TV Interactive Data Corporation v. Sony Corporation et al

Filing 362

STIPULATION AND ORDER/COMMISSION FOR DEPOSITION TO BE TAKEN IN JAPAN re 360 Stipulation filed by TV Interactive Data Corporation. Signed by Judge Phyllis J. Hamilton on 11/8/11. (nah, COURT STAFF) (Filed on 11/8/2011)

Download PDF
1 UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 2 NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA 3 4 TV INTERACTIVE DATA CORPORATION, a California Corporation, Plaintiff, 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 v. SONY CORPORATION; SONY COMPUTER ENTERTAINMENT INC.; SONY COMPUTER ENTERTAINMENT AMERICA, INC.; SONY CORPORATION OF AMERICA; SONY ELECTRONICS, INC.; ROYAL PHILIPS ELECTRONICS N.V.; PHILIPS ELECTRONICS NORTH AMERICA CORPORATION; TOSHIBA CORPORATION; TOSHIBA AMERICA, INC.; TOSHIBA AMERICA CONSUMER PRODUCTS, L.L.C.; VICTOR COMPANY OF JAPAN, LTD.; JVC AMERICAS CORP.; FUNAI ELECTRIC CO., LTD.; FUNAI CORPORATION, INC.; P&F USA, INC., , Case No. C 10-00475 PJH STIPULATION AND [PROPOSED] ORDER/COMMISSION FOR DEPOSITIONS TO BE TAKEN IN JAPAN DEPONENT: VICTOR COMPANY OF JAPAN, LTD. Defendants. 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 82585860.1 1 ORDER/COMMISSION FOR DEPOS. TO BE TAKEN IN JAPAN 1 2 JOINT STIPULATION Beginning December 6, 2011, TV Interactive Data Corp. (“TVI”) will begin depositions 3 of certain witnesses from Victor Company of Japan, Ltd. (“JVC”) at the U.S. Embassy in Tokyo. 4 TVI and JVC hereby submit and jointly stipulate to the following Proposed Order/Commission 5 for Depositions to be Taken in Japan. 6 7 FOR PLAINTIFF TV INTERACTIVE DATA CORP. 8 ROBINS, KAPLAN, MILLER & CIRESI, L.L.P. 9 10 11 12 13 14 By:/s/ Victor C. Chan Sang Young A. Brodie (pro hac vice) E-mail: sybrodie@rkmc.com Richard M. Martinez (pro hac vice) E-mail: rmmartinez@rkmc.com Trevor J. Foster (pro hac vice) E-mail: tjfoster@rkmc.com Victor C. Chan (pro hac vice) E-mail: vcchan@rkmc.com 15 16 Dated: November 4, 2011 17 18 FOR DEFENDANT VICTOR COMPANY OF JAPAN, LTD. 19 ORRICK, HERRINGTON & SUTCLIFFE LLP 20 25 By: /s/ T. Vann Pearce, Jr._______________ William H. Wright E-mail: wwright@orrick.com Steven J. Routh (pro hac vice) E-mail: srouth@orrick.com Sten A. Jensen (pro hac vice) E-mail: sjensen @orrick.com Trevor C. Hill (pro hac vice) E-mail: thill@orrick.com T. Vann Pearce, Jr. (pro hac vice) E-mail: vpearce@orrick.com 26 Dated: November 4, 2011 21 22 23 24 27 28 82585860.1 2 ORDER/COMMISSION FOR DEPOS. TO BE TAKEN IN JAPAN 1 2 [PROPOSED] ORDER/COMMISSION FOR DEPOSITIONS TO BE TAKEN IN JAPAN TO: 3 4 ANY CONSUL OR VICE CONSUL OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA AT TOKYO, JAPAN Upon the application of Complainant TV Interactive Data Corporation (“TVI”), in TVI 5 Data Corp. v. Sony Corp., et al., Inv. No. 10-00475, before the U.S. District Court for the 6 Northern District of California, and pursuant to Article 17 of the United States – Japan Consular 7 Convention, 8 9 IT IS ORDERED THAT the depositions on notice of the following volunteering witnesses be taken at the U.S. Embassy in Tokyo, Japan commencing on or about December 6, 10 2011, at 8:30 a.m. and terminating on or about December 22, 2011 at 4:00 p.m., and that any 11 documentary exhibits in connection therewith be marked: 12 13 14 1. Fed. R. Civ. P. 30(b)(6) deposition of Victor Company of Japan, Ltd. Victor Company of Japan, Ltd. 12, Moriya-cho 3-chome, Kanagawa-ku, Yokohama, 221-8528, Japan 15 16 Potential witnesses for the Fed. R. Civ. P. 30(b)(6) deposition Victor Company of Japan, Ltd. 17 include the following: 18 23 Hiroki Osano Masaru Hiyama Naohiko Hiramatsu Kenichi Yokomizo Atushi Fukura Masayuki Takami Hidetoshi Ozaki Susumu Sakakibara Mr. Hasegawa 24 2. 25 Potential witnesses for depositions under Fed. R. Civ. P. 30(b)(1) include: 19 20 21 22 26 27 28 Fed. R. Civ. P. 30(b)(1) depositions of individuals Hiroki Osano Masaru Hiyama Naohiko Hiramatsu Kenichi Yokomizo 82585860.1 3 ORDER/COMMISSION FOR DEPOS. TO BE TAKEN IN JAPAN 1 Atushi Fukura Masayuki Takami Hidetoshi Ozaki Susumu Sakakibara Mr. Hasegawa 2 3 4 Counsel for Defendant Victor Company of Japan, Ltd. who will participate in said 5 6 7 depositions are William H. Wright, Steven J. Routh, Sten A. Jensen, Trevor C. Hill, T. Vann Pearce, Jr., and John R. Inge. Counsel for TVI who will participate in said depositions are Richard M. Martinez, Sang 8 9 10 Young A. Brodie, Trevor J. Foster, and Victor C. Chan. In addition, Quynh Nguyen, James Tornes and Andrew Wolfe may attend on behalf of TVI. Jared Taylor will act as interpreter. 11 The proceedings will be recorded by Christopher Sheppard Hanlon, Lee Anthony Bowry, 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 Peter Wai Kwong Au, Jeffrey Marc Menton, Randell Buckler, Deborah Marshall, Jodi Harmon, Lawrence Paul Nelson, Melanie Louise Giamarco, Tracey LoCastro and/or Randi Birnhak with American Realtime Court Reporters & Videographers. Please cause the testimony of said witnesses to be recorded by video and reduced to writing; the depositions to be signed by said witnesses; said deposition testimony to be annexed to your Commission and closed under your seal; and the return of these materials to this Court with all convenient speed. /// /// /// 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 82585860.1 4 ORDER/COMMISSION FOR DEPOS. TO BE TAKEN IN JAPAN 1 I, Victor C. Chan, am the ECF user whose User ID and Password are being utilized in the 2 electronic filing of the STIPULATION AND [PROPOSED] ORDER/COMMISSION FOR 3 DEPOSITIONS TO BE TAKEN IN JAPAN. Pursuant to the Northern District of California’s 4 General Order 45(X)(B), I attest that concurrence in the filing has been obtained from T. Vann 5 Pearce, Jr. 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 82585860.1 5 ORDER/COMMISSION FOR DEPOS. TO BE TAKEN IN JAPAN 1 2 WITNESS, the Honorable Phyllis J. Hamilton, United States Judge of the United States District 8th November Court, Northern District of California, this ______ day of __________ 2011. 3 4 Honorable Phyllis J. Hamilton United States Judge United States District Court Northern District of California Oakland Courthouse, Courtroom 3 – 3rd Floor 1301 Clay Street Oakland, CA 94612 5 6 7 8 I hereby certify that the signature above is that of the Honorable Phyllis J. Hamilton, United 9 States Judge of the United States District Court, Northern District of California. 10 _____________________ Clerk of the Court 11 By: _________________ 12 Deputy Clerk: ________________ 13 Seal: 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 82585860.1 6 ORDER/COMMISSION FOR DEPOS. TO BE TAKEN IN JAPAN 1 2 3 4 5 6 8 9 10 L OS A NGELES A TTORNEYS A T L AW R OBINS , K APLAN , M ILLER & C IRESI L.L.P. 7 Ronald J. Schutz (Pro Hac Vice), RJSchutz@rkmc.com Richard M. Martinez (Pro Hac Vice), RMMartinez@rkmc.com Sang Young A. Brodie (Pro Hac Vice), SYBrodie@rkmc.com Trevor J. Foster (Pro Hac Vice), TJFoster@rkmc.com Victor C. Chan (Pro Hac Vice), VCChan@rkmc.com ROBINS, KAPLAN, MILLER & CIRESI L.L.P. 800 LaSalle Avenue, 2800 LaSalle Plaza Minneapolis, MN 55402 Telephone: (612) 349-8500 Facsimile: (612) 339-4181 David Martinez, (CA Bar No. 193183), DMartinez@rkmc.com ROBINS, KAPLAN, MILLER & CIRESI L.L.P. 2049 Century Park East, Suite 3400 Los Angeles, CA 90067-3208 Telephone: (310) 552-0130 Facsimile: (310) 229-5800 Attorneys for Plaintiff, TV INTERACTIVE DATA CORPORATION 11 UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA 12 13 TV INTERACTIVE DATA CORPORATION, a California Corporation, 14 Plaintiff, 15 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE v. 16 Case No. C 10-00475 PJH SONY CORPORATION; SONY COMPUTER ENTERTAINMENT INC.; SONY COMPUTER ENTERTAINMENT AMERICA, INC.; SONY CORPORATION OF AMERICA; SONY ELECTRONICS, INC.; ROYAL PHILIPS ELECTRONICS N.V.; PHILIPS ELECTRONICS NORTH AMERICA CORPORATION; TOSHIBA CORPORATION; TOSHIBA AMERICA, INC.; TOSHIBA AMERICA CONSUMER PRODUCTS, L.L.C.; VICTOR COMPANY OF JAPAN, LTD.; JVC AMERICAS CORP.; FUNAI ELECTRIC CO., LTD.; FUNAI CORPORATION, INC.; P&F USA, INC., , 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 Defendants. 24 25 26 27 28 Case No. C 10-00475 JF 82607429.1 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 1 I hereby certify that on November 4, 2011, I electronically filed 2 TV Interactive Data Corporation and Victor Company of Japan’s Stipulation And 3 [Proposed] Order/Commission For Depositions To Be Take In Japan 4 with the Clerk of Court using the CM/ECF system, which will send notice of such filing to the 5 following attorneys: 6 8 9 10 L OS A NGELES A TTORNEYS A T L AW R OBINS , K APLAN , M ILLER & C IRESI L.L.P. 7 11 12 Philip Barilovits Email: pb@severson.com John F. Bennett Email: jbennett@bakerlaw.com Jonathan A. David Email: jdavid@ldlkm.com Eric Evans Email: eevans@mayerbrown.com Mark Fowler Email: mark.fowler@dlapiper.com Erik Fuehrer Email: erik.fuehrer@dlapiper.com Gregory S. Gewirtz Email: ggewirtz@ldlkm.com Alan Grimaldi Email: agrimaldi@mayerbrown.com Matthew P. Hayden Email: mhayden@bakerlaw.com Trevor C. Hill Email: thill@orrick.com Kevin W. Kirsch Email: kkirsch@bakerlaw.com Fahd K. Majiduddin Email: fmajiduddin@ldlkm.com David A. Mancino Email: dmancino@bakerlaw.com Hayes F. Michel Email: hmichel@bakerlaw.com T. Vann Pearce, Jr. Email: vpearce@orrick.com Brian A. Rosenthal Email: brosenthal@mayerbrown.com Carrie Lynne Williamson Email: carrie.williamson@dlapiper.com William Harrison Wright, III Email: wwright@orrick.com Ronald Yin Email: ronald.yin@dlapiper.com Steven Yovits Email: syovits@mayerbrown.com 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 Case No. C 10-00475 PJH 82607429.1 -1- CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 1 2 3 4 5 6 and that a true and correct copy of same was sent via email to: Stan Anker Jensen Email: sjensen@orrick.com Steven J. Routh Email: srouth@orrick.com Orrick Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP 1152 15th Street N.W. Washington, DC 20005 Robert E. McBride Email: rmcbride@mayerbrown.com Mayer Brown LLP 1999 K Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20006-1101 8 DATED: November 4, 2011 9 ROBINS, KAPLAN, MILLER & CIRESI L.L.P. By: 10 L OS A NGELES A TTORNEYS A T L AW R OBINS , K APLAN , M ILLER & C IRESI L.L.P. 7 /s/ Victor C. Chan Victor C. Chan (pro hac vice) 11 ATTORNEY FOR PLAINTIFF TV INTERACTIVE DATA CORPORATION 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 Case No. C 10-00475 PJH 82607429.1 -2- CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

Disclaimer: Justia Dockets & Filings provides public litigation records from the federal appellate and district courts. These filings and docket sheets should not be considered findings of fact or liability, nor do they necessarily reflect the view of Justia.


Why Is My Information Online?