingle@usdoj.gov; Jeffrey.B.Wall@usdoj.gov Amanda Rebecca Callais Elisabeth Carmel Frost PERKINS COIE LLP 700 13th Street, NW, Suite 600 Washington, DC 20005-2011 Email: acallais@perkinscoie.com; efrost@perkinscoie.com Kevin B. Collins William Edward Zapf III COVINGTON & BURLING, LLP 1 City Center 850 10th Street, NW Washington, DC 20001-4956 Email: kcollins@cov.com; wzapf@cov.com William Spencer Consovoy CONSOVOY MCCARTHY PARK PLLC 3033 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 700 Arlington, VA 22201 Email: will@consovoymccarthy.com 1 Trevor Stephen Cox Stuart Alan Raphael OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL OF VIRGINIA 202 North 9th Street Richmond, VA 23219-0000 Email: tcox@oag.state.va.us; sraphael@oag.state.va.us Jonathan Marc Freiman Nicholas David Espiritu WIGGIN & DANA Esther Hsiao-In Sung 195 Church Street Karen C. Tumlin P. O. Box 1832 Melissa S. Keaney NATIONAL IMMIGRATION LAW New Haven, CT 06508-0000 Email: jfreiman@wiggin.com CENTER 3435 Wilshire Boulevard Los Angeles, CA 90010 Email: espiritu@nilc.org; sung@nilc.org; tumlin@nilc.org; keaney@nilc.org Justin Bryan Cox NATIONAL IMMIGRATION LAW CENTER 1989 College Avenue, NE Atlanta, GA 30317 Email: justinbcox@gmail.com Lee P. Gelernt Omar C. Jadwat Cecillia D. Wang AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION 125 Broad Street New York, NY 10004-2400 Email: lgelernt@aclu.org; ojadwat@aclu.org; cwang@aclu.org Jonathan L. Hafetz SETON HALL UNIVERSITY SCHOOL OF LAW 1 Newark Center Newark, NJ 07102-0000 Email: jonathan.hafetz@shu.edu Christopher Joseph Hajec IMMIGRATION REFORM LAW INSTITUTE 25 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 335 Washington, DC 20001 Email: chajec@irli.org Lindsay Claire Harrison JENNER & BLOCK, LLP 1099 New York Avenue, NW, Suite 900 Washington, DC 20001 Email: lharrison@jenner.com 2 Deborah Jeon AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION OF MARYLAND 3600 Clipper Mill Road, Suite 350 Baltimore, MD 21211-0000 Email: jeon@aclu-md.org Scott Allen Keller OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL Office of the Solicitor General 209 West 14th Street, 8th Floor Austin, TX 78701 Email: scott.keller@texasattorneygeneral.gov Richard Brian Katskee AMERICANS UNITED FOR SEPARATION OF CHURCH & STATE 1310 L Street, NW, Suite 400 Washington, DC 20005 Email: katskee@au.org Kenneth Alan Klukowski AMERICAN CIVIL RIGHTS UNION 3213 Duke Street, No. 625 Alexandria, VA 22314 Email: kklukowski@firstliberty.org Daniel Mach Heather Lynn Weaver AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION 915 15th Street, NW Washington, DC 20005-0000 Email: dmach@aclu.org; hweaver@aclu.org Karla Mari McKanders HOWARD UNIVERSITY SCHOOL OF LAW 2900 Van Ness Street, NW Washington, DC 20008-0000 Email: karla.mckanders@law.howard.edu Steven Obus PROSKAUER ROSE, LLP 11 Times Square New York, NY 10036-8299 Email: sobus@proskauer.com William Jeffery Olson WILLIAM J. OLSON, PC 370 Maple Avenue, West Vienna, VA 22180-5615 Email: wjo@mindspring.com Yolanda Cher Rondon AMERICAN-ARAB ANTIDISCRIMINATION COMMITTEE 1705 DeSales Street, NW, Suite 500 Washington, DC 20007-0000 Email: yrondon@adc.org Benna Ruth Solomon CITY OF CHICAGO Department of Law - Appeals Division 30 North LaSalle Street, Suite 800 Chicago, IL 60602 Email: 3 benna.solomon@cityofchicago.org Cody H. Wofsy Edward Lawrence White AMERICAN CENTER FOR LAW & AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION FOUNDATION JUSTICE 39 Drumm Street 3001 Plymouth Road, Suite 203 San Francisco, CA 94111 Ann Arbor, MI 48105-0000 Email: cwofsy@aclu.org Email: ewhite@aclj.org DATED this 19th day of April, 2017. HILLIS CLARK MARTIN & PETERSON P.S. By: s/ Michael R. Scott Michael R. Scott, WSBA #12822 Amit D. Ranade, WSBA #34878 Lisa J. Chaiet Rahman, WSBA #51531 Hillis Clark Martin & Peterson P.S. 999 Third Avenue, Suite 4600 Seattle, Washington 98104 Telephone: (206) 623-1745 Facsimile: (206) 623-7789 Email: Michael.Scott@hcmp.com; Amit.Ranade@hcmp.com; Lisa.Rahman@hcmp.com 4

Disclaimer: Justia Dockets & Filings provides public litigation records from the federal appellate and district courts. These filings and docket sheets should not be considered findings of fact or liability, nor do they necessarily reflect the view of Justia.


Why Is My Information Online?