Rambus Inc., v. Hynix Semiconductor Inc. et al

Filing 1170

ORDER OVERRULING 943 Objection, filed by Nanya Technology Corporation U.S.A., Nanya Technology Corporation. Signed by Judge Ronald M. Whyte on 2/3/2008. (rmwlc1, COURT STAFF) (Filed on 2/3/2008)

Download PDF
Rambus Inc., v. Hynix Semiconductor Inc. et al Doc. 1170 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 RAMBUS INC., Plaintiff, v. HYNIX SEMICONDUCTOR INC., HYNIX SEMICONDUCTOR AMERICA INC., HYNIX SEMICONDUCTOR MANUFACTURING AMERICA INC., SAMSUNG ELECTRONICS CO., LTD., SAMSUNG ELECTRONICS AMERICA, INC., SAMSUNG SEMICONDUCTOR, INC., SAMSUNG AUSTIN SEMICONDUCTOR, L.P., NANYA TECHNOLOGY CORPORATION, NANYA TECHNOLOGY CORPORATION U.S.A., Defendants. IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA SAN JOSE DIVISION No. C-05-00334 RMW ORDER OVERRULING NANYA'S OBJECTIONS AND REQUEST FOR MODIFICATION OF JUDGE AMBLER'S DECEMBER 13, 2007, ORDER REGARDING DEPOSITION OF DR. JIH LIEN [Re Docket No. 943] E-filed: 2/3/2008 United United States District Court 11 For the Northern District of California 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 Nanya1 objects to a Special Master's order imposing discovery sanctions for Nanya's failure to produce Dr. Jih Lien for a deposition, namely, that Dr. Jih Lien may not be called as a witness at trial in any capacity. Rambus opposes the objection. The court has reviewed the papers and considered the arguments of counsel. The court overrules Nanya's objections to the discovery "Nanya" collectively refers to all of the Nanya entities sued in these cases, namely Nanya Technology Corporation and Nanya Technology Corporation U.S.A. ORDER OVERRULING NANYA'S OBJECTIONS AND REQUEST FOR MODIFICATION OF JUDGE AMBLER'S DECEMBER 13, 2007, ORDER REGARDING DEPOSITION OF DR. JIH LIEN--C-05-00334 RMW TSF 1 Dockets.Justia.com 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 sanction. Under the Joint Case Management Order, the court reviews the Special Master's orders as it would review a magistrate judge's order and will modify them "only if clearly erroneous or contrary to law." See Docket No. 174, C-05-00334, 2(c) (N.D. Cal. Apr. 24, 2007). Nanya does not address the standard of review in its papers, but suggests that Judge Ambler's imposition of discovery sanctions was "not justified." Preventing a witness from testifying is an appropriate sanction for failure to produce him for a deposition. See Fed. R. Civ. P. 37(b)(2)(B); Fed. R. Civ. P. 37(b)(2)(A)(ii). Judge Ambler's order is therefore not "contrary to law." After reviewing the facts underlying Judge Ambler's order and the difficulties that occurred in producing Dr. Lien for his deposition, the court does not find that Judge Ambler's order was "clearly erroneous." Accordingly, Nanya's objections and request for modification are overruled. United States District Court 11 For the Northern District of California 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 DATED: 2/3/2008 RONALD M. WHYTE United States District Judge ORDER OVERRULING NANYA'S OBJECTIONS AND REQUEST FOR MODIFICATION OF JUDGE AMBLER'S DECEMBER 13, 2007, ORDER REGARDING DEPOSITION OF DR. JIH LIEN--C-05-00334 RMW TSF 2 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Notice of this document has been electronically sent to: Counsel for Plaintiff(s): Craig N. Tolliver Pierre J. Hubert Brian K. Erickson David C. Vondle Gregory P. Stone Carolyn Hoecker Luedtke Peter A. Detre Burton Alexander Gross Steven McCall Perry Jeannine Y. Sano Counsel for Defendant(s): Matthew D. Powers David J. Healey Edward R. Reines John D Beynon Jared Bobrow Leeron Kalay Theodore G. Brown, III Daniel J. Furniss Jordan Trent Jones Kenneth L. Nissly Geoffrey H. Yost Susan Gregory van Keulen Patrick Lynch Jason Sheffield Angell Vickie L. Feeman Mark Shean Kai Tseng matthew.powers@weil.com david.healey@weil.com Edward.Reines@weil.com john.beynon@weil.com jared.bobrow@weil.com l eeron.kalay@weil.com tgbrown@townsend.com djfurniss@townsend.com jtjones@townsend.com kennissly@thelenreid.com gyost@thelenreid.com svankeulen@thelenreid.com plynch@omm.com jangell@orrick.com vfeeman@orrick.com mshean@orrick.com hlee@orrick.com ctolliver@mckoolsmith.com phubert@mckoolsmith.com berickson@dbllp.com, dvondle@akingump.com gregory.stone@mto.com luedtkech@mto.com detrepa@mto.com burton.gross@mto.com, steven.perry@mto.com sanoj@howrey.com United States District Court 11 For the Northern District of California 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 Counsel are responsible for distributing copies of this document to co-counsel that have not registered for e-filing under the court's CM/ECF program. Dated: 2/3/2008 TSF Chambers of Judge Whyte ORDER OVERRULING NANYA'S OBJECTIONS AND REQUEST FOR MODIFICATION OF JUDGE AMBLER'S DECEMBER 13, 2007, ORDER REGARDING DEPOSITION OF DR. JIH LIEN--C-05-00334 RMW TSF 3

Disclaimer: Justia Dockets & Filings provides public litigation records from the federal appellate and district courts. These filings and docket sheets should not be considered findings of fact or liability, nor do they necessarily reflect the view of Justia.


Why Is My Information Online?