Hyundai Electronics, et al v. Rambus, Inc.

Filing 3910

ORDER regarding entry of judgment. Signed by Judge Ronald M. Whyte on 3/10/2009. (rmwlc1, COURT STAFF) (Filed on 3/10/2009)

Download PDF
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA SAN JOSE DIVISION E-filed: 3/10/2009 United States District Court 11 For the Northern District of California 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 HYNIX SEMICONDUCTOR INC., HYNIX SEMICONDUCTOR AMERICA INC., HYNIX SEMICONDUCTOR U.K. LTD., and HYNIX SEMICONDUCTOR DEUTSCHLAND GmbH, Plaintiffs, v. RAMBUS INC., Defendant. No. C-00-20905 RMW ORDER REGARDING ENTRY OF JUDGMENT The parties have submitted competing proposed forms of judgment. The parties agree on the form of judgment in all but two respects. As to the first, Hynix requests that it be permitted to accrue or deposit in escrow the ongoing royalties owed under the judgment pending resolution of any appeals from the judgment. Hynix's request is premature. Hynix may raise the issue by way of a Rule 62 motion following entry of judgment. The court also notes that Hynix's fear that Rambus will not return any royalties paid by Hynix even if Hynix prevails on appeal appears baseless. E.g., Broadcom Corp. v. Qualcomm Inc., 585 F. Supp. 2d 1187 (C.D. Cal. 2008) (ordering Broadcom to repay "sunset royalties" following Federal Circuit reversal on liability). As to the second, the parties dispute the timing of any proceedings regarding the taxing of ORDER REGARDING ENTRY OF JUDGMENT C-00-20905-RMW TSF 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 costs. Hynix requests that any determination of costs occur after all appeals are final. Though there is some wisdom to Hynix's approach, see, e.g., American Infra-Red Radiant Co. v. Lambert Industries, Inc., 41 F.R.D. 161 (D. Minn. 1966), the Civil Local Rules contemplate addressing costs swiftly. See Civil L.R. 54-1(a) (imposing a 14-day deadline following entry of judgment for a prevailing party to file its bill of costs). This ensures that the court considers the reasonableness of costs while the case is fresh, which is important because this inquiry is difficult when made from a "cold" record. The magnitude of this case, and the alleged size of Rambus's cost bill, counsel against submitting the bill of costs to the clerk's office in the first instance. E.g., Syracuse Broadcasting Corp. v. Newhouse, 32 F.R.D. 29, 29 (N.D.N.Y. 1963) ("The attorneys for both sides seem satisfied to . . . bypass the Clerk in the first instance. . . . In fact, the substantial items challenged are ones peculiarly within the knowledge of the trial judge and would be practically an impossible burden for the Clerk to resolve with any degree of reason and certainty."); Deering, Milliken & Co v. Temp-Resisto Corp., 169 F. Supp. 453, 456 (S.D.N.Y. 1959) (explaining why "[t]here is no merit in the defendants' contention that Rule 54(d), F.R.Civ.P., requires that costs must be taxed in the first instance by the clerk and that the Court has no power to tax them"). The difficulty of this inquiry also counsels against the application of the Local Rules' 14-day deadline for filing the bill of costs and 10-day deadline for filing objections. See Civil L.R. 54-1(a); 54-2(a). Accordingly, Rambus shall have 30 days from the entry of judgment to file its bill of costs with the court. Hynix shall have 21 days to file any objections to Rambus's bill of costs, and may seek from the court any necessary extension. United States District Court 11 For the Northern District of California 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 DATED: 3/10/2009 RONALD M. WHYTE United States District Judge ORDER REGARDING ENTRY OF JUDGMENT C-00-20905-RMW TSF 2 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 This document has been electronically sent to: counsel in 00-20905. Counsel Rambus: Kathryn Kalb Anderson Peter A. Detre Erin C. Dougherty Sean Eskovitz Burton Alexander Gross Keith Rhoderic Dhu Hamilton, II Pierre J. Hubert Andrea Jill Weiss Jeffries Miriam Kim Carolyn Hoecker Luedtke Steven McCall Perry Jennifer Lynn Polse Matthew Thomas Powers Rollin Andrew Ransom Rosemarie Theresa Ring Gregory P. Stone Craig N. Tolliver Donald Ward David C. Yang Douglas A. Cawley Scott L Cole William Hans Baumgartner, Jr Scott W. Hejny Kelly Max Klaus Catherine Rajwani Thomas N Tarnay Hynix: Theodore G. Brown , III Daniel J. Furniss Joseph A. Greco Julie Jinsook Han Tomomi Katherine Harkey Jordan Trent Jones Patrick Lynch Kenneth Lee Nissly Kenneth Ryan O'Rourke Belinda Martinez Vega Geoffrey Hurndall Yost Susan Gregory van Keulen Allen Ruby Micron: Robert Jason Becher John D Beynon Jared Bobrow Email Appearances: 05-00334 05-02298 06-00244 00-20905 United States District Court 11 For the Northern District of California 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 Kate.Anderson@mto.com detrepa@mto.com erin.dougherty@mto.com sean.eskovitz@mto.com Burton.Gross@mto.com keith.hamilton@mto.com phubert@mckoolsmith.com Andrea.Jeffries@mto.com Miriam.Kim@mto.com carolyn.luedtke@mto.com steven.perry@mto.com jen.polse@mto.com mpowers@sidley.com rransom@sidley.com rose.ring@mto.com gregory.stone@mto.com ctolliver@mckoolsmith.com Bill.Ward@mto.com david.yang@mto.com dcawley@mckoolsmith.com scole@mckoolsmith.com wbaumgartner@sidley.com shejny@sidley.com kelly.klaus@mto.com crajwani@sidley.com ttarnay@sidley.com x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x tgbrown@townsend.com djfurniss@townsend.com jagreco@townsend.com JJHan@townsend.com tharkey@omm.com jtjones@townsend.com plynch@omm.com kennissly@omm.com korourke@omm.com bvega@omm.com gyost@thelenreid.com svankeulen@omm.com ruby@allenrubylaw.com x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x robertbecher@quinnemanuel.com john.bey non@weil.com jared.bobrow@weil.com x x x x x x x x x x x ORDER REGARDING ENTRY OF JUDGMENT C-00-20905-RMW TSF 3 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Yonaton M Rosenzweig Harold Avrum Barza Linda Jane Brewer Aaron Bennett Craig Leeron Kalay David J. Lender Rachael Lynn Ballard McCracken Sven Raz David J. Ruderman Elizabeth Stotland Weiswasser Nanya: Jason Sheffield Angell Kristin Sarah Cornuelle Chester Wren-Ming Day Jan Ellen Ellard Vickie L. Feeman Robert E. Freitas Craig R. Kaufman Hao Li Cathy Yunshan Lui Theresa E. Norton Mark Shean Kaiwen Tseng Samsung: Steven S. Cherensky Dana Prescott Kenned Powers Matthew Douglas Powers Edward Robert Reines United States Dept. of Justice May Lee Heye Eugene S. Litvinoff Niall Edmund Lynch y oniro senzweig@quinnemanuel.com halbarza@quinnemanuel.com lindabrewer@quinnemanuel.com aaroncraig@quinnemanuel.com kalay@fr.com david.lender@weil.com rachaelmccracken@quinnemanuel.com sven.raz@weil.com davidruderman@quinnemanuel.com elizabeth.weiswasser@weil.com x x x x x x x x x x x x x United States District Court 11 For the Northern District of California 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 jangell@orrick.com kcornuelle@orrick.com cday@orrick.com jellard@orrick.com vfeeman@orrick.com rfreitas@orrick.com hlee@orrick.com hli@orrick.com clui@orrick.com tnorton@orrick.com mshean@orrick.com ktseng@orrick.com x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x steven.cherensky@weil.com dana.powers@weil.com matthew.powers@weil.com, matthew.antonelli@weil.com Edward.Reines@weil.com x x x x x x x x x x may.heye@usdoj.gov eugene.litvinoff@usdoj.gov Niall.Lynch@USDOJ.GOV x x x Counsel are responsible for distributing copies of this document to co-counsel that have not registered for e-filing under the court's CM/ECF program in each action. Dated: 3/10/2009 TSF Chambers of Judge Whyte ORDER REGARDING ENTRY OF JUDGMENT C-00-20905-RMW TSF 4

Disclaimer: Justia Dockets & Filings provides public litigation records from the federal appellate and district courts. These filings and docket sheets should not be considered findings of fact or liability, nor do they necessarily reflect the view of Justia.


Why Is My Information Online?