Zions Bancorporation v. U.S. Ethernet Innovations LLC

Filing 98

ORDER re (95 in 5:10-cv-03481-JW) Notice (Other) filed by U.S. Ethernet Innovations LLC. Signed by Judge James Ware on January 20, 2012. (jwlc2, COURT STAFF) (Filed on 1/20/2012)

Download PDF
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 8 FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA 9 SAN FRANCISCO DIVISION U.S. Ethernet Innovations, LLC, 11 For the Northern District of California United States District Court 10 12 13 Plaintiff, v. ORDER RE. NOTICE REGARDING ALTERNATIVE DISPUTE RESOLUTION PROGRAM Acer, Inc., et al, 14 15 NO. C 10-03724 JW NO. C 10-05254 JW NO. C 10-03481 JW / AT&T, Inc., et al., 16 Defendants. 17 18 / Zions Bancorporation, et al., 19 20 21 Plaintiffs, v. U.S. Ethernet Innovations, LLC, 22 Defendant. 23 / 24 25 26 On December 12, 2011, Plaintiff in the above-captioned cases filed a Notice Regarding Alternative Dispute Resolution Program.1 In its Notice, Plaintiff contends that it is “unclear” 27 1 28 (Notice Regarding Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) Multi-Option Program, hereafter, “Notice,” Docket Item No. 95 in No. C 10-3481 JW.) 1 whether these actions remain assigned to the Court’s Alternative Dispute Resolution (“ADR”) 2 program. (Id. at 2.) Further, Plaintiff contends that it has been “unable to reach an agreement” with 3 Defendants on “any form of ADR process,” and “requests clarification” regarding the status of these 4 actions with regard to ADR. (Id. at 2-3.) Defendants respond that there is “no current requirement 5 for the parties to participate in ADR in these cases,” and that the Court “should not require the 6 multitude of defendants . . . to submit to ADR until after the Court determines the appropriate 7 structure” for the cases.2 8 9 Upon review, the Court finds that requiring the parties to engage in the ADR process would be premature at this time. In its May 11, 2011 Order, the Court explained that it had “repeatedly emphasized that it intends to initially limit this action to claim construction proceedings that will be 11 For the Northern District of California United States District Court 10 binding on all parties in order to assist the Court in identifying which parties are the proper 12 defendants.”3 Thus, it would be premature to require Defendants to engage in the ADR process, 13 insofar as this action is still at the stage of claim construction proceedings. 14 15 Accordingly, the Court finds that this action is not subject to the ADR process at this time and removes any pending referral to the ADR program. 16 17 Dated: January 20, 2012 JAMES WARE United States District Chief Judge 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 2 (Response to Plaintiff’s Notice Regarding Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) Multi-Option Program at 1, Docket Item No. 96 in No. C 10-3481 JW.) 3 27 (Order Denying Plaintiff’s Motion for Clarification of the Patent Scheduling Order at 2, Docket Item No. 55 in No. C 10-3481 JW.) 28 2 1 THIS IS TO CERTIFY THAT COPIES OF THIS ORDER HAVE BEEN DELIVERED TO: 2 Andy Tindel atindel@andytindel.com Anthony H. Son ason@wileyrein.com Ashlea Pflug araymond@winston.com Barry Kenneth Shelton shelton@fr.com Benjamin Charles Elacqua elacqua@fr.com Brian Christopher Claassen Brian.Claassen@kmob.com Bruce A Smith bsmith@jwfirm.com Charlene Marie Morrow cmorrow@fenwick.com Charles Ainsworth charley@pbatyler.com Christopher Frederick Jeu cjeu@mofo.com Christopher Needham Cravey ccravey@wmalaw.com Christopher Ronald Noyes christopher.noyes@wilmerhale.com Craig Steven Summers 2css@kmob.com Danny Lloyd Williams dwilliams@wmalaw.com Darryl Michael Woo dwoo@fenwick.com David J Healey healey@fr.com David J. Healey Healey@fr.com David Lee Gann dgann@rgrdlaw.com David T McDonald david.mcdonald@klgates.com David T Pollock dpollock@reedsmith.com Deron R Dacus ddacus@rameyflock.com Dominic E. Massa dominic.massa@wilmerhale.com Douglas R. Young dyoung@fbm.com E Joseph Benz jbenz@csgrr.com Eric Louis Toscano etoscano@reedsmith.com Garland T. Stephens stephens@fr.com Harold H Davis harold.davis@klgates.com Hector J. Ribera hribera@fenwick.com Hiep Huu Nguyen hnguyen@winston.com Hsiang H. Lin jlin@ftbklaw.com Irfan A Lateef 2ial@kmob.com Irfan Ahmed Lateef ial@kmob.com Jack Wesley Hill fedserv@icklaw.com Jack Wesley Hill fedserv@icklaw.com James Patrick Brogan jbrogan@cooley.com Jason S Jackson jjackson@rgrdlaw.com Jeffrey Fuming Yee yeej@gtlaw.com Jeffrey K. Joyner joynerj@gtlaw.com Jennifer Parker Ainsworth jainsworth@wilsonlawfirm.com Jessica M. Kattula jkattula@rgrdlaw.com John Christopher Herman jherman@rgrdlaw.com John K. Grant johnkg@rgrdlaw.com John Philip Brinkmann brinkmann@fr.com John W Thornburgh thornburgh@fr.com Jonah D Mitchell jmitchell@reedsmith.com Jonah Dylan Mitchell jmitchell@reedsmith.com Jordan Jaffe jordanjaffe@quinnemanuel.com Karl J Kramer kkramer@mofo.com Kevin P.B. Johnson kevinjohnson@quinnemanuel.com Kimball R Anderson kanderson@winston.com Kyle D Chen kyle.chen@cooley.com 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 11 For the Northern District of California United States District Court 10 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 3 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 11 For the Northern District of California United States District Court 10 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 Kyung Kim dkim@wmalaw.com Lam Khanh Nguyen lnguyen@cooley.com Laura Katherine Carter lcarter@winston.com Lillian J Pan lpan@orrick.com Lionel Marks Lavenue Lionel.Lavenue@finnegan.com Mahmoud Munes Tomeh 2mmt@kmob.com Mark Daniel Selwyn mark.selwyn@wilmerhale.com Marko R Zoretic 2mrz@kmob.com Matthew Clay Harris mch@emafirm.com Matthew J. Brigham mbrigham@cooley.com Michael J Newton mike.newton@alston.com Michael J. Bettinger mike.bettinger@klgates.com Michael L Brody Mbrody@winston.com Nicholas James Nugent nicholas.nugent@finnegan.com Patricia Kane Schmidt patricia.schmidt@klgates.com Peter M Jones pjones@rgrdlaw.com Ray R. Zado rayzado@quinnemanuel.com Richard T Ting rting@reedsmith.com Robert Christopher Bunt rcbunt@pbatyler.com Robert M Parker rmparker@pbatyler.com Roderick Bland Williams rick.williams@klgates.com Roger Brian Craft bcraft@findlaycraft.com Ruben Singh Bains rbains@wmalaw.com Ryan K. Walsh rwalsh@rgrdlaw.com Scott D. Baker sbaker@reedsmith.com Scott Richard Mosko scott.mosko@finnegan.com Sean Sang-Chul Pak seanpak@quinnemanuel.com Seth M Sproul sproul@fr.com Seth McCarthy Sproul sproul@fr.com Steven S. Baik sbaik@ftbklaw.com Thomas J. Friel tfriel@cooley.com Thomas John Ward jw@jwfirm.com Thomas John Ward jw@jwfirm.com Timothy Paar Walker timothy.walker@klgates.com Todd Richard Gregorian tgregorian@fenwick.com William F. Lee william.lee@wilmerhale.com 19 20 Dated: January 20, 2012 Richard W. Wieking, Clerk 21 By: 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 4 /s/ JW Chambers Susan Imbriani Courtroom Deputy

Disclaimer: Justia Dockets & Filings provides public litigation records from the federal appellate and district courts. These filings and docket sheets should not be considered findings of fact or liability, nor do they necessarily reflect the view of Justia.

Why Is My Information Online?