IN RE: GUANTANAMO BAY DETAINEE LITIGATION

Filing 1938

Emergency MOTION for Order administratively enjoining Respondents from attempting to transfer Mr. Belbacha to Algeria before the Court decides his emergency motion of March 7, 2010 on the merits, by AHMED BEN BACHA (Attachments: # 1 Exhibit A - DOJ Media Advisory,, # 2 Exhibit B - Email from Andrew Warden, # 3 Exhibit C - Email from David Remes, # 4 Text of Proposed Order granting emergency motion for administrative stay)(rdj) (Dkt. No. 181 in 05-cv-2349, 1938 in 1:08-mc-00442-TFH)

Download PDF
EXHIBIT A [some reformatting for clarity] [DOJ LOGO OMITTED] FOR PLANNING PURPOSES ONLY FRIDAY, APRIL 2, 2010 WWW.JUSTICE.GOV *******MEDIA ADVISORY******* ATTORNEY GENERAL ERIC HOLDER TO TRAVEL TO ALGIERS AND MADRID FOR MEETINGS WITH FOREIGN COUNTERPARTS WASHINGTON Attorney General Eric Holder will travel to Algiers and Madrid next week to discuss cooperation on combating terrorism and enhancing law enforcement coordination. The Attorney General will meet with the Algerian Minister of Justice to sign a mutual legal assistance treaty and will participate in the biannual European Union Justice and Home Affairs Ministerial Conference in Madrid. Wednesday, April 7, 2010 The Attorney General will meet in Algiers with Algerian Minister of Justice Tayeb Belaiz to sign a mutual legal assistance treaty. Press opportunities are as follows: 2:30 P.M. CET/9:30 A.M. EDT Attorney General Holder and Algerian Minister of Justice Belaiz to sign mutual legal assistance treaty. Algerian Ministry of Justice Algiers OPEN PRESS 3:00 P.M. CET/10:00 A.M. EDT Attorney General Holder and Algerian Minister of Justice Belaiz will hold a press conference following the signing of the treaty. Algerian Ministry of Justice Algiers OPEN PRESS NOTE: Press inquiries regarding logistics should be directed to John S. Brown at the U.S. Embassy at +213 (0) 770 082 029 or BrownJS2@state.gov. Thursday, April 8, 2010 The Attorney General will meet in Madrid with Spanish Prosecutor General Candido CondePAO (202) 514-2007 TDD (202) 514-1888 Pumpido, Spanish Minister of Justice Francisco Caamano and Spanish Minister of Interior Alfredo Perez Rubalcaba to discuss Spanish-American cooperation on terrorism and international organized crime and other matters. Press opportunities are as follows: 3:30 P.M. CEST/9:30 A.M. EDT Attorney General Holder will hold a press conference. U.S. Embassy Calle Serrano 75 Madrid OPEN PRESS NOTE: Press inquiries regarding logistics should be directed to the U.S. Embassy at embusapress@state.gov or 34 91 587 2510. 7:30 P.M. CEST/1:30 P.M. EDT Attorney General Holder will attend a reception at the residence of the U.S. Ambassador to Spain, Alan D. Solomont. Residence of the U.S. Ambassador to Spain Paseo de la Castellana 48 Madrid NOTE: Graphic (photo and video) coverage only. Press inquiries regarding logistics should be directed to the U.S. Embassy at embusapress@state.gov or 34 91 587 2510. Friday, April 9, 2010 Attorney General Holder will attend the European Union Justice and Home Affairs Ministerial Conference, a biannual meeting of Justice and Interior ministers from the United States and the European Union, to discuss mutual assistance on terrorism, cyber crime and human trafficking, among other issues. Press opportunities are as follows: 12:30 P.M. CEST/6:30 A.M. EDT Attorney General Holder will participate in a press conference with other participants at the EU Ministerial Conference. El Pardo Madrid OPEN PRESS NOTE: Press inquiries regarding logistics should be directed to the U.S. Embassy at embusapress@state.gov or 34 91 587 2510. ### 2

Disclaimer: Justia Dockets & Filings provides public litigation records from the federal appellate and district courts. These filings and docket sheets should not be considered findings of fact or liability, nor do they necessarily reflect the view of Justia.


Why Is My Information Online?