Blaszkowski et al v. Mars Inc. et al

Filing 202

MOTION to Dismiss for Lack of Jurisdiction 156 Amended Complaint, by Meijer Inc.. Responses due by 10/4/2007 (Attachments: # 1)(Joffe, Jason)

Download PDF
Blaszkowski et al v. Mars Inc. et al Doc. 202 Case 1:07-cv-21221-CMA Document 202 Entered on FLSD Docket 09/20/2007 Page 1 of 11 UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA MIAMI DIVISION CASE NO. 07-21221-CIV-ALTONAGA/TURNOFF RENEE BLASZKOWSKI, AMY HOLLUM, PATRICIA DAVIS, SUSAN PETERS, DEBORAH HOCK, MIKE FLOYD, BETH WILSON, CLAIRE KOTZAMPALTIRIS, DONNA HOPKINS-JONES, NICOLE PIAZZA, MARIAN LUPO, JANE HERRING, JO-ANN MURPHY, STEPHANIE STONE, PATRICIA HANRAHAN, DEBBIE RICE, ANN QUINN, SHARON MATHIESEN, SANDY SHORE, CAROLYN WHITE, LOU WIGGINS, MICHELLE LUCARELLI, RAUL ISERN, DANIELE VALORAS, individually and on behalf of others similarly situated, Plaintiffs/Class Representatives, vs. MARS, INC., MARS PETCARE US, INC., PROCTOR AND GAMBLE, CO., THE IAMS CO., COLGATE PALMOLIVE COMPANY, HILL'S PET NUTRITION, DEL MONTE FOODS, CO., NESTLE USA INC., NESTLE PURINA PETCARE CO., NESTLE S.A., NUTRO PRODUCTS INC., MENU FOODS, INC., MENU FOODS INCOME FUND, DOANE PET CARE ENTERPRISES, INC., PUBLIX SUPERMARKETS, INC., NEW ALBERTSON'S INC., ALBERTSON'S LLC, THE KROGER CO. OF OHIO, SAFEWAY INC., H. E. BUTT GROCERY COMPANY, MEIJER INC., MEIJER SUPER MARKETS, INC., THE STOP & SHOP SUPERMARKET COMPANY, PETCO ANIMAL SUPPLIES STORES, INC., PET SUPERMARKET, INC., PET SUPPLIES "PLUS," PET SUPPLIES PLUS/USA INC., PETSMART INC., TARGET CORP., WAL-MART STORES, INC., Defendants. ___________________________________________________/ DEFENDANT MEIJER, INC.'S MOTION TO DISMISS FOR LACK OF PERSONAL JURISDICTION Dockets.Justia.com Case 1:07-cv-21221-CMA Document 202 Entered on FLSD Docket 09/20/2007 Page 2 of 11 CASE NO. 07-21221-CIV-ALTONAGA/TURNOFF Defendant Meijer, Inc. files this Motion to Dismiss the Corrected Amended Class Action Complaint under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 12(b)(2) for lack of personal jurisdiction. In support, Meijer, Inc. states: 1. As this Court is aware, the plaintiffs have filed a putative class-action (corrected amended) complaint against twenty-six defendants that makes various allegations concerning the manufacturing and marketing practices of the entire pet food industry in the United States. The core of the plaintiffs' attack is the claim that the commercial pet food industry advertises its dog and cat food products as healthy and nutritious without disclosing allegedly harmful ingredients. 2. The plaintiffs, however, do not allege that any one of them purchased food sold or manufactured by Meijer, Inc. in the State of Florida. 3. 4. The plaintiffs do not allege that Meijer, Inc. ever advertised in Florida.1 The plaintiffs' Corrected Amended Class Action Complaint includes only one specific allegation as to Meijer, Inc. and an entity they have named "Meijer Supermarkets, Inc.", which has now been dismissed: Defendant, Meijer Inc., is a Michigan corporation with its principal place of business in Grand Rapids, Michigan2 and Defendant Meijer Supermarkets, Inc., is a Michigan corporation with its principal place of business in Grand Rapids, Michigan (collectively "Meijer"). Meijer is in the business of manufacturing, producing, distributing, advertising and/or selling Defendant pet food products. Meijer markets and sells the Defendant Manufacturers' brands of commercial pet food in its grocery stores in Michigan and other states. Meijer adopts the marketing representations of the Defendant Manufacturers by placing point of purchase advertising at or near the Defendant Manufacturers [sic] pet food in its retail stores. Meijer markets and advertises its commercial pet food with the intent to induce consumers to purchase its products. (See Corrected Amended Class Action Complaint at 46.) 5. 1 In fact, Meijer, Inc.: Subject to this motion, Meijer joins in the comprehensive motion to dismiss submitted by all defendants under Federal Rules of Civil Procedure 12(b)(1) and 12(b)(6). 2 See Exhibit A at 3 (confirming allegation). 2 Case 1:07-cv-21221-CMA Document 202 Entered on FLSD Docket 09/20/2007 Page 3 of 11 CASE NO. 07-21221-CIV-ALTONAGA/TURNOFF a. does not own or operate any grocery stores in Florida; b. is not qualified to do business in Florida; c. does not have a principal place of business in Florida; d. does not have any offices or agents in Florida; e. does not own or lease tangible personal or real property in Florida; f. does not have a telephone listing, bank account or mailing address in Florida; and g. at all times relevant to the allegations in the action, did not engage in any advertisement, marketing or sale of pet food or other products from retail stores located in the State of Florida. (See Exhibit A, affidavit of Robert VerHeulen ("Verheulen Aff.") at 4-7.) 6. "Meijer SuperMarkets, Inc." does not exist as a legal entity. (VerHeulen Aff. at 8.) MEMORANDUM OF LAW Meijer, Inc. adopts and incorporates by reference the Motion to Dismiss filed by the Defendant H.E. Butt Grocery Company ("HEB"), as the analysis in HEB's Motion to Dismiss applies equally here. As shown, Meijer, Inc. has no contacts, and has had no contact, with the State of Florida. It meets none of the requirements of Florida's long-arm statute. Fla. Stat. 48.193. The plaintiffs' operative pleading in this action also fails to satisfy the requirements of the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution. WHEREFORE, Meijer, Inc. respectfully requests that the Court dismiss the plaintiffs' Corrected Amended Class Action Complaint as to Meijer, Inc. for lack of personal jurisdiction. 3 Case 1:07-cv-21221-CMA Document 202 Entered on FLSD Docket 09/20/2007 Page 4 of 11 CASE NO. 07-21221-CIV-ALTONAGA/TURNOFF Dated: September 20, 2007 Respectfully submitted, SQUIRE SANDERS & DEMPSEY, LLP 200 South Biscayne Boulevard Suite 4000 Miami, FL 33131 Phone: 305-577-7000 Facsimile: 305-577-7001 Email: JJoffe@ssd.com By: _/s/ Jason Joffe____________ Jason Joffe Florida Bar No. 0013564 Attorneys for Defendant Meijer, Inc. CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE I hereby certify that on this 20th day of September 2007, I electronically filed the foregoing with the Clerk of Court by using the CM/ECF system which will send a notice of electronic filing to all counsel of record identified on the attached Service List. /s/ Jason Joffe Jason Joffe 4 Case 1:07-cv-21221-CMA Document 202 Entered on FLSD Docket 09/20/2007 Page 5 of 11 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE RENEE BLASZKOWSKI, ETC., ET AL., VS. MARS, INC., et al. Case No. 07-21221-CIV-ALTONAGA/TURNOFF SERVICE LIST Catherine J. MacIvor cmacivor@mflegal.com Jeffrey Eric Foreman jforeman@mflegal.com Jeffrey Bradford Maltzman jmaltzman@mflegal.com Darren W. Friedman dfriedman@mflegal.com MALTZMAN FOREMAN PA 2 S Biscayne Boulevard Suite 2300 One Biscayne Tower Miami, FL 33131-1803 Telephone: 305-358-6555 Facsimile: 305-374-9077 Attorneys for Plaintiffs Robin Lea Hanger rlhanger@ssd.com SQUIRE, SANDERS & DEMPSEY L.L.P. 200 S. Biscayne Boulevard, Suite 4000 Miami, Florida 33131 Telephone: 305-577-7040 Facsimile: 305-577-7001 Attorneys for Defendant PETCO Animal Supplies, Inc. John B.T. Murray, Jr. jbmurray@ssd.com SQUIRE, SANDERS & DEMPSEY L.L.P. 1900 Phillips Point West Palm Beach 777 South Flagler Drive West Palm Beach, Florida 33480 John B.T. Murray, Jr., Esquire Telephone: 561-.650-7200 Facsimile: 561-655-1509 Attorneys for Defendant PETCO Animal Supplies, Inc. and Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. Case 1:07-cv-21221-CMA Document 202 Entered on FLSD Docket 09/20/2007 Page 6 of 11 CASE NO. 07-21221-CIV-ALTONAGA/TURNOFF Gary L. Justice gjustice@gibsondunn.com Charles Abbott cabbott@gibsondunn.com Gail E. Lees glees@gibsondunn.com William Edward Wegner wwegner@gibsondunn.com GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCHER LLP 333 S. Grand Avenue, Suite 4600 Los Angeles, CA 90071 Telephone: 213-229-7000 Facsimile: 213-229-6163 Adriana Riviere-Badell ariviere-badell@hunton.com Marty Steinberg msteinberg@hunton.com HUNTON & WILLIAMS, LLP Mellon Financial Center 1111 Brickell Avenue Suite 2500 Miami, Florida 33131 Telephone: 305-810-2500 Facsimile: 305-810-2460 Attorneys for Nutro Products, Inc. Kathleen S. Phang kphang@sfklaw.com Charles Philip Flick cflick@sfklaw.com SEIPP, FLICK & KISSANE Two Alhambra Plaza, Suite 800 Miami, FL 33134-5241 Telephone: 305-995-5600 Facsimile: 305-995-6100 Attorneys for Target Corp. Hugh J. Turner, Jr. hugh.turner@akerman.com AKERMAN SENTERFITT & EIDSON 350 E Las Olas Boulevard Suite 1600 Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301-0006 Telephone: 954-463-2700 Facsimile: 954-463-2224 Attorneys for Publix Supermarkets, Inc. Alan Graham Greer agreer@richmangreer.com RICHMAN GREER WEIL BRUMBAUGH MIRABITO & CHRISTENSEN Miami Center, Tenth Floor 201 South Biscayne Boulevard Miami, FL 33131 Telephone: 305-373-4010 Facsimile: 305-373-4099 D. Jeffery Ireland djireland@ficlaw.com Laura A. Sanom lsanom@ficlaw.com Brian D. Wright bwright@ficlaw.com FAUKI IRELAND & COX P.L.L. 500 Courthouse Plaza, S.W. 10 North Ludlow Street Dayton, OH 45402 Telephone: 937-227-3710 Facsimile: 937-227-3717 Attorneys for Proctor & Gamble Co. 6 Case 1:07-cv-21221-CMA Document 202 Entered on FLSD Docket 09/20/2007 Page 7 of 11 CASE NO. 07-21221-CIV-ALTONAGA/TURNOFF Omar Ortega oortega@dortaandortega.com DORTA AND ORTEGA P.A. 800 S. Douglas Road, Suite 149 Coral Gables, FL 33134 Telephone: 305-461-5454 Facsimile: 305-461-5226 Philip A. Sechler psechler@wc.com Patrick J. Houlihan phoulihan@wc.com Dane H. Butswinkas dbutswinkas@wc.com Christopher M. DAngelo cdangelo@wc.com Thomas G. Hentoff thentoff@wc.com Dane H. Butsinkas dbutswinkas@wc.com WILLIAMS & CONNOLLY LLP 725 12th Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20005 Telephone: 202-434-5000 Facsimile: 202-434-5029 Attorneys for Mars, Inc. Sherril M. Colombo scolombo@cozen.com COZEN O'CONNOR Wachovia Financial Center 200 South Biscayne Boulevard, Suite 4410 Miami, FL 33131-2303 Telephone: 305-704-5945 Facsimile: 305-704-5955 Richard Fama rfama@cozen.com John J. McDonough jmcdonough@cozen.com COZEN O'CONNOR 16th Floor, 45 Broadway New York, New York 10006 Telephone: 212-509-9400 Facsimile: 212-509-9492 John F. Mullen jmullen@cozen.com 1900 Market Street Philadelphia, PA 19103 Telephone: 215-665-2179 Facsimile: 215-665-2013 Attorneys for Del Monte Foods, Co. 7 Case 1:07-cv-21221-CMA Document 202 Entered on FLSD Docket 09/20/2007 Page 8 of 11 CASE NO. 07-21221-CIV-ALTONAGA/TURNOFF Alexander Shaknes alex.shaknes@dlapiper.com Amy W. Schulman amy.schulman@dlapiper.com DLA PIPER LLP 1251 Avenue of the Americas New York, New York 10020 Telephone: 212-335-4500 Facsimile: 212-335-4501 Lonnie L. Simpson lonnie.simpson@dlapiper.com S. Douglas Knox douglas.knox@dlapiper.com 101 East Kennedy Boulevard, Suite 2000 Tampa, Florida 33602 Telephone: 813-229-2111 Facsimile: 813-229-1447 William C. Martin william.martin@dlapiper.com 203 North LaSalle Street, Suite 1900 Chicago, Illinois 60601 Telephone: 312-368-4000 Facsimile: 312-236-7516 Attorneys for Menu Foods, Inc. and Menu Foods Income Fund Steve Busey busey@smithhulsey.com SMITH HULSEY & BUSEY 225 Water Street, Suite 1800 Jacksonville, FL 32202 Telephone: 904-359-7700 Facsimile: 904-353-9908 Attorneys for Winn Dixie Stores, Inc. 8 Case 1:07-cv-21221-CMA Document 202 Entered on FLSD Docket 09/20/2007 Page 9 of 11 CASE NO. 07-21221-CIV-ALTONAGA/TURNOFF John J. Kuster jkuster@sidley.com James D. Arden jarden@sidley.com Kara L. McCall kmccall@sidley.com SIDLEY AUSTIN LLP 787 Seventh Avenue New York, NY 10019 Telephone: 212-839-5300 Facsimile: 212-839-5599 Benjamine Reid breid@carltonfields.com Olga M. Vieira ovieira@carltonfields.com CARLTON FIELDS, P.A. 100 S.E. Second Street, Suite 4000 Bank of America Tower at International Place Miami, Florida 33131-9101 Telephone: 305-530-0050 Facsimile: 305-530-0055 Attorneys for Colgate-Palmolive Company Carol A. Licko calicko@hhl.com HOGAN & HARTSON LLP Mellon Financial Center 1111 Brickell Avenue, Suite 1900 Miami, FL 33131 Telephone: 305-459-6500 Facsimile: 305-459-6550 Robert Troyer rctroyer@hhlaw.com HOGAN & HARTSON LLP One Tabor Center, Suite 1500 1200 Seventeenth Street Denver, CO 80202 Telephone: 303-899-7300 Facsimile: 303-899-7333 Craig A. Hoover cahoover@hhlaw.com Miranda L. Berge mlberge@hhlaw.com HOGAN & HARTSON LLP 555 Thirteenth Street, NW Washington, D.C. 20004 Telephone: 202-637-5600 Facsimile: 202-637-5910 Attorneys for Nestle U.S.A., Inc. 9 Case 1:07-cv-21221-CMA Document 202 Entered on FLSD Docket 09/20/2007 Page 10 of 11 CASE NO. 07-21221-CIV-ALTONAGA/TURNOFF Rolando Andres Diaz RD@kubickidraper.com Cassidy Yen Dang cyd@kubickidraper.com Maria Kayanan mek@kubickidraper.com KUBICKI DRAPER 25 W. Flagler Street, Penthouse Miami, FL 33130-1712 Telephone: 305-982-6708 Facsimile: 305-374-7846 Attorneys for Pet Supermarket, Inc. James K. Reuss jreuss@lanealton.com LANE ALTON & HORST, LLC Two Miranova Place Suite 500 Columbus, Ohio 43215 Telephone: 614-233-4719 Facsimile: 614-228-0146 C. Richard Fulmer, Jr. FULMER LEROY ALBEE BAUMANN & GLASS, PLC 2866 East Oakland Park Boulevard Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33306 Telephone: 954-707-4430 Facsimile: 954-707-4431 Attorneys for The Kroger Co. Robert Valadez rvaladez@shelton-valadez.com Javier Thomas Duran jduran@shelton-valadez.com SHELTON & VALADEZ, P.C. 600 Navarro, Suite 500 San Antonio, Texas 78205 Telephone: 210-349-0515 Facsimile: 210-349-3666 Ralph G. Patino rpatino@patinolaw.com Dominick V. Tamarazzo dtamarazzo@patinolaw.com Carlos B. Salup csalup@patinolaw.com PATINO & ASSOCIATES, P.A. 225 Alcazar Avenue Coral Gables, Florida 33134 Telephone: 305-443-6163 Facsimile: 305-443-5635 Attorneys for Pet Supplies " Plus " and Pet Attorneys for H.E. Butt Grocery Co. Supplies Plus/USA, Inc. 10 Case 1:07-cv-21221-CMA Document 202 Entered on FLSD Docket 09/20/2007 Page 11 of 11 CASE NO. 07-21221-CIV-ALTONAGA/TURNOFF W. Randolph Teslik rteslik@akingump.com Andrew Dober adober@akingump.com AKIN GUMP STAUSS HAUER & FELD 1333 New Hampshire Avenue, NW Washington, D.C. 20036 Telephone: 202-887-4000 Facsimile: 202-887-4288 Daniel S. Day dan.day@supervalu.com SUPERVALU--LEGAL DEPARTMENT 250 Parkcenter Boulevard Boise, Idaho 83726 Telephone: 208-395-5194 Attorneys for New Albertson's Inc., and Albertson's LLC Marcus D. Jimenez mdj@kennynachwalter.com KENNY NACHWALTER, P.A. 1100 Miami Center 201 South Biscayne Boulevard Miami, Florida 33131 Telephone: 305-373-1000 Facsimile: 305-372-1861 Attorneys for Safeway, Inc. and The Stop & Shop Supermarket Company 11

Disclaimer: Justia Dockets & Filings provides public litigation records from the federal appellate and district courts. These filings and docket sheets should not be considered findings of fact or liability, nor do they necessarily reflect the view of Justia.


Why Is My Information Online?