Beneficial Innovations, Inc. v. Careerbuilder, LLC et al

Filing 141

Joint MOTION for Extension of Time to File /Submit Proposed Discovery Order by Beneficial Innovations, Inc., Comcast Corporation, Disney Online, Google, Inc., IAC Search & Media, Inc., Morris Communications Company, LLC, NBC Universal, Inc., The New York Times Company, YouTube, LLC. (Attachments: # 1 Text of Proposed Order)(Smith, Melissa)

Download PDF
Beneficial Innovations, Inc. v. Careerbuilder, LLC et al Doc. 141 IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS MARSHALL DIVISION BENEFICIAL INNOVATIONS, INC., Plaintiff, v. CAREERBUILDER, LLC, ET AL. Defendants. CASE NO. 2:09-CV-175-TJW Jury Trial Demanded JOINT MOTION FOR FURTHER EXTENSION OF TIME TO SUBMIT PROPOSED DISCOVERY ORDER Plaintiff Beneficial Innovations, Inc. and Defendants Comcast Corporation, Disney Online, Google Inc., IAC Search & Media, Inc., Morris Communications Company, LLC, NBC Universal, Inc., The New York Times Company, and YouTube, LLC hereby file and present this Joint Motion for Further Extension of Time to Submit Proposed Discovery Order. On July 21, 2010, the Court entered an Order [Dkt. No. 123], directing the parties to submit their proposed docket control and discovery orders on September 13, 2010, and setting a status conference on August 30, 2010. At the status conference, the Court set the claim construction hearing for September 27, 2011, and the trial for September 4, 2012. The Court also reaffirmed that the parties should submit their proposed docket control and discovery orders by September 13, 2010. In response to several joint motions seeking extensions of time to submit proposed docket control and discovery orders, on September 15, 2010, the Court entered an order granting an extension of time to submit these orders up to and including September 22, 2010, and on October 13, 2010, the Court entered an order granting an extension of time up to Dockets.Justia.com and including October 15, 2010, and on October 18, 2010, the Court entered an order granting another extension of time up to and including October 22, 2010. The parties have submitted their Docket Control Order. Further, the parties have come to agreement with regard to most issues in their proposed discovery order. However, they respectfully request one more week, up to and including October 29, 2010, to resolve a few outstanding issues with regard to the discovery order and to submit their proposed discovery order. The parties agree that this extension will not affect any other deadlines in the present action. WHEREFORE, the parties respectfully request that the Court grant this Motion. Date: October 22, 2010 Respectfully submitted, /s/ Melissa Richards Smith Melissa Richards Smith Texas State Bar No. 24001351 Gillam & Smith, LLP 303 South Washington Avenue Marshall, TX 75670 Telephone: (903) 934-8450 Facsimile: (903) 934-9257 E-mail: melissa@gillamsmithlaw.com Mark G. Matuschak Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP 60 State Street Boston, MA 02109 Telephone: (617) 526-6000 E-mail: mark.matuschak@wilmerhale.com Kate Hutchins -2- Violetta G. Watson Cosmin Maier Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP 399 Park Avenue New York, NY 10022 Telephone: (212) 230-8800 E-mail: kate.hutchins@wilmerhale.com E-mail: violetta.watson@wilmerhale.com E-mail: cosmin.maier@wilmerhale.com ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANTS GOOGLE INC., NBC UNIVERSAL, INC., AND YOUTUBE, LLC /s/ Michael James Guthrie (with permission) Gregory Loren Maag Conley Rose 600 Travis St Suite 7100 Houston, TX 77002 Telephone: (713) 238-8040 E-mail: gmaag@conleyrose.com Michael James Guthrie Conley Rose 5700 Granite Parkway Suite 330 Plano, TX 75024-6616 Telephone: (713) 238-8000 E-mail: mguthrie@conleyrose.com Michael E. Jones Potter Minton PC 110 N College Suite 500 PO Box 359 Tyler, TX 75710-0359 Telephone: (930) 597-8311 E-mail: mikejones@potterminton.com ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANT MORRIS COMMUNICATIONS COMPANY, LLC /s/ Brian S. Rosenbloom (with permission) -3- Samuel Franklin Baxter McKool Smith P.O. Box O 104 East Houston St., Suite 300 Marshall, TX 75670 Telephone: (903) 923-9000 E-mail: sbaxter@mckoolsmith.com Ada Elene Brown McKool Smith 300 Crescent Court Suite 1500 Dallas, TX 75201 Telephone: (214) 978-4088 E-mail: aebrown@mckoolsmith.com Brian S. Rosenbloom Oliver Edwards Rothwell, Figg, Ernst & Manbeck 1425 K Street, N.W. Suite 800 Washington, DC 20005 Telephone: (202) 783-6040 E-mail: brosenbloom@rfem.com E-mail: oedwards@rfem.com ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANT THE NEW YORK TIMES COMPANY /s/ David J. Silbert (with permission) Daniel K. Nazer David J. Silbert Keker & Van Nest 710 Sansome St. San Francisco, CA 94111 Telephone: (415) 391-5400 E-mail: dnazer@kvn.com E-mail: DSilbert@kvn.com Deron R. Dacus Ramey & Flock 100 East Ferguson Suite 500 Tyler, TX 75702 Telephone: (903) 597-3301 E-mail: ddacus@rameyflock.com -4- ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANT COMCAST CORPORATION /s/ Kevin A. Smith (with permission) Charles K. Verhoeven Howard Y. Chen Jennifer A. Kash Kevin A. Smith Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan LLP 50 California Street 22nd Floor San Francisco, CA 94111 Telephone: (415) 875-6600 E-mail: charlesverhoeven@quinnemanuel.com E-mail: howardchen@quinnemanuel.com E-mail: jenniferkash@quinnemanuel.com E-mail: kevinsmith@quinnemanuel.com J. Thad Heartfield M. Dru Montgomery The Heartfield Law Firm 2195 Dowlen Rd. Beaumont, TX 77706 Telephone: (409) 866-3318 E-mail: thad@jth-law.com E-mail: dru@jth-law.com ATTORNEYS FOR DISNEY ONLINE AND IAC SEARCH & MEDIA, INC. /s/ Julien Adams (with permission) S. Calvin Capshaw State Bar No. 03783900 Elizabeth L. DeRieux State Bar No. 05770585 Brown McCarroll, L.L.P. 1127 Judson Road, Suite 220 Longview, TX 75601 Telephone: (903) 236-9800 Facsimile: (903) 236-8787 E-mail: capshaw@mailbmc.com E-mail: ederieux@mailbmc.com Gregory Scott Dovel -5- CA State Bar No. 135387 Julien Adams CA State Bar No. 156135 Dovel & Luner, LLP 201 Santa Monica Blvd., Suite 600 Santa Monica, CA 90401 Phone: (310) 656-7066 Fax: (310) 656-7069 E-mail: greg@dovellaw.com E-mail: julien@dovellaw.com ATTORNEYS FOR PLAINTIFF BENEFICIAL INNOVATIONS, INC. CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE The undersigned hereby certifies that all counsel of record who are deemed to have consented to electronic service are being served with a copy of this document via the Court's CM/ECF system per Local Rule CV-5(a)(3) on October 22, 2010. /s/ Melissa Richards Smith Melissa Richards Smith -6-

Disclaimer: Justia Dockets & Filings provides public litigation records from the federal appellate and district courts. These filings and docket sheets should not be considered findings of fact or liability, nor do they necessarily reflect the view of Justia.


Why Is My Information Online?