TV Interactive Data Corporation v. Sony Corporation et al

Filing 239

STIPULATION AND ORDER AMONG PLAINTIFF TV INTERACTIVE DATA CORPORATION AND DEFENDANTS CONCERNING DR. ANDREW WOLFE re 236 . Signed by Judge Jeremy Fogel on 11/23/10. (dlm, COURT STAFF) (Filed on 12/2/2010)

Download PDF
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [COMPLETE LIST OF COUNSEL IDENTIFIED ON SIGNATURE PAGES] UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA, SAN JOSE DIVISION TV INTERACTIVE DATA CORPORATION, Plaintiff, v. SONY CORPORATION, et al., Defendants. Case No. 10-CV-00475-JF STIPULATION AMONG PLAINTIFF TV INTERACTIVE DATA CORPORATION AND DEFENDANTS CONCERNING DR. ANDREW WOLFE AND --------------------- ORDER [PROPOSED] 10-CV-00475-JF STIPULATION CONCERNING ANDREW WOLFE 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 WHEREAS Defendants Funai Electric Co., Ltd. and Funai Corporation, Inc. (collectively, the "Funai Defendants") have notified TVI and the other parties that the Funai Defendants believe that they have a basis to object to the designation of Dr. Andrew Wolfe by TVI as a testifying expert on the grounds that Dr. Andrew Wolfe is a named inventor on multiple patent applications that members of the Funai Defendants' litigation team are currently prosecuting; WHEREAS Plaintiff TVI does not agree that the Funai Defendants have a basis to object to the designation of Dr. Andrew Wolfe by TVI as a testifying expert in this case; and WHEREAS, to resolve the Funai Defendants' alleged basis for such an objection, TVI and Defendants have agreed to an evidentiary bar relating to (1) the relationship between or among Dr. Wolfe, Baker & Hostetler LLP, the specific attorneys prosecuting the patent applications and/or the entity for whom Baker & Hostetler LLP is prosecuting the patent applications; (2) the fact that Baker & Hostetler LLP and the specific attorneys prosecuting the patent applications prosecuted such patent applications in which Dr. Wolfe is a named inventor; and (3) the fact that Baker & Hostetler LLP and the specific attorneys prosecuting the patent applications prosecuted such patent applications on behalf of the entity for whom Baker & Hostetler LLP is prosecuting the patent applications. IT IS HEREBY STIPULATED AND AGREED as follows: Neither TVI, Defendants, the parties' attorneys, the parties' representatives, nor Dr. Wolfe may reference in any further Court filing, Court hearing or jury trial in this case: (1) the relationship between or among Dr. Wolfe, Baker & Hostetler LLP, the specific attorneys prosecuting the patent applications and/or the entity for whom Baker & Hostetler LLP is prosecuting the patent applications; 10-CV-00475-JF 1 STIPULATION CONCERNING ANDREW WOLFE 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 10-CV-00475-JF (2) the fact that Baker & Hostetler LLP and the specific attorneys prosecuting the patent applications prosecuted such patent applications in which Dr. Wolfe is a named inventor; and (3) the fact that Baker & Hostetler LLP and the specific attorneys prosecuting the patent applications prosecuted such patent applications on behalf of the entity for whom Baker & Hostetler LLP is prosecuting the patent applications. Notwithstanding the above general agreement, all parties to this Stipulation reserve the right to: (1) request the Court to enforce the Stipulation in the event of an alleged breach; and (2) seek appropriate relief from the Court in the event of an alleged breach. TVI and Dr. Wolfe further reserve the right to respond should any Defendant or a non-party raise the relationship between Dr. Wolfe and Baker & Hostetler LLP. Nothing in this Stipulation shall be considered a waiver of Defendants' rights to object to Dr. Wolfe on other grounds. In addition, TVI and Dr. Wolfe reserve the right to enforce the STIPULATION AMONG PLAINTIFF TV INTERACTIVE DATA CORPORATION AND THE FUNAI DEFENDANTS CONCERNING DR. ANDREW WOLFE AND [PROPOSED] ORDER, which was separately filed with the Court. PURSUANT TO STIPULATION, IT IS SO ORDERED. Dated: 11/23/10 , 2010 /s/ Honorable Jeremy Fogel United States District Judge 2 STIPULATION CONCERNING ANDREW WOLFE 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 10-CV-00475-JF Dated: November 22, 2010 ROBINS, KAPLAN, MILLER & CIRESI L.L.P. By: /s/ Sang Young A. Brodie Sang Young A. Brodie Ronald J. Schutz Email: rjschutz@rkmc.com Richard M. Martinez Email: rmmartinez@rkmc.com Sang Young A. Brodie Email: sybrodie@rkmc.com Robins, Kaplan, Miller & Ciresi L.L.P. 800 LaSalle Avenue, 2800 LaSalle Plaza Minneapolis, MN 55402 David Martinez Email: dmartinez@rkmc.com Robins, Kaplan, Miller & Ciresi L.L.P. 2049 Century Park East, Suite 3400 Los Angeles, CA 90067-3208 Attorneys for Plaintiff TV Interactive Data Corporation 3 STIPULATION CONCERNING ANDREW WOLFE 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 10-CV-00475-JF Dated: November 22, 2010 LERNER, DAVID, LITTENBERG, KRUMHOLZ & MENTLIK, L.L.P. By: /s/ Gregory S. Gewirtz Gregory S. Gewirtz Gregory S. Gewirtz Email: ggewirtz@ldlkm.com Jonathan A. David Email: jdavid@ldlkm.com Bryan J. Sommese Email: bsommese@ldlkm.com Lerner, David, Littenberg, Krumholz & Mentlik, L.L.P. 600 South Avenue West Westfield, NJ 07090 Duane M. Geck Email: dmg@severson.com Philip Barilovits Email: pb@severson.com Severson & Werson One Embarcadero Center, Suite 2600 San Francisco, CA 94111 Attorneys for Defendants Sony Corporation; Sony Computer Entertainment Inc.; Sony Computer Entertainment America LLC; Sony Corporation of America; and Sony Electronics Inc. 4 STIPULATION CONCERNING ANDREW WOLFE 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 10-CV-00475-JF Dated: November 22, 2010 HOWREY LLP By: /s/ Jason T. Anderson Jason T. Anderson Jason T. Anderson Email: andersonj@howrey.com Christina Finn Email: finnc@howrey.com HOWREY LLP 1950 University Avenue, 4th Floor East Alto, CA 94303 Howrey LLP 1299 Pennsylvania Ave., NW Washington, DC 20004 Alan Grimaldi Email: grimaldia@howrey.com Brian Rosenthal Email: rosenthalb@howrey.com Attorneys for Defendants Royal Philips Electronics N.V. and Philips Electronics North America Corporation Dated: November 22, 2010 DLA PIPER LLP By: /s/ Ronald L. Yin Ronald L. Yin Ronald L. Yin Email: ronald.yin@dlapiper.com Mark D. Fowler Email: mark.fowler@dlapiper.com Gerald T. Sekimura Gerald.sekimura@dlapiper.com Sal Lim Email: sal.lim@dlapiper.com Erik R. Fuehrer Email: erik.fuehrer@dlapiper.com DLA Piper LLP 2000 University Avenue East Palo Alto, CA 94303 Attorneys for Defendants Toshiba Corporation, Toshiba America, Inc; and Toshiba America Consumer Products, L.L.C. 5 STIPULATION CONCERNING ANDREW WOLFE 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 10-CV-00475-JF Dated: November 22, 2010 ORRICK, HERRINGTON & SUTCLIFFE LLP By: /s/ William H. Wright William H. Wright Steven J. Routh Email: srouth@orrick.com Sten A. Jensen Email: sjensen@orrick.com Trevor C. Hill Email: thill@orrick.com T. Vann Pearce, Jr. Email: vpearce@orrick.com ORRICK, HERRINGTON & SUTCLIFFE LLP 1152 15th Street, NW Washington DC 20005 William H. Wright Email: wwright@orrick.com ORRICK, HERRINGTON & SUTCLIFFE LLP 777 South Figueroa Street, Suite 3200 Los Angeles, CA 90017 Attorneys for Defendants Victor Company of Japan, Ltd. and JVC Americas Corp. Dated: November 22, 2010 MORRISON & FORESTER LLP By: /s/ Sherman W. Kahn Sherman W. Kahn Karen Hagberg Email: khagberg@mofo.com Sherman W. Kahn Email: skahn@mofo.com Hui Liu Email: Hliu@mofo.com MORRISON & FORESTER LLP 1290 Avenue of the Americas New York, NY 10104 Attorneys for Defendants Sharp Corporation and Sharp Electronics Corporation 6 STIPULATION CONCERNING ANDREW WOLFE 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 10-CV-00475-JF Dated: November 22, 2010 BAKER & HOSTETLER LLP By: /s/ Kevin W. Kirsch Kevin W. Kirsch Kevin W. Kirsch Email: kkirsch@bakerlaw.com David A. Mancino Email: dmancino@bakerlaw.com John F. Bennett Email: Jbennett@bakerlaw.com Matthew P. Hayden Email: mhayden@bakerlaw.com Baker & Hostetler LLP 312 Walnut Street, Ste. 3200 Cincinnati, OH 45202 Hayes F. Michel Email: hmichel@bakerlaw.com Baker & Hostetler, LLP 12100 Wilshire Boulevard Los Angeles, CA 90025 Attorneys for Defendants Funai Electric Co. Ltd. and Funai Corporation, Inc. Dated: November 22, 2010 MORRISON & FOERSTER LLP By: /s/ Karl J. Kramer Karl J. Kramer Karl J. Kramer Email: kkramer@mofo.com Rick S. Ballinger Email: rballinger@mofo.com Morrison & Foerster LLP 755 Page Mill Road Palo Alto, CA 94304 Jack W. Londen Email: jlonden@mofo.com Morrison & Foerster LLP Shin-Marunouchi 1-Chome Tokyo, Chiyoda-ku 100-6529, Japan Attorneys for D&M Holdings Inc.; D&M Holdings US, Inc.; and Denon Electronics (USA), LLC 7 STIPULATION CONCERNING ANDREW WOLFE 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 10-CV-00475-JF I, Kevin W. Kirsch, am the ECF user whose ID and password are being used to file this STIPULATION AMONG PLAINTIFF TV INTERACTIVE DATA CORPORATION AND DEFENDANTS CONCERNING DR. ANDREW WOLFE AND [PROPOSED] ORDER. In compliance with General Order 45, X.B., I hereby attest that Sang Young A. Brodie, Gregory S. Gewirtz, Jason T. Anderson, Ronald L. Yin, William H. Wright, Sherman W. Kahn, and Karl J. Kramer have concurred in this filing. Dated: November 22, 2010 /s/ Kevin W. Kirsch Kevin W. Kirsch 8 STIPULATION CONCERNING ANDREW WOLFE 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 10-CV-00475-JF CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE I declare that I am employed with the law firm of Baker & Hostetler LLP, whose address is 312 Walnut Street, Suite 3200, Cincinnati, Ohio 45202. I am not a party to the within cause, and I am over the age of eighteen years. I further declare that on November 22, 2010, I served the following: STIPULATION AMONG PLAINTIFF TV INTERACTIVE DATA CORPORATION AND DEFENDANTS CONCERNING DR. ANDREW WOLFE AND [PROPOSED] ORDER BY ELECTRONIC SERVICE by electronically mailing a true and correct copy through Baker & Hostetler LLP's electronic mail system to the e-mail addresses set forth below per agreement of the parties in accordance with Fed. R. Civ. P. 5(b). Alan Grimaldi Email: GrimaldiA@howrey.com Howrey LLP 1299 Pennsylvania Ave., NW Washington, DC 20004-2402 Trevor J. Foster Email: tjfoster@rkmc.com Robins Kaplan Miller & Ciresi LLP 2800 LaSalle Plaza 800 LaSalle Avenue Minneapolis, MN 55402 Sten Anker Jensen Email: sjensen@orrick.com Orrick Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP 1152 15th St. NW Washington, DC 20005 Steven J. Routh Email: srouth@orrick.com Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP 1152 15th Street, NW Washington, DC 20005 BY MAIL by placing the envelope for collection and mailing following our ordinary business practices. I am readily familiar with the firm's practice of collecting and processing correspondence for mailing. On the same day that correspondence is placed for collection and mailing, it is deposited in the ordinary course of business with the United States Postal Service in Cincinnati, Ohio, in sealed envelopes with postage fully prepaid. I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true and correct. Executed on November 22, 2010, 2010, in Cincinnati, Ohio. /s/ John F. Bennett John F. Bennett 9 STIPULATION CONCERNING ANDREW WOLFE

Disclaimer: Justia Dockets & Filings provides public litigation records from the federal appellate and district courts. These filings and docket sheets should not be considered findings of fact or liability, nor do they necessarily reflect the view of Justia.


Why Is My Information Online?