Juan Medina v. Argent Mortgage Company et al

Filing 260

ORDER by Magistrate Judge Howard R. Lloyd granting 252 plaintiffs' Motion to Dismiss Remaining Claims and Defendants With Prejudice. Parties to bear their own fees and costs. The clerk shall close the file. (hrllc2, COURT STAFF) (Filed on 8/20/2010)

Download PDF
Juan Medina v. Argent Mortgage Company et al Doc. 260 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 NOT FOR CITATION IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA SAN JOSE DIVISION JUAN MEDINA, et al., Plaintiffs, No. C05-02905 HRL ORDER GRANTING MOTION FOR DISMISSAL OF REMAINING CLAIMS AND DEFENDANTS WITH PREJUDICE [Re: Docket No. 252] / *E-FILED 08-20-2010* United States District Court 11 For the Northern District of California 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 v. ARGENT MORTGAGE COMPANY, et al., Defendants. Plaintiffs move to dismiss with prejudice all claims against the remaining defendants, with the parties to bear their own attorney's fees and costs. There has been no opposition to the motion. Moreover, in view of plaintiffs' representations (a) as to their limited financial resources (and their belief that any such costs might, in any event, be subject to the criminal restitution orders plaintiffs obtained as to the remaining defendants); and (b) the remaining defendants' apparent refusal to respond to plaintiffs' efforts within the past year to settle this matter, the court will grant the motion. Accordingly, plaintiffs' claims against Summit Mortgage Realty, Inc., Herman Michael Covarrubias, Esperanza Valverde, and Cesar Ponte (aka Cesar Valverde)1 are dismissed with prejudice. The parties shall bear their own fees The court no longer has current contact information for Cesar Ponte. However, a copy of this order will be mailed to Ponte at the address indicated on plaintiffs' certificate of service (Docket Nos. 253, 259). 1 Dockets.Justia.com 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 and costs. FED. R. CIV. P. 41(a)(2). The clerk shall close the file. SO ORDERED. Dated: August 20, 2010 HOWARD R. LLOYD UNITED STATES MAGISTRATE JUDGE United States District Court 11 For the Northern District of California 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 2 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5:05-cv-2905 Notice has been electronically mailed to: Candie Yi-Chun Chang Courtney Lynn Landis David Alan Makman Jack R. Nelson cchang@garrett-tully.com, pdiroff@garrett-tully.com clandis@morganlewis.com, cgreenblatt@morganlewis.com makmand@howrey.com, kasenenkop@howrey.com cahunt@reedsmith.com, jnelson@reedsmith.com jamesz@lawfoundation.org, teresam@lawfoundation.org jmckeon@morganlewis.com, cgreenblatt@morganlewis.com James F. Zahradka , II Jami Wintz McKeon Karen A. Braje Kerstin Arusha kbraje@reedsmith.com, cahunt@reedsmith.com, kchen@reedsmith.com kerstina@lawfoundation.org kimp@lawfoundation.org, teresam@lawfoundation.org kyrak@lawfoundation.org greinertm@howrey.com, kasenenkop@howrey.com Kimberly Pederson Kyra Ann Kazantzis Matthew Greinert Moses Diaz United States District Court 11 For the Northern District of California 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 mosesd@lawfoundation.org, moses@ucdavis-alumni.com padleson@ahk-law.com, tclark@ahk-law.com Phillip Mark Adleson Counsel are responsible for distributing copies of this document to co-counsel who have not registered for e-filing under the court's CM/ECF program. 5:05-cv-2905 Notice mailed to Esperanza Isabel Valverde, X37069 P.O. Box 92 Chowchilla, California 93601 LEGAL MAIL Herman Michael Covarrubias, G62756 L5-250-L P.O. Box 2210 Susanville, CA 96127 LEGAL MAIL Cesar Ponte 435 Richfield Drive, Apt. 25 San Jose, CA 95129 3

Disclaimer: Justia Dockets & Filings provides public litigation records from the federal appellate and district courts. These filings and docket sheets should not be considered findings of fact or liability, nor do they necessarily reflect the view of Justia.

Why Is My Information Online?