Levitte v. Google Inc.

Filing 400

Download PDF
Levitte v. Google Inc. Doc. 400 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ANNAMARIE A. DALEY (pro hac vice) ROBINS, KAPLAN, MILLER & CIRESI L.L.P. 2800 LaSalle Plaza 800 LaSalle Avenue Minneapolis, Minnesota 55402 Telephone: (612) 349-8500 Facsimile: (612) 349-4181 Attorney for Defendants COXCOM, INC., HOSPITALITY NETWORK, INC., and CABLE AMERICA CORPORATION UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA SAN JOSE DIVISION ROBINS, KAPLAN, MILLER & CIRESI L.L.P. 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 1 ATTORNEYS AT LAW In re ACACIA MEDIA TECHNOLOGIES CORPORATION Case No. C-05-01114 JW COXCOM, INC., HOSPITALITY NETWORK, INC., AND CABLE AMERICA CORPORATION'S RESPONSE TO ACACIA'S OBJECTIONS TO THEIR BILL OF COSTS MINNEAPOLIS Acacia objects to some of the costs requested by Coxcom, Inc., Hospitality Network, Inc. and Cable America Corporation's (collectively referred to as "Cox") in its Bill of Costs (Doc. No. 360). One of the disputed issues is whether the fees Cox incurred for the court-appointed technical advisor are taxable as costs. The Civil Local Rules for the Northern District of California provide that "[f]ees to masters and receivers are allowable." Civil L.R. 54-3(f). See Intermedics, Inc. v. Ventritex, Co., 1993 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 17803 at *15 (N.D. Cal. Dec. 2, 1993) (permitting recovery of special master fees). Although the order of appointment states that Mr. Schulz is a "technical advisor," the services Mr. Schulz provided are akin to those of a special master. Under Ninth Circuit law, as held in a case cited by Acacia in its Opposition to Cox's Bill of Costs, "master's fees, costs, and expenses are `[taxable] costs'. . . ." Nat'l Org. for the Reform of Marijuana Laws v. Mullen, 828 F.2d 536, 545 (9th Cir. 1987).1 Cox incorporated by reference any submissions by other defendants in this case regarding recoverability of the fees for Mr. Schulz. 28 81142090.1 Dockets.Justia.com 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Acacia also noted that the Declaration of Annamarie A. Daley in Support of Defendants Coxcom, Inc., Hospitality Network, Inc., and Cable America Corporation was missing one of the invoices from the court reporter for Court hearing transcript costs. A copy of that invoice is attached as Exhibit C-1 to Supplemental Declaration of Annamarie A. Daley in Support of Defendants Coxcom, Inc., Hospitality Network, Inc., and Cable America Corporation filed on December 2, 2009.2 Additionally, with respect to Acacia's objection to the court reporter expenses associated with the transcripts for the June 14 and 15, 2006 hearing, a close review of the relevant invoice confirms that although the transcript for the second hearing day appears under the category of "expedited," the per-page cost is identical to the ordinary per-page cost. Daley Declaration at Exhibit C, page 6. Respectfully submitted, DATED: December 2, 2009. ROBINS, KAPLAN, MILLER & CIRESI L.L.P. By: s/Annamarie A. Daley Annamarie A. Daley Annamarie A. Daley (pro hac vice) ROBINS, KAPLAN, MILLER & CIRESI L.L.P. 2800 LaSalle Plaza 800 LaSalle Avenue Minneapolis, MN 55402 Telephone: (612) 349-8500 Facsimile: (612) 339-4181 Attorneys for Defendants COXCOM, INC., HOSPITALITY NETWORK, INC., and CABLE AMERICA CORPORATION ROBINS, KAPLAN, MILLER & CIRESI L.L.P. 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 ATTORNEYS AT LAW MINNEAPOLIS Local Rule 54-4(a) provides that "The Clerk may require and consider further affidavits and documentation as necessary to determine allowable costs." 81142090.1 2 -2- 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 PROOF OF SERVICE BY MAIL I am a partner of the law firm Robins, Kaplan, Miller & Ciresi L.L.P. My business address is 2800 LaSalle Plaza, 800 LaSalle Avenue, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55402-2015. I am readily familiar with this firm's practice for collection and processing of correspondence for mailing with the United States Postal Service. On December 2, 2009, I caused the below listed document to be served upon the parties listed in the attached service list by transmitting via the United States District Court for the Northern District of California Electronic Case Filing Program by uploading the electronic file for the below listed documents and also placed with this firm at the above address for deposit with the United States Postal Service a true and correct copy of the within document(s): COXCOM, INC., HOSPITALITY NETWORK, INC., AND CABLE AMERICA CORPORATION'S RESPONSES TO ACACIA'S OBJECTIONS TO THEIR BILL OF COSTS in a sealed envelope, postage fully paid, addressed as set forth on the attached Service List. Following ordinary business practices, the envelope was sealed and placed for collection and mailing on this date, and would, in the ordinary course of business, be deposited with the United States Postal Service on this date. I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the above is true and correct. Executed on December 2, 2009, at Minneapolis, Minnesota. s/Annamarie A. Daley Annamarie A. Daley ROBINS, KAPLAN, MILLER & CIRESI L.L.P. 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 ATTORNEYS AT LAW MINNEAPOLIS 81142090.1 -3- 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Rebecca A. Bortolotti Merchant & Gould 80 S. 8th Street Suite 3200 Minneapolis, MN 55402 Fritz Byers 824 Spitzer Bldg., 520 Madison Avenue Toledo, OH 43604 SERVICE LIST: FIRST CLASS MAIL ROBINS, KAPLAN, MILLER & CIRESI L.L.P. 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 David C. Doyle Morrison & Foerster LLP 3811 Valley Centre Dr., Ste. 500 San Diego, Ca 92130 Christopher B. Fagan Fay Sharpe Fagan Minnich & McKee 7th Floor 1100 Superior Avenue Cleveland, OH 44114-2518 C Mark Kittredge Perkins Coie Brown & Bain PA P. O. Box 400 Phoenix, AZ 85001-0400 Martin P. Michael Sonnenschein Nath & Rosenthal 1221 Avenue of the Americas New York, NY 10020 Carl E. Myers Marshall Gerstein & Borun 6300 Sears Tower 233 South Wacker Drive Chicago, IL 60606 John Francis Petrsoric Goodwin Procter LLP 599 Lexington Avenue New York, NY 10022 Paul A. Ragusa Baker Botts LLP 30 Rockefeller Plaza New York, NY 10112 Andrew D. Raymond Marshall Gerstein & Borun LLP 6300 Sears Tower 233 South Wacker Drive Chicago, IL 60606-6357 81142090.1 ATTORNEYS AT LAW MINNEAPOLIS -4- 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 John C. Reich Merchant & Gould 80 S. 8th Street Suite 3200 Minneapolis, MN 55402 ROBINS, KAPLAN, MILLER & CIRESI L.L.P. 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 81142090.1 ATTORNEYS AT LAW MINNEAPOLIS -5- 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 SERVICE LIST: ELECTRONIC NOTIFICATION Adam R. Alper aalper@kirkland.com,tiffany.lee@kirkland.com David Benyacar dbenyacar@kayescholer.com,maondca@kayescholer.com Asim M. Bhansali amb@kvn.com,efiling@kvn.com,gap@kvn.com,pwm@kvn.com Jon-Thomas Bloch jbloch@marshallip.com Alan P. Block blocka@hbdlawyers.com,effnere@hbdlawyers.com,yusonc@hbdlawyers.com Bryant Carroll Boren , Jr bryant.c.boren@bakerbotts.com,cynthia.short@bakerbotts.com Juanita R. Brooks brooks@fr.com,srodriguez@fr.com,gonzales@fr.com Robert Donald Carroll rcarroll@goodwinprocter.com Jason A. Crotty jcrotty@mofo.com,ggerrish@mofo.com Annamarie A. Daley aadaley@rkmc.com,vlriley@rkmc.com Jeffrey H. Dean jdean@marshallip.com,Ahernandez@marshallip.com,Tweber@marshallip.com,Tortman @marshallip.com DirectV Group, Inc. kgmcbride@jonesday.com Roderick G. Dorman dormanr@hbdlawyers.com,effnere@hbdlawyers.com,mccorryl@hbdlawyers.com Daralyn J. Durie ddurie@durietangri.com John C. Englander jenglander@goodwinprocter.com Paul A. Friedman pafriedman@mofo.com Sean David Garrison sgarrison@lrlaw.com,ssantiago@lrlaw.com,kwildman@lrlaw.com Benjamin Hershkowitz bhershkowitz@gibsondunn.com,aarias@gibsondunn.com Kevin D. Hogg khogg@marshallip.com Daniel E. Jackson djackson@kvn.com,mcanales@kvn.com,efiling@kvn.com Christopher W Kennerly chris.kennerly@bakerbotts.com ROBINS, KAPLAN, MILLER & CIRESI L.L.P. 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 ATTORNEYS AT LAW MINNEAPOLIS 81142090.1 -6- 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ROBINS, KAPLAN, MILLER & CIRESI L.L.P. 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 Matthew Ian Kreeger mkreeger@mofo.com,jhaskins@mofo.com Rachel Krevans rkrevans@mofo.com,rsexton@mofo.com Mitchell D. Lukin mitch.lukin@bakerbotts.com Bradford P. Lyerla blyerla@marshallip.com,lsolski@marshallip.com Christopher Scott Marchese marchese@fr.com,bbrosz@fr.com,srodriguez@fr.com Kevin G. McBride kgmcbride@jonesday.com,ctartalone@jonesday.com Harold J. McElhinny HMcElhinny@mofo.com,vsmith@mofo.com Emmett J. McMahon ejmcmahon@rkmc.com,lhbuck@rkmc.com Michael J. McNamara michael.mcnamara@bakerbotts.com Todd Glen Miller miller@fr.com,owens@fr.com Marc Morris morrism@hbdlawyers.com Marsha Ellen Mullin memullin@jonesday.com,ccwong@jonesday.com J. Timothy Nardell tim@jtnlaw.com Maria Kara Nelson mknelson@jonesday.com,aeraimer@jonesday.com William R. Overend woverend@reedsmith.com,cmosqueda@reedsmith.com,cshanahan@reedsmith.com Daniel Reisner dreisner@kayescholer.com,maondca@kayescholer.com William Joseph Robinson wrobinson@foley.com,lsaptoro@foley.com,LACA-LitigationDocket@foley.com Stephen P. Safranski spsafranski@rkmc.com,bjweiss@rkmc.com Victor George Savikas vgsavikas@jonesday.com Bobby T. Shih bshih@mount.com David Jason Silbert djs@kvn.com,efiling@kvn.com,aap@kvn.com Jonathan Elliot Singer singer@fr.com,skarboe@fr.com James Michael Slominski jslominski@hh.com,jimslominski@verizon.net Jeffrey D. Sullivan jeffrey.sullivan@bakerbotts.com -7- ATTORNEYS AT LAW MINNEAPOLIS 81142090.1 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Morgan William Tovey morgantovey@quinnemanuel.com,marinadimanlig@quinnemanuel.com Albert L. Underhill aunderhill@swlaw.com,docket_oc@swlaw.com,docket@swlaw.com Patrick J. Whalen pwhalen@spencerfane.com,ecrank@spencerfane.com William R. Woodford woodford@fr.com,stenen@fr.com,balwanz@fr.com David A. York david.york@lw.com Victor de Gyarfas vdegyarfas@foley.com ROBINS, KAPLAN, MILLER & CIRESI L.L.P. 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 81142090.1 ATTORNEYS AT LAW MINNEAPOLIS -8-

Disclaimer: Justia Dockets & Filings provides public litigation records from the federal appellate and district courts. These filings and docket sheets should not be considered findings of fact or liability, nor do they necessarily reflect the view of Justia.


Why Is My Information Online?