Compression Technology Solutions LLC v. CA, Inc. et al

Filing 223

ORDER granting stipulation. Signed by Judge Whyte on 11/19/2012. (rmwlc2, COURT STAFF) (Filed on 11/19/2012)

Download PDF
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Paul A. Lesko plesko@simmonsfirm.com Jo Anna Pollock jpollock@simmonsfirm.com Stephen C. Smith ssmith@simmonsfirm.com SIMMONS BROWDER GIANARIS ANGELIDES & BARNERD LLC One Court Street Alton, IL 62002 (618) 259-2222 Attorneys for Plaintiff Compression Technology Solutions, LLC Gregory S. Bishop; gbishop@goodwinprocter.com Thomas F. Fitzpatrick; tfitzpatrick@goodwinprocter.com Charles F. Koch; ckoch@goodwinprocter.com Daniel W. Richards; drichards@goodwinprocter.com GOODWIN PROCTER LLP 135 Commonwealth Drive Menlo Park, CA 94025 (650) 752-3100 Attorneys for Defendant NetApp, Inc. 14 15 16 Jesse J. Jenner jesse.jenner@ropesgray.com Khue V. Hoang; khue.hoang@ropesgray.com Josef B. Schenker josef.schenker@ropesgray.com ROPES & GRAY LLP 1211 Avenue of the Americas New York, NY 10036 (212) 596-9000 James Batchelder james.batchelder@ropesgray.com Matthew R. Clements; matthew.clements@ropesgray.com ROPES & GRAY LLP th 1900 University Ave, 6 Floor East Palo Alto, CA 94303 (650) 617-4000 Attorneys for Defendant EMC Corporation Daralyn J. Durie ddurie@durietangri.com Clement S. Roberts croberts@durietangri.com Lara A. Rogers lrogers@durietangri.com Brian C. Howard bhoward@durietangri.com DURIE TANGRI LLP 217 Leidesdorff Street San Francisco, CA 94111 (415) 362-6666 Attorneys for Defendant Quantum Corp. 17 IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 18 FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA 19 SAN JOSE DIVISION 20 21 COMPRESSION TECHNOLOGY SOLUTIONS LLC, 22 23 24 25 26 Plaintiff, v. EMC CORPORATION, NETAPP, INC., AND QUANTUM CORP., Case No. 5:12-cv-01746-RMW STIPULATION AND [PROPOSED] ORDER TO EXTEND TIME FOR INVALIDITY CONTENTIONS AND DOCUMENTS ACCOMPANYING INVALIDITY CONTENTIONS Ctrm: Courtroom 6 - 4th Floor Judge: Honorable Ronald M. Whyte Defendants. 27 28 STIPULATION AND [PROPOSED] ORDER TO EXTEND TIME FOR INVALIDITY CONTENTIONS AND DOCUMENTS ACCOMPANYING INVALIDITY CONTENTIONS / CASE NO. 5:12-CV-01746- RMW 1 2 3 WHEREAS the Court issued a Scheduling Order on October 11, 2012 setting the dates for discovery deadlines; WHEREAS the current deadline for service of Invalidity Contentions and production of 4 Documents Accompanying Invalidity Contentions pursuant to Patent L.Rs. 3-3 and 3-4 is 5 November 26, 2012; 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 WHEREAS on September 17, 2012 the Defendants filed a motion for summary judgment of invalidity; WHEREAS on October 19, 2012 the Plaintiff filed a motion to stay the November 2, 2012 hearing on Defendants’ motion for summary judgment; WHEREAS on November 2, 2012 the Court heard oral arguments on Defendants’ motion for summary judgment and Plaintiff’s motion to stay; and WHEREAS the parties have stipulated, pursuant to Civil L.R. 6-2, to extend the time for 13 Defendants to serve Invalidity Contentions pursuant to Patent L.R. 3-3 and to produce 14 Documents Accompanying Invalidity Contentions pursuant to Patent L.R. 3-4 until 20 days after 15 the Court issues its ruling on Defendants’ motion for summary judgment of invalidity; 16 17 18 NOW, THEREFORE, the parties hereby STIPULATE AND AGREE, and request the Court to order, as follows: The deadline for Defendants to serve Invalidity Contentions and produce Documents 19 Accompanying Invalidity Contentions, pursuant to Patent L.Rs. 3-3 and 3-4, shall be stayed until 20 20 days after the Court’s ruling on Defendants’ motion for summary judgment of invalidity. All 21 dates following the disclosure of Invalidity Contentions shall be stayed pending adjudication of 22 Defendants’ summary judgment motion. 23 /// 24 /// 25 /// 26 /// 27 /// 28 /// 1 STIPULATION AND [PROPOSED] ORDER TO EXTEND TIME FOR INVALIDITY CONTENTIONS AND DOCUMENTS ACCOMPANYING INVALIDITY CONTENTIONS / CASE NO. 5:12-CV-01746- RMW 1 ROPES & GRAY Dated: November 14, 2012 2 By: 3 /s/ Khue V. Hoang KHUE V. HOANG 4 Attorneys for Defendant EMC CORPORATION 5 6 DURIE TANGRI LLP Dated: November 14, 2012 By: 7 8 /s/ Clement S. Roberts CLEMENT S. ROBERTS Attorneys for Defendant QUANTUM CORP. 9 10 GOODWIN PROCTOR LLP Dated: November 14, 2012 11 By: 12 13 Attorneys for Defendant NETAPP, INC. 14 15 /s/ Gregory S. Bishop GREGORY S. BISHOP SIMMONS BROWDER GIANARIS ANGELIDES & BARNERD LLC Dated: November 14, 2012 16 By: 17 18 /s/ Paul A. Lesko PAUL A. LESKO Attorneys for Plaintiff COMPRESSION TECHNOLOGY SOLUTIONS, LLC 19 20 21 IT IS SO ORDERED. 22 DATED: November 19, 2012 HON. RONALD M. WHYTE UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE 23 24 25 26 27 28 2 STIPULATION AND [PROPOSED] ORDER TO EXTEND TIME FOR INVALIDITY CONTENTIONS AND DOCUMENTS ACCOMPANYING INVALIDITY CONTENTIONS / CASE NO. 5:12-CV-01746- RMW 1 2 3 FILER’S ATTESTATION Pursuant to Civil L.R. 5-1(i)(3), regarding signatures, I, Clement S. Roberts, attest that concurrence in the filing of this document has been obtained. 4 5 Dated: November 14, 2012 /s/ Clement S. Roberts CLEMENT S. ROBERTS 6 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 7 8 9 I certify that all counsel of record is being served on November 14, 2012 with a copy of this document via the Court’s CM/ECF system. 10 11 Dated: November 14, 2012 /s/ Clement S. Roberts CLEMENT S. ROBERTS 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 3 STIPULATION AND [PROPOSED] ORDER TO EXTEND TIME FOR INVALIDITY CONTENTIONS AND DOCUMENTS ACCOMPANYING INVALIDITY CONTENTIONS / CASE NO. 5:12-CV-01746- RMW

Disclaimer: Justia Dockets & Filings provides public litigation records from the federal appellate and district courts. These filings and docket sheets should not be considered findings of fact or liability, nor do they necessarily reflect the view of Justia.


Why Is My Information Online?