Vulcan Golf, LLC v. Google Inc. et al

Filing 196

MOTION by Plaintiff Vulcan Golf, LLC to certify class (Foote, Robert)

Download PDF
Vulcan Golf, LLC v. Google Inc. et al Doc. 196 IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS EASTERN DIVISION Lead Plaintiffs, v. GOOGLE INC., OVERSEE.NET, SEDO LLC, DOTSTER, INC., AKA REVENUEDIRECT.COM, INTERNET REIT, INC. d/b/a IREIT, INC., and JOHN DOES I-X, Defendants. VULCAN GOLF, LLC, JOHN B. SANFILIPPO & SON, INC., BLITZ REALTYGROUP, INC., and VINCENT E. "BO" JACKSON, Individually and on Behalf of All Others Similarly Situated, Civil Action No. 07 CV 3371 Hon. Blanche M. Manning MOTION FOR CLASS CERTIFICATION NOW COMES Lead Plaintiffs, individually and on behalf of all others similarly situated, and bring this Motion for Class Certification against Defendants Google, Inc., Oversee.net, Sedo, LLC, Dotster, LLC a/k/a Revenuedirect.com, Internet Reit, Inc. d/b/a Ireit, Inc., and John Does IX (hereinafter collectively referred to as "Defendants"), pursuant to Rule 23 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, and for their motion state as follows: 1. Lead Plaintiffs filed this action in the Northern District of Illinois, seeking to recover damages they suffered as a direct and proximate result of Defendants' Deceptive Domain Scheme. 2. Lead Plaintiffs seek to have a class certified Pursuant to Rule 23 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure with respect to four counts of the Third Amended Complaint: Count IV Dockets.Justia.com (cybersquatting in violation of the ACPA, 15 U.S.C. 1125(d)), Counts IX and X (contributory and vicarious trademark infringement) and Count XII (unjust enrichment). 3. The proposed class consists of: Any individual or owner of a mark whose personal name or mark is identical or confusingly similar to a parked domain name that has been registered, trafficked in or used for commercial gain, by one or more of the Defendants, during the period of time January 1, 2002 through the present. (the "Class"). The proposed class may be divided into subclasses as follows: Subclass 1: Owners of marks that were registered with the United States Patent and Trademark Office prior to Defendant(s) monetization of the identical or confusingly similar parked domain name. Subclass 2: Owners of marks that were not registered with the United States Patent and Trademark Office prior to Defendant(s) monetization of the identical or confusingly similar parked domain name. Subclass 3: Individuals whose personal name is identical or confusingly similar to a parked domain name. 4. In support of their motion, Lead Plaintiffs have concurrently filed and hereby incorporate by reference their Memorandum of Law in Support of Plaintiffs' Motion for Class Certification. WHEREFORE, Lead Plaintiffs hereby move the Court for an Order granting Plaintiffs' Motion for Class Certification and: 1. Certifying this case as requested pursuant to Rule 23 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure Defining the class as proposed herein; Designating Lead Plaintiffs as representatives of the class; Designating Lead Plaintiffs' counsel as counsel for the class. 2. 3. 4. Dated: August 21, 2008 By: FOOTE, MEYERS, MIELKE & FLOWERS, LLC /s/ Robert M. Foote Robert M. Foote, Esq. Craig S. Mielke, Esq. Matthew J. Herman, Esq. Stephen W. Fung, Esq. Mark A. Bulgarelli, Esq. Foote, Meyers, Mielke & Flowers, LLC 28 North First St., Suite 2 Geneva, IL 60134 Tel. No.: (630) 232-6333 Fax No.: (630) 845-8982 Kathleen C. Chavez, Esq. Chavez Law Firm, P.C. 28 North First St., Suite 2 Geneva, IL 60134 William J. Harte, Esq. Dana Pesha, Esq. William J. Harte, Ltd. 111 West Washington Street, Suite 1100 Chicago, IL 60602 Benjamin G. Edelman, Esq. Law Office of Benjamin Edelman 27a Linnaean Street Cambridge, MA 02138 Tel. No.: (617) 359-3360 Bryan L. Clobes, Esq. Cafferty Faucher, LLP 1717 Arch Street Suite 3610 Philadelphia, PA 19103 Nyran Rose Pearson, Esq. Dom J. Rizzi, Esq. Cafferty Faucher LLP 30 North LaSalle Street Suite 3200 Chicago, IL 60602 Attorneys for Plaintiffs CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE I hereby certify that on August 21, 2008, I electronically filed the foregoing document with the clerk of court for the U. S. District Court, Northern District of Illinois, using the electronic case filing system of the court. The electronic case filing system sent a "Notice of Electronic Filing" to the following attorneys of record who have consented in writing to accept this Notice as service of this document by electronic means: Brett A. August baugust@pattishall.com Michael H. Page mhp@kvn.com Mariah Moran mmoran@stetlerandduffy.com edocket@stetlerandduffy.com Janelle M. Carter jcarter@winston.com ECF_CH@winston.com Alison Conlon conlon@wildmanharrold.com ecf-filings@wildmanharrold.com hardt@wildmanharrold.com Joseph Gratz jgratz@kvn.com Alexis Payne aep@pattishall.com Jeffrey Singer jsinger@smsm.com Anastasios Foukas afoukas@smsm.com Michael R. Dockterman dockterman@wildmanharrold.com ecf-filings@wildmanharrold.com eckertm@wildmanharrold.com Kenneth P. Held kheld@velaw.com Steven Borgman sborgman@velaw.com jwarren@velaw.com steveborgman@gmail.com yshumaker@velaw.com Bradley L. Cohn bcohn@pattishall.com Jonathan M. Cyrluk cyrluk@stetlerandduffy.com edocket@stetlerandduffy.com Misty Martin mmartin@smsm.com Ronald Rothstein rrothsstein@winston.com ECF_CH@winston.com mconroy@winston.com Scott R. Wiehle swiehle@velaw.com Joseph Duffy jduffy@stetlerandduffy.com bdorgan@stetlerandduffy.com edocket@stetlerandduffy.com William J. Harte wharte@williamharteltd.com mccarey@williamharteltd.com Scott Ryan Wiehle swiehle@velaw.com Dana Marie Pesha dpesha@williamharteltd.com mccarey@williamharteltd.com Aaron Van Oort mavanoort@faegre.com I certify that I have served the foregoing document by emailing a copy to the following individuals: Steven Atlee SAtlee@winston.com Joanna J. Cline clinej@pepperlaw.com Vincent V. Carissimi carissimiv@pepperlaw.com Robert J. Hickok hickokr@pepperlaw.com /s/Robert M. Foote

Disclaimer: Justia Dockets & Filings provides public litigation records from the federal appellate and district courts. These filings and docket sheets should not be considered findings of fact or liability, nor do they necessarily reflect the view of Justia.


Why Is My Information Online?