Vulcan Golf, LLC v. Google Inc. et al

Filing 148

MOTION by Plaintiff Vulcan Golf, LLC for leave to file Second Amended Complaint (Attachments: # 1 Exhibit, # 2 Second Amended Complaint)(Foote, Robert)

Download PDF
Vulcan Golf, LLC v. Google Inc. et al Doc. 148 IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS EASTERN DIVISION VULCAN GOLF, LLC, JOHN B. SANFILIPPO & SONS, INC. BLITZ REALTYGROUP, INC. and VINCENT E."BO" JACSKON Individually and on Behalf of All Others Similarly Situated, Civil Action No. 07 CV 3371 Lead Plaintiffs, Honorable Blanche M. Manning v. GOOGLE INC., OVERSEE.NET, Magistrate Judge Geraldine Soat Brown SEDO LLC, DOTSTER, INC., AKA REVENUEDIRECT.COM INTERNET REIT, INC. d/b/a IREIT, INC.; and JOHN DOES I-X, Defendants. MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE SECOND AMENDED CLASS ACTION COMPLAINT IN LAW AND EQUITY VULCAN GOLF, LLC, JOHN B. SANFILIPPO & SON, INC. ("JBSS"), BLITZ REALTY GROUP ("BLITZ"), and VINCENT E. "BO" JACKSON ("JACKSON"), Lead Plaintiffs, on behalf of themselves and all others similarly situated, pursuant to Rule 23 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, by and through their undersigned Counsel of Record, filed this Motion For Leave to File Second Amended Class Action Complaint In Law And Equity ("SAC"), pursuant to this Court's March 20, 2008 Order and Rule 15 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, and in so doing state as follows: 1. Pursuant to this Court's March 20, 2008 Order, Lead Plaintiffs were given 21 days to replead those claims that were dismissed by said order. Lead Plaintiffs desire to replead most Page 1 of 7 Dockets.Justia.com of the claims previously dismissed and add a claim that was not contained in the First Amended Complaint In Law and Equity ("FAC"). See March 20, 2008 Order, attached hereto as Exhibit "A." 2. In the SAC, the identity of the Parties remain the same as in the FAC. In the SAC, the total number of claims brought by Lead Plaintiffs remains the same as in the FAC (Fourteen (14) Counts). Lead Plaintiffs chose not to re-allege violations of the Illinois Consumer Fraud and Deceptive Business Practices Act, 815 ILCS 505/2 and the Illinois Uniform Deceptive Trade Practices Act, 815 ILCS 510/2 and the similar or identical state statutes of the various states (Count VII of the FAC). Rather, a new Count is added to the SAC, alleging violations of the Racketeering Influenced Corrupt Organizations Act ("RICO") 18 U.S.C. 1962(a). 3. No substantive changes to any claims for violation of the Lanham Act, 15 U.S.C. 1051 et seq.; the Anticybersquatting Consumer Protection Act, 15 U.S.C. 1125(d); trademark infringement under 15 U.S.C. 1114(1); false designation of origin under 15 U.S.C. 1125(a); dilution under 15 U.S.C. 1125(c); Common Law Trademark Violations, Contributory and Vicarious Trademark Claims, and or Declaratory relief (SAC Counts: 4, 5,6,7,8,9,10, and 11), are made in the SAC. 4. Pursuant to Rule 15 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure the Court should freely give leave to amend when justice so requires. Plaintiffs respectfully suggest justice requires allowing the filing of SAC given the nature of this suit, the stage of the proceedings and this Court's March 20, 2008 Order regarding the FAC. 5. To summarize the differences between the FAC and SAC, the following Chart sets forth the relationship between the Counts in the FAC and SAC, as well as the scope of Page 2 of 7 changes (if any) made to particular claims: Violation/Claim Violation of RICO, 18 U.S.C. 1962(c) Violation of RICO, 18 U.S.C. 1962(d) Violation of 15 U.S.C. 1125(d) FAC Count# 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 SAC Count # 2 3 4 5 6 7 N/A Any Changes Substantive Changes Substantive Changes No Changes No Changes No Changes No Changes Withdrawn/not replead by Lead Plaintiffs in SAC Violation of 15 U.S.C. 1114(1) Violation of 15 U.S.C. 1125(a) Violation of 15 U.S.C. 1125(c) Violation of Illinois Consumer Fraud and Deceptive Business Practices Act, 815 ILCS 505/2 and the Illinois Uniform Deceptive Trade Practices Act, 815 ILCS 510/2 and the similar or identical state statutes of the various states For Declaratory Judgment Common Law Trademark Violations Contributory Trademark Infringement Vicarious Trademark Infringement Intentional Interference With Current and Prospective Economic Advantage Unjust Enrichment Civil Conspiracy Violations of RICO, 18 U.S.C. 1962(a) 8 9 10 11 12 8 9 10 11 12 No Changes No Changes No Changes No Changes Substantive Changes 13 14 N/A 13 14 1 Substantive Changes Substantive Changes New Count to SAC Page 3 of 7 XII. PRAYER FOR RELIEF WHEREFORE, Lead Plaintiffs, individually and on behalf of the Class, respectfully request leave to file the attached SAC instanter. Dated: April 9, 2008 ___ FOOTE, MEYERS, MIELKE & FLOWERS, LLC /s/Robert M. Foote Robert Foote, Esq. (#03214325) Stephen W. Fung, Esq. (#06289522) Mark A. Bulgarelli, Esq. (#06284703) Foote, Meyers, Mielke & Flowers, LLC 28 North First St., Suite 2 Geneva, IL 60134 Tel. No.: (630) 232-6333 Kathleen C. Chavez, Esq. (#6255735) Chavez Law Firm, P.C. 28 North First St., Suite 2 Geneva, IL 60134 William J. Harte, Esq. Dana Pesha, Esq. William J. Harte, Ltd. 111 West Washington Street Suite 1100 Chicago, IL 60602 Benjamin G. Edelman, Esq. Law Office of Benjamin Edelman 27a Linnaean Street Cambridge, MA 02138 Tel. No.: (617) 359-3360 Bryan L Clobes, Esq. Cafferty Faucher, LLP 1717 Arch Street Suite 3610 Philadelphia, PA 19103 Page 4 of 7 Nyran Rose Pearson, Esq. Dominic J. Rizzi, Esq. Cafferty Faucher LLP 30 North LaSalle Street Suite 3200 Chicago, IL 60602 ATTORNEYS FOR PLAINTIFFS Page 5 of 7 IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS EASTERN DIVISION VULCAN GOLF, LLC, JOHN B. SANFILIPPO & SONS, INC. BLITZ REALTYGROUP, INC. and VINCENT E."BO" JACSKON Individually and on Behalf of All Others Similarly Situated, Lead Plaintiffs, v. GOOGLE INC., OVERSEE.NET, SEDO LLC, DOTSTER, INC., AKA REVENUEDIRECT.COM INTERNET REIT, INC. d/b/a IREIT, INC.; and JOHN DOES I-X, Defendants. Civil Action No. 07 CV 3371 Honorable Blanche M. Manning Magistrate Judge Geraldine Soat Brown CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE I hereby certify that on April 9, 2008, I electronically filed the foregoing document with the clerk of court for the U. S. District Court, Northern District of Illinois, using the electronic case filing system of the court. The electronic case filing system sent a "Notice of Electronic Filing" to the following attorneys of record who have consented in writing to accept this Notice as service of this document by electronic means: Brett A. August baugust@pattishall.com Michael H. Page mhp@kvn.com Mariah Moran mmoran@stetlerandduffy.com edocket@stetlerandduffy.com Bradley L. Cohn bcohn@pattishall.com Kenneth P. Held kheld@velaw.com Steven Borgman sborgman@velaw.com jwarren@velaw.com steveborgman@gmail.com yshumaker@velaw.com Aaron Daniel Van Oort Avanoort@faegre.com Page 6 of 7 Alison Conlon conlon@wildmanharrold.com ecf-filings@wildmanharrold.com hardt@wildmanharrold.com Joseph Gratz jgratz@kvn.com Alexis Payne aep@pattishall.com Jonathan M. Cyrluk cyrluk@stetlerandduffy.com edocket@stetlerandduffy.com Misty Martin mmartin@smsm.com Ronald Rothstein rrothsstein@winston.com ECF_CH@winston.com mconroy@winston.com Scott R. Wiehle swiehle@velaw.com Joseph Duffy jduffy@stetlerandduffy.com bdorgan@stetlerandduffy.com edocket@stetlerandduffy.com Dana Marie Pesha dpesha@williamharteltd.com mccarey@williamharteltd.com Marlon Emile Lutfiyya mlutfiyya@winston.com Nyran Rose Pearson npearson@faffertyfaucher.com Anastasios T. Foukas Afoukas@smsm.com Jeffrey Singer jsinger@smsm.com Michael R. Dockterman dockterman@wildmanharrold.com ecf-filings@wildmanharrold.com eckertm@wildmanharrold.com William J. Harte wharte@williamharteltd.com mccarey@williamharteltd.com Henry M. Baskerville hbasker@stetlerandduffy.com Dominic J. Rizzi drizzi@caffertyfaucher.com Thomas J. Wiegand twiegand@winston.com I certify that I have served the foregoing document by emailing a copy to the following individuals: Steven Atlee SAtlee@winston.com Joanna J. Cline clinej@pepperlaw.com Vincent V. Carissimi carissimiv@pepperlaw.com Robert J. Hickok hickokr@pepperlaw.com s/Robert M. Foote Page 7 of 7

Disclaimer: Justia Dockets & Filings provides public litigation records from the federal appellate and district courts. These filings and docket sheets should not be considered findings of fact or liability, nor do they necessarily reflect the view of Justia.


Why Is My Information Online?