Beneficial Innovations, Inc. v. Careerbuilder, LLC et al

Filing 144

Joint MOTION For Entry of a Discovery Order by Beneficial Innovations, Inc., Comcast Corporation, Disney Online, Google, Inc., IAC Search & Media, Inc., Morris Communications Company, LLC, NBC Universal, Inc., The New York Times Company, YouTube, LLC. (Attachments: # 1 Exhibit 1 (Discovery Order))(Watson, Violetta) Modified on 11/1/2010 (ch, ).

Download PDF
Beneficial Innovations, Inc. v. Careerbuilder, LLC et al Doc. 144 IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS MARSHALL DIVISION BENEFICIAL INNOVATIONS, INC., Plaintiff, v. CAREERBUILDER, LLC, ET AL. Defendants. CASE NO. 2:09-CV-175-TJW Jury Trial Demanded JOINT MOTION FOR ENTRY OF A DISCOVERY ORDER Plaintiff Beneficial Innovations, Inc. and Defendants Comcast Corporation, Disney Online, Google Inc., IAC Search & Media, Inc., Morris Communications Company, LLC, NBC Universal, Inc., The New York Times Company, and YouTube, LLC hereby jointly move the Court to enter a Discovery Order in the above-referenced case. In support of their Joint Motion, the parties state: 1. The parties have conferred and have agreed to the provisions of a proposed Discovery Order in the above-referenced case, with the exception of 1) the number of hours of inventor deposition time to be included in paragraphs 5(A) and 5(B) of the attached Discovery Order, and 2) whether the time limit for expert depositions should be counted on a per expert basis or a per expert report basis, in paragraph 5(C). With respect to the number of hours of inventor deposition time, Plaintiff believes that because (i) the inventors have already been deposed for at least 21 hours in the two related matters that involve patents that share the same specification and date of conception, and (ii) the parties to this litigation have agreed that the prior deposition testimony of the inventors may be used in this litigation, Defendants should not Dockets.Justia.com be entitled to any additional deposition time above the seven hour limit for all witnesses. Defendants believe that they are entitled to a collective fourteen hours of deposition time with each named inventor because the instant litigation involves (i) a new patent with claims that are different from the patents in the related litigations, (ii) new defendants that were not named in the related actions, and (iii) a yet unknown number of accused products and asserted claims. Attached at Exhibit 1 is a proposed Discovery Order reflecting the parties' agreements and identifying Plaintiff and Defendants' competing proposals for issues on which they disagree. 2. In light of the fact that no agreement can be reached between the parties as to these two issues, the parties respectfully request that the Court decide those issues and set forth the amount of time for inventor depositions and the manner in which time will be counted for expert depositions. The parties will then submit a revised Discovery Order reflecting the Court's ruling on that issue. Date: October 29, 2010 Respectfully submitted, /s/ Violetta G. Watson Melissa Richards Smith Gillam & Smith, LLP 303 South Washington Avenue Marshall, TX 75670 Telephone: (903) 934-9257 E-mail: melissa@gillamsmithlaw.com Mark G. Matuschak Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP 60 State Street Boston, MA 02109 Telephone: (617) 526-6000 E-mail: mark.matuschak@wilmerhale.com -2- Kate Hutchins Violetta G. Watson Cosmin Maier Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP 399 Park Avenue New York, NY 10022 Telephone: (212) 230-8800 E-mail: kate.hutchins@wilmerhale.com E-mail: violetta.watson@wilmerhale.com E-mail: cosmin.maier@wilmerhale.com ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANTS GOOGLE INC., NBC UNIVERSAL, INC., AND YOUTUBE, LLC /s/ Michael James Guthrie (with permission) Gregory Loren Maag Conley Rose 600 Travis St Suite 7100 Houston, TX 77002 Telephone: (713) 238-8040 E-mail: gmaag@conleyrose.com Michael James Guthrie Conley Rose 5700 Granite Parkway Suite 330 Plano, TX 75024-6616 Telephone: (713) 238-8000 E-mail: mguthrie@conleyrose.com Michael E. Jones Potter Minton PC 110 N College Suite 500 PO Box 359 Tyler, TX 75710-0359 Telephone: (930) 597-8311 E-mail: mikejones@potterminton.com ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANT MORRIS COMMUNICATIONS COMPANY, LLC -3- /s/ Brian S. Rosenbloom (with permission) Samuel Franklin Baxter McKool Smith P.O. Box O 104 East Houston St., Suite 300 Marshall, TX 75670 Telephone: (903) 923-9000 E-mail: sbaxter@mckoolsmith.com Ada Elene Brown McKool Smith 300 Crescent Court Suite 1500 Dallas, TX 75201 Telephone: (214) 978-4088 E-mail: aebrown@mckoolsmith.com Brian S. Rosenbloom Oliver Edwards Rothwell, Figg, Ernst & Manbeck 1425 K Street, N.W. Suite 800 Washington, DC 20005 Telephone: (202) 783-6040 E-mail: brosenbloom@rfem.com E-mail: oedwards@rfem.com ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANT THE NEW YORK TIMES COMPANY /s/ David J. Silbert (with permission) Daniel K. Nazer David J. Silbert Keker & Van Nest 710 Sansome St. San Francisco, CA 94111 Telephone: (415) 391-5400 E-mail: dnazer@kvn.com E-mail: DSilbert@kvn.com Deron R. Dacus Ramey & Flock 100 East Ferguson Suite 500 Tyler, TX 75702 Telephone: (903) 597-3301 E-mail: ddacus@rameyflock.com -4- ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANT COMCAST CORPORATION /s/ Kevin A. Smith (with permission) Charles K. Verhoeven Howard Y. Chen Jennifer A. Kash Kevin A. Smith Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan LLP 50 California Street 22nd Floor San Francisco, CA 94111 Telephone: (415) 875-6600 E-mail: charlesverhoeven@quinnemanuel.com E-mail: howardchen@quinnemanuel.com E-mail: jenniferkash@quinnemanuel.com E-mail: kevinsmith@quinnemanuel.com J. Thad Heartfield M. Dru Montgomery The Heartfield Law Firm 2195 Dowlen Rd. Beaumont, TX 77706 Telephone: (409) 866-3318 E-mail: thad@jth-law.com E-mail: dru@jth-law.com ATTORNEYS FOR DISNEY ONLINE AND IAC SEARCH & MEDIA, INC. /s/ Julien Adams (with permission) S. Calvin Capshaw State Bar No. 03783900 Elizabeth L. DeRieux State Bar No. 05770585 Brown McCarroll, L.L.P. 1127 Judson Road, Suite 220 Longview, TX 75601 Telephone: (903) 236-9800 Facsimile: (903) 236-8787 E-mail: capshaw@mailbmc.com E-mail: ederieux@mailbmc.com -5- Gregory Scott Dovel CA State Bar No. 135387 Julien Adams CA State Bar No. 156135 Dovel & Luner, LLP 201 Santa Monica Blvd., Suite 600 Santa Monica, CA 90401 Phone: (310) 656-7066 Fax: (310) 656-7069 E-mail: greg@dovellaw.com E-mail: julien@dovellaw.com ATTORNEYS FOR PLAINTIFF BENEFICIAL INNOVATIONS, INC. CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE The undersigned hereby certifies that all counsel of record who are deemed to have consented to electronic service are being served with a copy of this document via the Court's CM/ECF system per Local Rule CV-5(a)(3) on October 29, 2010. /s/ Violetta G. Watson Violetta G. Watson -6-

Disclaimer: Justia Dockets & Filings provides public litigation records from the federal appellate and district courts. These filings and docket sheets should not be considered findings of fact or liability, nor do they necessarily reflect the view of Justia.


Why Is My Information Online?